Open Educational Resources (OER) Sustainable Learning

Appropedia is the site for collaborative solutions in sustainability, poverty reduction and international development through the use of sound principles and appropriate technology and the sharing of wisdom and project information. It is a wiki, a type of website which allows anyone to add, remove, or edit content. Registration is encouraged but not required for contributors.

MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.

This resource provides textbooks on various environmental studies topics. All of the books on the National Academies Press site are available as freely downloadable PDFs.

Many free read-online or free PDF download options.

Both a collection of open access publications and a publishing platform with a focus on social sciences and humanities.

UK publishing imprint that provides free online access and low cost formatted and print access to titles with a special emphasis on humanities, digital humanities, and social sciences.

The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Guide lists a wide range of open educational resources, including textbooks and courses, organized by discipline.

Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums.

In 12 episodes, Hank Green teaches you ecology! This course is based on a college level introductory curriculum with the 9th edition of Campbell Biology by Reece, et al. as its base text.

Take online courses in environmental science, natural resource management, environmental policy and civic ecology. Learn how to solve complex problems related to pollution control, water treatment and ecological sustainability with free online courses from leading universities worldwide.

How is our need for energy and resources shaping the environmental challenges for tomorrow? Explore the natural world, and understand the causes and impact of climate change, with our online environment and biology courses.

Understand the problems cities face and learn how they can be resolved with ethical solutions.

The MIT department of Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences explores the the solid earth, fluid earth, the biosphere, and their interactions, as well as planetary science, solar system dynamics, and observational astronomy. Lectures, quizzes, exams, problem sets and in some cases entire textbooks are available for use in the classroom or as supporting materials.

MIT's extensive list of open Urban Studies courses includes Environmental Justice, Policy and Planning materials. Lectures, quizzes, exams, problem sets and in some cases entire textbooks are available for use in the classroom or as supporting materials.

Open Learn provides 52 free online courses such as "Understanding the environment: Learning and communication," "Environmental management and organizations," "Environment: Treading lightly on the Earth," "Energy resources: Solar energy," and "Effects of pollutants on the aquatic environment."

The Environmental Studies Program in Yale College provides an interdisciplinary approach to understanding and responding to environmental problems. From the natural sciences, students learn experimental techniques and methods of analysis needed to make accurate observations, to document change, to distinguish those changes resulting from human activity, and to understand what comprises healthy landscapes and functioning ecosystems.

The Story of Stuff is an illustrated lecture by author and environmental activist Annie Leonard that examines the environmental and social repercussions of the U.S.s consumer culture. The Story of Stuff Prject has expanded with videos addressing environmental studies topics and solutions.

Collection of online resources for Environmental Studies.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Memrise uses images and audio to help memorize vocabulary. The interactive site saves individual progress.

The National Geographic online website and resource. Click the environment tab to find topics on climate change, oceans, parks, food, and urban expeditions.

(NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense.

Browse subjects such as Environmental Biology, Environmental Economics, Environmental Engineering, Environmental Ethics and Philosophy, and Environmental History.

Project Gutenberg's list of Ecology books in the public domain that are available freely online.

Case studies on: Urban Agriculture, Ethnobotany, UBC Farm Through a sustainable Lens, Dining Environments, and Indigenous Food Sovereignty.

When Congress writes an environmental law, we implement it by writing regulations. Often, we set national standards that states and tribes enforce through their own regulations. If they fail to meet the national standards, we can help them. We also enforce our regulations, and help companies understand the requirements.

Hosted by the Wikimedia foundation, Wikibooks is an open content textbook collection spanning a variety of reading levels and disciplines.