Research Guides: Biological Sciences Research Guide: Microbiology

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Manuals

Microbiology Glossary (Dyer Scientific and Technical Translations)
Dictionary of Virology (Mahy) 1997 (ref QR 358 M34 1997)
World of Microbiology and Immunology (Lerner and Lerner) 2003 (2 volumes) (HSU users only) Contain over 600 encyclopeidic articles.

Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology by Paul Singleton; Diana Sainsbury
Call Number: QR9 .S56 2001

ISBN: 0471941506

Publication Date: 2002

Reference Collection, Third floor south
Encyclopedia of Microbiology by Joshua Lederberg (Editor-In-Chief); William C. Summers (Editor); Martin Alexander (Editor); Barry R. Bloom (Editor); David A. Hopwood (Editor); Roger Hull (Editor); Barbara H. Iglewski (Editor); Allen I. Laskin (Editor); Stephen G. Oliver (Editor); Moseli
Call Number: QR9 .E53 2000

ISBN: 0122268008

Publication Date: 2000

Reference Collection, Third floor south
Encyclopedia of Virology by Robert G. Webster; Allan Granoff
Call Number: QR358 .E53 1994

ISBN: 0122269608

Publication Date: 1994

Reference Collection, Third floor south
Bergey's manual of systematic bacteriology by George M. Garrity (Editor-In-Chief); David R. Boone (Editor); Richard W. Castenholz (Editor)
Call Number: QR81 .B46 2001

ISBN: 0387987711

Publication Date: 2001

Reference Collection, Third floor south
A Concise Manual of Pathogenic Microbiology by Saroj K. Mishra; Dipti Agrawal
ISBN: 9781118301197

Publication Date: 2013

Electronic Books (Use Internet Link)
Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology by John G. Holt
Call Number: QR81 .A5 2000

ISBN: 0683006037

Publication Date: 2000

Although this edition of Bergey's manual of determinative bacteriology contains much information derived from the four volumes of Bergey's manual of systematic bacteriology, it should not be considered an abridged version of the latter work
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology by John G. Holt (Editor); Noel R. Krieg (Editor)
Call Number: QR81 B46 1984

ISBN: 0683041088

Publication Date: 1984-1989

Reference Collection, Third floor south, v.1-4
BSL3 and BSL4 Agents by Mandy Elschner (Editor); Sally Cutler (Editor); Manfred Weidmann (Editor); Patrick Butaye (Editor)
ISBN: 9783527645107

Publication Date: 2012

Electronic Books (Use Internet Link)

Call Numbers for Microbiology Books

Our Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to assign call numbers. In this system, the first two or three lines of a call number identify the subject of a book or other item. The main call number used for Microbiology is QR.

Subclass QR

QR1-502 Microbiology

QR1-74.5 General

QR75-99.5 Bacteria

QR99.6-99.8 Cyanobacteria

QR100-130 Microbial ecology

QR171 Microorganisms in the animal body

QR180-189.5 Immunology

QR355-502 Virology

Taxonomy

Bacterial Nomenclature Up-to-Date
(DSMZ-Deutsche Sammlung von Mikroorganismen und Zellkulturen GmbH) Database of names which are validly published according to the International Code of Nomenclature of Bacteria.
List of Prokaryotic Names with Standing in Nomenclature
(J.P. Euzéby) Includes, alphabetically and chronologically, the nomenclature of prokaryotes and the nomenclatural changes as cited in the Approved Lists of Bacterial Names or validly published in the International Journal of Systematic Bacteriology (IJSB) or in the International Journal of Systematic and Evolutionary Microbiology (IJSEM).

Internet Subject Directories / Gateways / Portals

General Biology

See also the Internet guides listed under General Biology (see link below), many of which includes sections on microbiology.

All the Virology on the WWW
(David Sander)
Microbiology Resources
(Society for General Biology)