Open Educational Resources (OER) Sustainable Learning

Independence Hall Association provides a comprehensive textbook with sections that cover Archaeologists and Their Artifacts, Anthropologists and Their People, Prehistoric Time, and in-depth chapters regarding Ancient Civilizations. This resource is great for teachers and student to find historical documents and study people and places.

The B.C. Open Textbook Project provides textbooks including The History of Our Tribe: Hominini, Perspectives: An Open Invitation to Cultural Anthropology, and Native Peoples of North America.

Explore books on cultural anthropology, physical anthropology and linguistics.

MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.

Both a collection of open access publications and a publishing platform with a focus on social sciences and humanities.

OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for Anthropology, Archaeology, Ethnic Studies, and Linguistics.

UK publishing imprint that provides free online access and low cost formatted and print access to titles with a special emphasis on humanities, digital humanities, and social sciences.

Browse a wide selection of textbooks on linguistic topics.

Find free online courses in poetry, art history, world cultures, classical art, modern art and European painting from top universities worldwide. Learn the Cultural Geography of the World from Peking University or immerse yourself in Harvard University’s popular Poetry in America series.

Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums.

A collection of educational videos posted on YouTube.

Get an introduction to studying archaeology, exploring exciting discoveries in the Vale of Pewsey, near to Stonehenge and Avebury or Learn how ancient artifacts, written evidence, excavation and digital technologies are transforming understanding of this harbor.

Discover the study of languages - learn how language is formed and used with these online linguistics courses on FutureLearn.

MIT Anthropology students learn about the concept of culture, the nature of anthropological fieldwork, and the connections between anthropology and the other social sciences.

The research conducted by the MIT Linguistics Program strives to develop a general theory that reveals the rules and laws that govern the structure of particular languages, and the general laws and principles governing all natural languages. Find courses on phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, and psycholinguistics.

In this free course, Evolution through natural selection, we describe the theory of evolution by natural selection as proposed by Charles Darwin in his book, first published in 1859, On the Origin of Species by Means of Natural Selection, or The Preservation of Favoured Races in the Struggle for Life.

The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Guide lists a wide range of open educational resources, including textbooks and courses, organized by discipline.

Create and share lessons around any TED-Ed Original, TED Talk or YouTube Video.

The Association is proud to belong to a number of inter-organizational collaborations, including the World Council of Anthropological Associations, the International Union of Anthropological and Ethnological Sciences, the Consortium of Social Science Associations, the National Humanities Alliance, and the American Council of Learned Societies.

The Center for Applied Linguistics Collection contains 118 hours of recordings documenting North American English dialects. The recordings include speech samples, linguistic interviews, oral histories, conversations, and excerpts from public speeches.

For several years the American Folklife Center (AFC) has provided training in documentation methods and ethnographic field research principles through field schools that may last up to three weeks in length and also through workshops of shorter duration.

Full text journals and monographs produced by the Department of Anthropology at UC Berkeley together with searchable citations and links to anthropological works in all formats created by and about UC Berkeley anthropologists. Included are books, journal articles, book chapters, reference entries, book reviews, oral histories, obituaries and some gray literature, as well as images, sound recordings and audio-visual materials.

The Archaeology Channel (TAC) is a streaming media website brought to you by Archaeological Legacy Institute (ALI). ALI is a nonprofit organization devoted to nurturing and bringing attention to the human cultural heritage, by using media in the most efficient and effective ways possible.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Exhibitions are designed to tell stories of national significance using source materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, including letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more.

Explore collections from around the world with Google Arts & Culture, created by Google Cultural Institute.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.

Uses images and audio to help memorize vocabulary. An interactive site that saves individual progress.

The National Geographic online website and resource.

Browse topics such as, Applied Linguistics, Biology of Language, Cognitive Science
Computational Linguistics, and Historical Linguistics.

Browse and search artifacts by types such as building, coin, gem, sculpture, site, and vase.

This list contains but a small sampling of the nineteenth and early twentieth-century anthropological writings by ethnologists and other scholars.

Project Gutenberg's list of Archaeology books in the public domain, available freely online.

Links to collections and archives, online databases, online exhibits, and more from the Smithsonian Institution.

The Society for Applied Anthropology (SfAA) was founded in 1941 to promote the investigation of the principles of human behavior and the application of these principles to contemporary issues and problems.

The Society of Linguistic Anthropology is devoted to exploring and understanding the ways in which language shapes, and is shaped by, social life, from face-to-face interaction to global-level phenomena.

The Society for Visual Anthropology promotes the use of images for the description, analysis, communication and interpretation of human [and sometimes nonhuman) behavior. Members have interests in all visual aspects of culture, including art, architecture and material artifacts, as well as kinesics, proxemics and related forms of body motion communication.

A college-level textbook covering data basics, probability (optional), distributions, inference for means and proportions, and regression, including multiple and the basics of logistic regression.

These case studies can be relevant to the Anthropology field and include titles such as, Ethnobotany and Indigenous Food Sovereignty. The Centre for Sustainable Food Systems Teaching & learning team works in collaboration with instructors and students throughout UBC to develop open educational resources, including “case studies” that can be adapted to any discipline, by anyone at UBC or elsewhere.

Open access publisher of peer-reviewed academic journals, books and data.

Hosted by the Wikimedia foundation, Wikibooks is an open content textbook collection spanning a variety of reading levels and disciplines.