Creating Video Projects

The Cal Poly Humboldt Library has equipment for you to check out for free! You can borrow anything for three days and can grab multiple items, including DSLR cameras, camcorders, GoPro cameras, tripods, digital audio recorders, microphones and more. You can ask for any of these items at the Checkout desk on the first floor.

If you have any questions about equipment, or other aspects of a digital project, we are happy to help! Contact us (the Makerspace) at makerspace@humboldt.edu.

Audio equipment is listed on our Creating Audio page. Don't forget that the audio in your video project is as important as the video itself. Depending on your project, you may want to capture your audio to a separate device in order to get the best quality. Many of the cameras have built-in mics that are fine, but some are lacking.

The Canon Vixia HF G20 is great for capturing high-quality footage for a variety of video projects, including interviews, presentations, events and more. The G20 is a more advanced option than the other Vixia cameras we have. It offers some extra features as well as improved optical zoom and a lens hood. With built-in storage and two SD card slots, you can shoot and store a huge amount of footage. You may want to also borrow a tripod, lavalier mic or other accessories.

Can I check one out now?

The Canon Vixia HF R300, R700 and R800 cameras are great for capturing high-quality footage for your video project, including interviews, presentations, events and more. The cameras include all you need to record basic video (includes built-in mic) but you may want to also borrow a tripod, lavalier mic or other accessories.

Can I check one out now?

The R10 is a mirrorless camera that has a fast automatic focus, making it a slightly better pick for video compared to DSLRs. Mirrorless cameras also let you shoot video continuously for up to 2 hours -- well beyond the 30 minute limit of DSLRs. But the mirrorless R10 also allows you to shoot high quality photos with plenty of the options also found on DSLRs to control for those technical shots, like ISO, focus, shutter speed, and more.

The adjustable vari-angle touchscreen makes taking shots at awkward angles a snap. The 24.2 Megapixel CMOS (APS-C) sensor, high-speed 15 FPS mechanical shutter, and fast autofocus make this a great option for photo or video. This camera is also lighter than most of our DSLRs.

Can I check one out now?

Why you might want to borrow the R10

This mirrorless camera is great for photos and video.

• Though similar to DSLRs, mirrorless cameras like the R10 offer a couple of benefits:
  • You can shoot continuous video for up to 2 hours. The DSLR cameras can only shoot continuously for 30 minutes.
  • Mirrorless cameras are generally a bit lighter and smaller than DSLRs.
  • The autofocus is faster than DSLRs, making videos smoother and easier to shoot.
• The 18-150 mm lens provides quality zoom (compared to cameras with digital zoom).
• With the manual controls you can control most aspects of your shot, including depth of field which allows you to get portraits and talking head shots with blurred backgrounds.
• This camera, along with our GoPro cameras, will produce the highest resolution video we have available: up to 4k (3840 x 2160).
• The Rode VideoMic external mic will work wonderfully with our mirrorless and DSLR cameras to give you enhanced audio (available to borrow separately).

Why you might want to borrow a different camera

• Though similar to DSLRs, mirrorless cameras like the R10 have a couple of drawbacks:
  • Battery life is usually shorter on mirrorless cameras.
  • A smaller camera isn't always a good thing -- sometimes it is nice to have a larger camera body, such as with our DSLRs. This is up to your personal preference.
• If you are shooting in the rain. This camera is not water resistant and must be kept dry.

The Nikon D5600 is an updated version of our great D3200 DSLR camera. The D5600 is bit better suited to shooting video, with a flip-out display. This DSLR provides plenty of automatic point-and-shoot functions but also allows you to control things like ISO, focus, shutter speed, and more to take those technical shots. The D5600 also has some built-in special effects, including selective color and fisheye.

Can I check one out now?

Why you might want to borrow the D5600

This DSLR camera is great for photos and video.

• The 18-140 mm lens has a wider range than our D3200 and T6i cameras. It also provides quality zoom (compared to cameras with digital zoom).
• With the manual controls you can control most aspects of your shot, including depth of field which allows you to get portraits and talking head shots with blurred backgrounds.
• This camera, along with the other DSLRs in our collection and the GoPro Hero6, will produce the highest resolution images we have available- up to 1920 x 1080 (Full HD). The D5600 also shoots up to 60 frames per second at 1920 x 1080, but this will reach the file size limit within 10 minutes.
• The Rode VideoMic external mic will work wonderfully with our DSLRs to give you enhanced audio (available for checkout separately).
• Special effects! The D5600 has several built-in special effects, including night vision, fisheye, color sketch, miniature effect, selective color (creates black and white image with only one color highlighted), and more.

Why you might want to borrow a different camera

• If you are shooting a continuous video over 30 minutes (no stopping) -- this camera will automatically stop recording at 29:59. Depending on the video settings, this may be a shorter time: there is a maximum file size of 4GB, which may only be 10 minutes at max settings. If the camera temperature gets too high (>73.5F), it will also automatically shut down.
• If you want to shoot slow motion shots -- while it will shoot up to 60 fps at standard HD, the GoPro Hero6 will shoot up to 240 fps.
• If you are shooting in the rain -- this camera is in no way waterproof and must be kept dry at all times.

The Nikon D3100 is a great camera that provides plenty of automatic point-and-shoot functions but also allows you to control things like ISO, focus, shutter speed, and more to take those technical shots.

