Open Educational Resources (OER) Sustainable Learning

MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.

Several open textbooks on topics related to learning the Spanish language.

Project Gutenberg provides a Language Education Bookshelf with a list of free and openly accessible Spanish books.

Online textbook developed by the Spanish In Texas project covering Spanish grammar.

Learn how to ask for directions, shop for clothes, and order food and drinks in the sixth Spanish for Beginners course. Join us on a journey across the Americas and learn the basics of the Spanish language as you discover Latin American culture.

Open Learn provides seven Spanish courses ranging from beginners to advanced Spanish, such as "Beginners’ Spanish: food and drink", "Spanish: Perspectivas porteñas", and "Spanish: espacios públicos."

The course facilitates a close reading of Don Quixote in the artistic and historical context of renaissance and baroque Spain. Students are also expected to read four of Cervantes’ Exemplary Stories, Cervantes’ Don Quixote: A Casebook, and J.H. Elliott’s Imperial Spain.

Spanish language video clips with subtitles for teaching. Part of the Spanish In Texas Corpus project.

Free Spanish podcasts arranged by level of proficiency, with exercises, textbook, personal stats, and other learning resources.

Lessons, phrases, vocabulary, tests, and links to news sources in 40 languages. (Archived)

A collection of target language videos done by international students from the Five Colleges of Massachusetts in their home countries. Includes: Arabic, French, German, Spanish, Japanese, Greek, Italian, and Portuguese.

LibriVox contains recordings of literary classics, autobiographies, plays, and poetry among many other genres all recorded in a variety of languages. English, French, Germain and Italian are just a few of all languages represented on LibriVox.

Uses images and audio to help memorize vocabulary. Interactive site that saves individual progress.

Resources for Spanish, French, and Chinese. Includes: Videos, thematic curriculum units complete lesson plans, student worksheets and resources, downloadable materials collections with activities, manipulatives and mini-posters over 40 virtual illustrated picturebooks organized thematically, as well as a list of vetted links.

Subjunctive exercises with songs.

Has study modules, interactive activities, links to other resources, video with audio.

Hosted by the Wikimedia foundation, Wikibooks is an open content textbook collection spanning a variety of reading levels and disciplines.

List of resources (for mostly French, Spanish and German) compiled as part of a federally funded grant to identify open educational resources for World Language teachers in Maine.

An educational resource for teaching and learning languages. Free materials for for many different languages.