Open Educational Resources (OER) Sustainable Learning

The B.C. Open Textbook Project is funded by the BC Ministry of Advanced Education, and BCcampus is tasked with managing it.

Introduction to Sociology, and Sociology of the Family textbooks.

Boundless provides one textbook that covers a variety of interrelated sociological topics including, Stratification, Inequality, and Social Class in the U.S., Deviance, Social Control, and Crime, Family, Aging, and Sexuality.

MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.

This resource provides textbooks on various behavioral and social science topics.All of the books on the National Academies Press site are available as freely downloadable PDFs.

Both a collection of open access publications and a publishing platform with a focus on social sciences and humanities.

OER Commons provides a curated collection of Sociology textbooks and resources.

UK publishing imprint that provides free online access and low cost formatted and print access to titles with a special emphasis on humanities, digital humanities, and social sciences.

Introduction to Sociology 2e adheres to the scope and sequence of a typical, one-semester introductory sociology course.

This collection offers a variety of various Sociological texts including, 'Understanding an Changing the Social World', and 'Social Problems: Continuity and Change'.

The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Guide lists a wide range of open educational resources, including textbooks and courses, organized by discipline.

This academic textbook presents sociology as terrain that one can virtually traverse and experience.

Academic Earth provides resources to open courses, journals/trade magazines, grants and scholarships, internships, and student and professional memberships.

Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums.

In this YouTube series Nicole Sweeney will walk you through questions big and small about how we both shape societies and are shaped by them.

A collection of educational videos posted on YouTube.

Examine perspectives on society, and the cultural issues facing society. Apply sociological theory to researching social groups.

Search for free sociology courses, inter-actives, videos and more. Free courses include "Does prison work?", "Social problems: Who makes them?', "The role of diagnosis in counselling and psychotherapy", and "The social in social science."

The Department of Sociology at Yale University provides concentrations in the fields of Comparative and Historical Sociology, Cultural Sociology and Social Theory, and Social Stratification and Life Course Research. In addition, faculty publish and teach in the areas of Gender and Sexuality, Political Sociology, Sociology of Religion, Economic Sociology, Urban Sociology and Ethnography, and Chinese Society.

Collection of PDF versions of textbooks on various topics. HTML versions are also available.

Create and share lessons around any TED-Ed original, TED Talk or YouTube Video.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Project Gutenberg's list of Sociology books in the public domain that are available freely online.

The Sociological Cinema is an online resource to help sociology instructors incorporate videos into their classes.

Resources and Ideas for Teaching Sociology from Nathan Palmer.

This web site includes comprehensive documents on hate crimes across the USA. The Southern Poverty Law Center reports hundreds of active hate groups in the United States. This is something everyone needs to be aware of. Do you know what is in your backyard? Check it out. This is an excellent site for course assignments and or discussion in all fields of study.

A college-level textbook covering data basics, probability (optional), distributions, inference for means and proportions, and regression, including multiple and the basics of logistic regression.

Open access publisher of peer-reviewed academic journals, books and data.

Hosted by the Wikimedia foundation, Wikibooks is an open content textbook collection spanning a variety of reading levels and disciplines.