Open Educational Resources (OER) Sustainable Learning

MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community

This resource provides textbooks on geography that are available as freely downloadable PDFs.

Many free read-online or free PDF download options.

Both a collection of open access publications and a publishing platform with a focus on social sciences and humanities.

OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for geography.

This website is dedicated to providing free or open curriculum and resources to anybody who is interested in our geographic world. Includes many textbooks on geography and geospatial technology.

The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Guide lists a wide range of open educational resources, including textbooks and courses, organized by discipline.

Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums.

The Crash Course team has produced more than 32 courses on a wide variety of subjects, including organic chemistry, literature, world history, biology, philosophy, theater, ecology, and many more!

Explore the fascinating history and culture of the American South from colonial times to the 21st century or Learn the international politics of Asia-Pacific with a focus on the United States, China, Japan, North Korea, and South Korea.

Select the Geography topic under the Society, Politics & Law subject to retrieve seven courses including "Why maps are made," "Who are Europeans?", and Who counts as a refugee?"

The Department of Geography at Penn State offers a variety of course material online in several subject areas.

This is a freshman level college course in world geography and includes assignments, quizzes, videos, and exams.

The AAG promotes discussion among its members and with scholars in related fields, in part through the activities of its affinity groups and more than 60 specialty groups. The meetings and activities of our regional divisions provide the opportunity to network with colleagues near you.

DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.

This exhibit explores the cultural and historic impact of mapping through four specific moments in American history that demonstrate the influence maps have had over how Americans imagine, exploit, and interact with national geographies and local places.

Focus on Geography is a publication of the American Geographical Society. This is a great interactive resource with quizzes, photo essays, and articles.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

The National Geographic online website and resource.

Project Gutenberg's list of Geography books in the public domain, available freely online.

We provide science about the natural hazards that threaten lives and livelihoods; the water, energy, minerals, and other natural resources we rely on; the health of our ecosystems and environment; and the impacts of climate and land-use change.

Open access publisher of peer-reviewed academic journals, books and data.

Hosted by the Wikimedia foundation, Wikibooks is an open content textbook collection spanning a variety of reading levels and disciplines.