Learn more about how the Cal Poly Humboldt Library can help
support your research and learning needs.

Stay updated at Campus Ready.

Skip to Main Content

Creating Video Projects

Shooting and editing video and borrowing cameras and other gear.

Borrow Cameras, Mics & More!

Library Makerspace Take & Make

The Cal Poly Humboldt Library has equipment for you to check out, free of charge. You can borrow anything for three days and can grab multiple items, including DSLR cameras, camcorders, GoPro cameras, tripods, digital audio recorders, microphones and more. You can ask for any of these items at the Checkout desk on the first floor.

If you have any questions about equipment, or other aspects of a digital project, we'd are happy to help! Contact us (the Makerspace) at makerspace@humboldt.edu.

Other Campus Resources

Off-Campus Resources

Audio Equipment

Audio equipment is listed on our Creating Audio page. Don't forget that the audio in your video project is as important as the video itself. Depending on your project, you may want to capture your audio to a separate device in order to get the best quality. Many of the cameras have built-in mics that are fine, but some are lacking.

Canon Vixia Camcorders

Line drawing of vixia camcorder with flip out display screen.

The Canon Vixia HF R300, R700 and R800 cameras are great for capturing high-quality footage for your video project, including interviews, presentations, events and more. The cameras include all you need to record basic video (includes built-in mic) but you may want to also borrow a tripod, lavalier mic or other accessories.

Can I check one out now?

What you need to get started

  • You may also want a tripod- attaches to a standard tripod mount.
  • Charge the camera using the included power adapter.
  • Connect an external microphone for better sound- the AT875R Shotgun Mic is a good choice (requires the included iRig interface to convert the analog mic to digital via the 3.5 mm jack).

Compatible Microphones

  • The AudioTechnica ATR3350 Lavalier Mic works great with this camera.

Nikon D5600

Line drawing of D5600 with wide range lens, flash and shoulder strap.

The Nikon D5600 is an updated version of our great D3200 DSLR camera. The D5600 is bit better suited to shooting video, with a flip-out display. This DSLR provides plenty of automatic point-and-shoot functions but also allows you to control things like ISO, focus, shutter speed, and more to take those technical shots. The D5600 also has some built-in special effects, including selective color and fisheye.

Can I check one out now?

Why you might want to borrow the D5600

This DSLR camera is great for photos and video.

  • The 18-140 mm lens has a wider range than our D3200 and T6i cameras. It also provides quality zoom (compared to cameras with digital zoom).
  • With the manual controls you can control most aspects of your shot, including depth of field which allows you to get portraits and talking head shots with blurred backgrounds.
  • This camera, along with the other DSLRs in our collection and the GoPro Hero6, will produce the highest resolution images we have available- up to 1920 x 1080 (Full HD). The D5600 also shoots up to 60 frames per second at 1920 x 1080, but this will reach the file size limit within 10 minutes.
  • The Rode VideoMic external mic will work wonderfully with our DSLRs to give you enhanced audio (available for checkout separately).
  • Special effects! The D5600 has several built-in special effects, including night vision, fisheye, color sketch, miniature effect, selective color (creates black and white image with only one color highlighted), and more.

Why you might want to borrow a different camera

  • If you are shooting a continuous video over 30 minutes (no stopping) -- this camera will automatically stop recording at 29:59. Depending on the video settings, this may be a shorter time: there is a maximum file size of 4GB, which may only be 10 minutes at max settings. If the camera temperature gets too high (>73.5F), it will also automatically shut down.
  • If you want to shoot slow motion shots -- while it will shoot up to 60 fps at standard HD, the GoPro Hero6 will shoot up to 240 fps.
  • If you are shooting in the rain -- this camera is in no way waterproof and must be kept dry at all times.

What you need to get started

The camera is ready for point and shoot, but remember to:

  • You may also want a tripod- attaches to a standard tripod mount.
  • Charge the camera battery with the included wall charger.
    • Battery life estimates: 970 photos or 70 minutes of video at 1080/60p.
  • This camera's wide range lens is all you need for those far away shots.

How do I use this thing?!

User manuals & guides

Videos & Webpages

The basics:

More advanced features:

Canon T6i

Line drawing of T6i DSLR camera with 18-55mm lens, flash, and shoulder strap.

The Canon T6i is a great camera that provides plenty of automatic point-and-shoot functions but also allows you to control things like ISO, focus, shutter speed, and more to take those technical shots.

The T6i is also WiFi enabled to allow you to transfer photos and video to mobile devices and social media. This DSLR is also optimized to shoot full HD (1080p) video. The adjustable vari-angle touchscreen makes taking shots at awkward angles a snap.

Can I check one out now?

Why you might want to borrow the T6i

This DSLR camera is great for photos and video.

  • The 18-55 mm lens provides quality zoom (compared to cameras with digital zoom).
  • With the manual controls you can control most aspects of your shot, including depth of field which allows you to get portraits and talking head shots with blurred backgrounds.
  • This camera, along with the Nikon D3200 and the GoPro Hero6, will produce the highest resolution images we have available- up to 1920 x 1080 (Full HD).
  • The Rode VideoMic external mic will work wonderfully with the T6i and Nikon D3200 to give you enhanced audio (available separately).

