Open Educational Resources (OER) Sustainable Learning

Explore film, music, journalism, photography or theatre. Join online arts courses from renowned film schools, universities, cultural institutions. Learn from the experts in creative arts and media.

Find specific courses on screenwriting, theater performance and film studies.

Explore collections from around the world with Google Arts & Culture, created by Google Cultural Institute.

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more

MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.

MIT Open Courseware offers an extensive series of online courses, such as playwriting and philosophy in film. Course format generally includes lecture videos, interactive concept quizzes (solution key), problem sets, terms and definitions, suggested topics and links, and exams (with solution key).

OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for the performing arts.

Browse a selection of textbooks on theater and film studies.

Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia.

Open access publisher of peer-reviewed academic journals, books and data.

Hosted by the Wikimedia foundation, Wikibooks is an open content textbook collection spanning a variety of reading levels and disciplines.

This site offers collections of videos on Working in the Theatre and Career Guides.

The American Variety Stage is a multimedia anthology selected from various Library of Congress holdings. Included are English and Yiddish playscripts.

Step-by-step instructions for teaching basic theater game techniques.

This course is based on an introductory college level course in Theater and explores the history, theory, and technology that contributes to the art form most like life.

The Great Depression had an enormous impact on theatre across the United States.

This study of the production of articulate sound can be thought of as a journey through a series of processes.

Uses images and audio to help memorize vocabulary. Interactive site that saves individual progress.

Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.

Both a collection of open access publications and a publishing platform with a focus on social sciences and humanities.

UK publishing imprint that provides free online access and low cost formatted and print access to titles with a special emphasis on humanities, digital humanities, and social sciences.

The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Guide lists a wide range of open educational resources, including textbooks and courses, organized by discipline.

Project Gutenberg's book list of One Act Plays.

Learn about Shakespeare in print and performance around the world, from early modern times to today.

Hosted by the Wikimedia foundation, Wikibooks is an open content textbook collection spanning a variety of reading levels and disciplines.

The AFI Catalog of Feature Films, the most authoritative filmographic database on the web, includes entries on nearly 60,000 American feature-length films and 17,000 short films produced from 1893-2011.

The BFI was founded in 1933. We are a charity governed by a Royal Charter. We combine cultural, creative and industrial roles, bringing together the BFI National Archive and BFI Reuben Library, film distribution, exhibition and education at BFI Southbank and BFI IMAX, publishing and festivals.

Join Craig Benzine for 16 weeks of Film History right here on Crash Course. He'll look at the history of one of our most powerful mediums. Film has the ability to communicate with images, entertain, move us, frighten us, and so much more. From A Trip to the Moon to Captain America: Civil War, the history of film is really a history of humanity and Craig will do his best to lead us all through it.

Fully Open Access! Film-Philosophy is dedicated to the engagement between film studies and philosophy, exploring the ways in which films develop and contribute to philosophical discussion. The journal also provides a forum for the thoughtful re-evaluation of key aspects of both film studies and philosophy as academic disciplines.

Future Learn provides courses such as "Teaching Literacy Through Film", "Hispanic Film and Culture", "Filmmaking and Animation in the Classroom", "Explore Filmmaking: from Script to Screen", and "An Introduction to Screenwriting."

Uses images and audio to help memorize vocabulary. Interactive site that saves individual progress.

Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.

Both a collection of open access publications and a publishing platform with a focus on social sciences and humanities.

UK publishing imprint that provides free online access and low cost formatted and print access to titles with a special emphasis on humanities, digital humanities, and social sciences.

The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Guide lists a wide range of open educational resources, including textbooks and courses, organized by discipline.

Project Gutenberg's list of Movie Books.

A collection of free sound effects for download.

This series of podcasts from iTunes surveys the development of the Western film genre and sets it in historical and cultural context.

Hosted by the Wikimedia foundation, Wikibooks is an open content textbook collection spanning a variety of reading levels and disciplines.

The American Ballet Theatre's Online Ballet Dictionary is a unique interactive resource designed to bring dance to the Web and make it accessible to everyone. Dover Publications has graciously allowed the use of 170 terms from the Technical Manual and Dictionary of Classical Ballet, which are then demonstrated by ABT Company dancers.

This resource provides tools, information and experience about the subject of Contemporary dance.

America's Irreplaceable Dance Treasures: provides information on the full range of American dance artistry, forms, and traditions. Includes some videos.

Contains links to everything to do with dance notation.

Both a collection of open access publications and a publishing platform with a focus on social sciences and humanities.

PBS and our member stations are America’s largest classroom, the nation’s largest stage for the arts and a trusted window to the world.

Hosted by the Wikimedia foundation, Wikibooks is an open content textbook collection spanning a variety of reading levels and disciplines.