MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.
UK publishing imprint that provides free online access and low cost formatted and print access to titles with a special emphasis on humanities, digital humanities, and social sciences.
The main purpose of this book is to explain certain physical considerations useful not only to a beginner learning how to play a musical instrument, but also to an accomplished musician trying to gain full technical mastery of an instrument.
The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Guide lists a wide range of open educational resources, including textbooks and courses, organized by discipline.
Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums.
Interactive Music by drums: African Music - Traditional West African Drumming - Percussion Lessons - Instructional Movies, Texts, and Manuscripts - Drum Set Orchestrations - Interactive African Instrument Museum - Online Music Education - Anlo-Ewe History, Ethnology, Ethnomusicology.
Travel through the history of musical notation and learn how to decode medieval music manuscripts or learn about the psychology of music and movement, and how researchers study music-related movements, with this free online course.
MIT Open Courseware offers an extensive series of online courses. Course format generally includes lecture videos, interactive concept quizzes (solution key), problem sets, terms and definitions, suggested topics and links, and exams (with solution key).
Find online courses in jazz appreciation and hip hop culture from the University of Austin and Rice University or get an introduction to the music business from the Berklee College of Music.
Open Learn provides eight courses such as "An introduction to music research", "Reception of music in cross-cultural perspective", and "Voice-leading analysis of music 1-3."
Free Sheet Music for Everyone. 2,097 pieces of music – free to download, modify, print, copy, distribute, perform, and record – all in the Public Domain or under Creative Commons licenses, in PDF, MIDI, and editable LilyPond file formats.
These primary sources are manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti. They are housed in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections.
The Sheet Music Consortium provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Seach for composers or musical scores. Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
This searchable database provides bibliographic information on approximately 34,000 ethnographic sound recordings. Most were recorded between 1933 and 1950.