Why you might want to borrow a different camera

  • If you are shooting a continuous video over 30 minutes -- this camera will automatically stop recording at 29:59.
  • If you want to shoot slow motion shots -- while it will shoot up to 60 fps at standard HD, the GoPro Hero6 will shoot up to 240 fps.
  • If you are shooting in the rain -- this camera is in no way waterproof and must be kept dry.

What you need to get started

The camera is ready for point and shoot, but remember to:

  • You may also want a tripod- attaches to a standard tripod mount.
  • Charge the battery with the included wall charger.
  • Use the included USB cable to transfer photos to your computer. 
    • Be sure to disable the Wi-Fi/NFC function in settings (Menu -> first wrench icon -> Wi-Fi/NFC -> disable). 
    • If you are having issues with the USB transfer not working, you can also checkout a USB SD Card reader at the checkout desk. 

How do I use this thing?!

User manuals & guides

Videos

 

Nikon D3200

Line drawing of D3200 DSLR camera with flash and 18-55mm lens.

The Nikon D3200 is a great camera that provides plenty of automatic point-and-shoot functions but also allows you to control things like ISO, focus, shutter speed, and more to take those technical shots.

Can I check one out now?

Why you might want to borrow the D3200

This DSLR camera is great for photos and video.

  • The 18-55 mm lens provides quality zoom (compared to cameras with digital zoom).
  • With the manual controls you can control most aspects of your shot, including depth of field which allows you to get portraits and talking head shots with blurred backgrounds.
  • This camera, along with the Canon T6i and the GoPro Hero6, will produce the highest resolution images we have available- up to 1920 x 1080 (Full HD).
  • The Rode VideoMic external mic will work wonderfully with the D3200 and Canon T6i to give you enhanced audio (available separately).

Why you might want to borrow a different camera

  • If you are shooting a continuous video over 30 minutes -- this camera will automatically stop recording at 29:59.
  • If you want to shoot slow motion shots -- while it will shoot up to 60 fps at standard HD, the GoPro Hero6 will shoot up to 240 fps.
  • If you are shooting in the rain -- this camera is in no way waterproof and must be kept dry.

What you need to get started

The camera is ready for point and shoot, but remember to:

  • You may also want a tripod- attaches to a standard tripod mount.
  • Charge the camera with the included wall charger.
  • Use the telephoto lens for those far away shots.

How do I use this thing?!

User manuals & guides

Videos & Webpages

GoPro Hero 9 Black

Line drawing of GoPro Hero 9 Black with front facing display.

The Library has two (2) GoPro Hero 9 Black cameras available to check out for your next video project. These tiny cameras are great for almost any video or photo project. They are waterproof (to 33ft with the door latched), have built in mics, and can be controlled via the free Android and iOS apps. You can also control the camera using the LCD touch screen. The front-facing screen also allows you to monitor what is being captured if you are recording yourself.

Try out the Quik App to make edits, add transitions, music and more — all from your phone or tablet. Stream live directly from the camera using it as a webcam to use with Zoom and other desktop applications or directly live stream to Facebook, YouTube, and more (see details and instructions below).

You can also edit your videos with a variety of other applications free to you as a member of Cal Poly Humboldt. Visit our Creating Video Software guide for recommendations and details.

Can I check one out now?

What you need to get started

The camera is simple but still requires a few important considerations:

How do I use this thing?!

User Manuals

Videos

GoPro Hero 6 Black

Line drawing of GoPro Hero 6 Black with front-facing LCD display.

The Library has four (4) GoPro Hero 6 Black cameras available to check out for your next video project. These tiny cameras are great for almost any video or photo project. They are waterproof (to 33 ft with the door closed), have built in mics, and can be controlled via the free mobile GoPro app (via Bluetooth and Wireless connections- instructions). You can also control the camera using the LCD touch screen. 

Try out the Quik App to make edits, add transitions, music and more — all from your phone or tablet. Stream live directly from the camera using it as a webcam to use with Zoom and other desktop applications or directly live stream to Facebook, YouTube, and more (see details and instructions below).

You can also edit your videos with a variety of other applications free to you as a member of Cal Poly Humboldt. Visit our Creating Video Software guide for recommendations and details.

Can I check one out now?

What you need to get started

The camera is simple but still requires a few important considerations:

How do I use this thing?!

User Manuals

Videos

GoPro Max 360-degree Camera

Line drawing of GoPro Max with dual-facing cameras, digital display, and standard GoPro mount.

The GoPro Max 360 is a dual lens 360-degree camera that captures 5.6k resolution video and photos. With the GoPro Max, you can also switch between the front and back lenses when filming or shooting for unique perspectives. The camera also has built-in stabilization and stitching to make 360-degree projects simple. The audio quality of the GoPro Max is fantastic, with six microphones embedded within the camera.

Can I check one out now?

