Open Educational Resources (OER) Sustainable Learning

A collection of textbooks on literature, communication, and writing.

Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom.

Lard Bucket provides textbooks such as "An Introduction to British Literature," "English for Business Success," "Successful Writing," and "Writer's Handbook."

Lumen Learning provides an English textbook that covers various chapters on writing from Writing Effective Paragraphs and Overview of English Grammar: Punctuation and Mechanics.

MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.

Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.

Both a collection of open access publications and a publishing platform with a focus on social sciences and humanities.

OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for writing and literature.

The Open Education Anthology of Earlier American Literature.

UK publishing imprint that provides free online access and low cost formatted and print access to titles with a special emphasis on humanities, digital humanities, and social sciences.

The Open Textbook Library provides books on Literature, Rhetoric, and Writing.

The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Guide lists a wide range of open educational resources, including textbooks and courses, organized by discipline.

OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for writing and literature.

The Online Writing Lab at Purdue University maintains a general purpose writing guide. Here you can find grammar guidance, research and citation references, and topic-specific writing examples.

A free, comprehensive, peer-reviewed, award-winning Open Text for students and faculty in college-level courses that require writing and research.

The most popular Open English textbook from the Saylor Foundation.

Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing is a book series containing peer-reviewed collections of essays--all composed by teachers for students.

This course will be beneficial if you wish to learn how to communicate with the sounds and music of American English. The purpose is not to increase your vocabulary, nor to improve your grammar, but to deal with the sounds of the words that you speak. Your message is of primary importance, but it may not be understood if your pronunciation is imprecise, inconsistent, or regional. This course is particularly useful for actors or for others who need to speak to diverse audiences, such as when giving a business presentation.

Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums.

Improve your writing skills and learn more about literary greats with our online literature and writing courses. Explore Austen, Shakespeare, Burns, Wordsworth, Wilde and more.

MIT Open Courseware offers an extensive series of online courses in literature and writing. Courses generally include lecture videos, assignments, exams, and more.

Open Learn provides various courses on creative writing and the English language.

Collection of PDF versions of textbooks on various topics. HTML versions are also available.

Create and share lessons around any TED-Ed original, TED Talk or YouTube Video.

DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions.

ELC teachers create the English language lessons and practice exercises. The site is designed for our adult English language learners.

The Excelsior OWL is unique in its multimedia support for writers. It offers a wide variety of interactive multimedia activities, quizzes, videos, interactive PDFs, and games – all designed to help writers understand important concepts about writing.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Free public domain audiobooks.

Uses images and audio to help memorize vocabulary. Interactive site that saves individual progress.

The Open Library of Humanities journal publishes internationally-leading, rigorous and peer-reviewed scholarship across the humanities disciplines: from classics, theology and philosophy, to modern languages and literatures, film and media studies, anthropology, political theory and sociology.

Project Gutenberg offers over 56,000 books in the public domain, available online.

Founded in 2011, The Public Domain Review is an online journal and not-for-profit project dedicated to the exploration of curious and compelling works from the history of art, literature, and ideas.

Open access publisher of peer-reviewed academic journals, books and data.

Hosted by the Wikimedia foundation, Wikibooks is an open content textbook collection spanning a variety of reading levels and disciplines.