What you need to get started

The GoPro Max is water proof and dust proof just like other GoPro cameras (as long as all of the doors are closed). However, you will want to keep the lens protectors over the lenses whenever using the camera in other than pristine conditions to avoid damaging them. The included tripod/selfie stick will not appear on the video and can be mounted to a backpack to give the appearance of a drone flying above you.

The camera is relatively straightforward and can be used by itself, but it is recommended to download the mobile Quik App available for iOS and Androids. The software interface is intuitive.

  • You may want to borrow extra GoPro accessories, depending on your project.
  • Download the Quik app for Android/ iOS devices to control the camera and to view, edit, save, and export footage.
  • Be sure to charge both batteries. Battery life lasts about 85 minutes of 360-mode recording and about 105 minutes on HERO mode video.

Why you might want to give this camera a try

  • Offers the potential for long duration recording
  • Unique videos and photos in 360 mode
  • Excellent sound quality with six microphones embedded in the camera. On the other hand, the GoPro Hero 9 with only three microphones

How do I use this thing?!

User Manuals

Download Suggestions for Spectacular Results:

GoPro Player - software for editing & importing your footage. Editing 360-degree videos can be difficult with traditional video editors, so 360-specific editors can make this process quite a bit easier.

Adobe Premiere Rush - use your phone or tablet to edit, add music and sound effects, titles, adjust colors, and more! Free with Creative Cloud & free for three imports without Creative Cloud).

Videos for Creating, Saving, Editing, & Publishing:

Importing Photos/Videos on Mac & PC without Quik App (2 minutes)

Overview of how to use GoPro Player for Mac and PC (6 :30 min.)

Guide to Vlogging and Editing/Tips with Adobe Premiere Pro + Quik App ( 11 min.)

Editing & Exporting 360 Video with GoPro Player & Quik App - GoPro Player at 2:39 & Quik App on Mobile at 13:09 ( 20 min. )

 

Yeah, but how do I use this thing?!?!?!

360-degree video is very different from regular video and there are a few things you'll want to consider when designing your next 360 project.

Insta360 One X

Line drawing of Insta360 camera, an oblong curved rectangular camera with dual-facing cameras.

The Insta360 One X is a dual-lens 360-degree (spherical) video camera that captures video for everything around you. You can also easily grab still images from the video using the app, which is also used to control the camera (via Bluetooth and Wireless connections- instructions). 

Download your videos using the included USB cable or use the app to save to your phone or tablet. The Insta360 One X also supports live streaming and many features that make this more than just a 360-degree camera.

Use the invisible selfie stick (included) to shoot footage that appears to be floating in mid-air. Upload photos directly to Google Street View with the app. 

Can I check one out now?

What you need to get started

The camera itself is simple and can be used on its own but works best with the Android and iOS apps and some setup to get started:

  • The camera should be fully charged before starting a project- use the included cable to charge via USB
  • The Insta360 One X  camera is not weather resistant. If you will be using this camera in wet conditions (rain or any submersion) the Venture case is rated to allow you to submerge the camera up to 5 meters (~15 ft) for up to 60 seconds. It is not rated for strong waves or water action sports. Your footage will also be lower in quality when using the case because of the added plastic lens and a seam where the black padding around the lens appears (you can erase the dark seam during editing using the smartphone app, but a ghost effect will remain). View the instructions on using the Venture case.
    Because of these limitations, if you are working on an underwater project, take a look at the GoPro cameras also available at the Library.
  • Download the Android/Apple apps to control the camera (preview, editing, grabbing stills, uploading to the web, etc.)
  • You can also download the Insta360 Studio desktop app (Mac & Windows) to your personal computer (free) to edit your videos post-production.

How do I use this thing?!

Yeah, but how do I use this thing?!?!?!

360-degree video is very different from regular video and there are a few things you'll want to consider when designing your next 360 project.

Logitech c920 HD Webcam

Line drawing of Logitech webcam with USB cable, 1080p camera and microphones.

The Logitech c920 HD Pro Webcam is great for web conferencing, live streaming, and recording interviews and events. The high quality of the 1080p HD camera is matched by the stereo mics with built-in noise reduction.

Can I check one out now?

What you need to get started

The webcam is quite simple- all you need is a computer or device with a USB port and software for your project. Simply plug in the camera and it should automatically be recognized by Windows or Mac computers. For best results with your project be sure to test out the camera and mics before your event or video shoot.

There are different programs you can use for your project, including:

Web Conferencing

  • Skype - this camera is optimized for use with Skype
  • Zoom - Cal Poly Humboldt students, staff and faculty have a license to use Zoom for free. It's one of the easiest to use web conferencing tools.
  • Google Hangouts - You also have an account for Hangouts as part of your student, staff or faculty Gmail account with HSU.

Live Streaming

Recording

How do I use this thing?!

How can I check out and return items at the Library?

Learn!

Online SkillShops

If you are looking for more in-depth tutorials on creating videos, we have some Online SkillShops that cover the complete process. You will also earn a badge for each SkillShop you complete!

Contact Us

Tell us your ideas! We'd love to learn how we can help you with your next project. If you have purchase suggestions, tutorial or workshop requests, need a space or want to meet up with others to share ideas: let us know!