Can I check one out now?

Why you might want to borrow the D3100

This DSLR camera is great for photos and video.

• The 18-55 mm lens provides quality zoom (compared to cameras with digital zoom).
• With the manual controls you can control most aspects of your shot, including depth of field which allows you to get portraits and talking head shots with blurred backgrounds.
• This camera shoots high resolution images: 14.2 MP, and video: up to 1920 x 1080 (Full HD).

Why you might want to borrow a different camera

• If you are shooting a continuous video over 30 minutes -- this camera will automatically stop recording at 29:59.
• This camera doesn't include external mic inputs, so if you want to capture higher quality audio, consider using one of our digital recorders and combing your audio in post.
• If you want to shoot slow motion shots -- while it will shoot up to 60 fps at standard HD, the GoPros and Canon PowerShot will shoot up to 240 fps.
• If you are shooting in the rain -- this camera is in no way waterproof and must be kept dry.

The Canon T8i is a great camera that provides plenty of automatic point-and-shoot functions but also allows you to control things like ISO, focus, shutter speed, and more to take those technical shots.

The T8i is also WiFi enabled to allow you to transfer photos and video to mobile devices and social media. This DSLR is also optimized to shoot full HD (1080p) video. The adjustable vari-angle touchscreen makes taking shots at awkward angles a snap.

Can I check one out now?

Why you might want to borrow the T8i

This DSLR camera is great for photos and video.

• The 18-55 mm lens provides quality zoom (compared to cameras with digital zoom).
• With the manual controls you can control most aspects of your shot, including depth of field which allows you to get portraits and talking head shots with blurred backgrounds.
• This camera, along with our other DSLRs, mirrorless cameras, and GoPros, will produce the highest resolution images we have available- up to 4k (at 24 fps).
• The Rode VideoMic external mic will work wonderfully with the T8i to give you enhanced audio (available separately).

Why you might want to borrow a different camera

• If you are shooting a continuous video over 30 minutes -- this camera will automatically stop recording at 29:59.
• If you want to shoot slow motion shots -- while it will shoot up to 60 fps at full HD (1920 x 1080), the GoPro Hero cameras will shoot up to 240 fps.
• If you are shooting in the rain -- this camera is in no way waterproof and must be kept dry.

The Canon T6i is a great camera that provides plenty of automatic point-and-shoot functions but also allows you to control things like ISO, focus, shutter speed, and more to take those technical shots.

The T6i is also WiFi enabled to allow you to transfer photos and video to mobile devices and social media. This DSLR is also optimized to shoot full HD (1080p) video. The adjustable vari-angle touchscreen makes taking shots at awkward angles a snap.

Can I check one out now?

Why you might want to borrow the T6i

This DSLR camera is great for photos and video.

• The 18-55 mm lens provides quality zoom (compared to cameras with digital zoom).
• With the manual controls you can control most aspects of your shot, including depth of field which allows you to get portraits and talking head shots with blurred backgrounds.
• This camera produces high resolution video -- up to 1920 x 1080 (Full HD).
• The Rode VideoMic external mic will work wonderfully with the T6i to give you enhanced audio (available separately).

Why you might want to borrow a different camera

• If you are shooting a continuous video over 30 minutes -- this camera will automatically stop recording at 29:59.
• If you want to shoot slow motion shots -- while it will shoot up to 60 fps at standard HD, the GoPros will shoot up to 240 fps.
• If you are shooting in the rain -- this camera is in no way waterproof and must be kept dry.

The Library has several GoPro Hero Black cameras available to check out for your next video project. These tiny cameras are great for almost any video or photo project. They are waterproof (to 33ft with the door latched), have built in mics, and can be controlled via the free Android and iOS apps or via the voice command feature. You can also control the camera using the LCD touch screen. The front-facing screen also allows you to monitor what is being captured if you are recording yourself.

We currently have the Hero11 (available soon!), Hero9, Hero8 and Hero6 cameras. All of them produce high-quality video and audio and use the same app to control the cameras. For most projects, we recommend any of these cameras, but if you have specific needs, here is a list comparing the specs for the different models:

Try out the Quik App to make edits, add transitions, music and more — all from your phone or tablet. Stream live directly from the camera using it as a webcam to use with Zoom and other desktop applications or directly live stream to Facebook, YouTube, and more (see details and instructions below).

You can also edit your videos with a variety of other applications free to you as a member of Cal Poly Humboldt. Visit our Creating Video Software guide for recommendations and details.

Can I check one out now?

The GoPro Max 360 is a dual lens 360-degree camera that captures 5.6k resolution video and photos. With the GoPro Max, you can also switch between the front and back lenses when filming or shooting for unique perspectives. The camera also has built-in stabilization and stitching to make 360-degree projects simple. The audio quality of the GoPro Max is fantastic, with six microphones embedded within the camera.

Can I check one out now?

The Insta360 X3 is a dual-lens 360-degree (spherical) video camera that is waterproof to 33 feet (unlike the One X). You can also easily grab still images from the video using the app, which is also used to control the camera (via Bluetooth and Wireless connections- instructions). Like the GoPro Max, you can also reframe the 360 footage to convert it to regular video. The Insta360 app has many features to edit any kind of video project you're working on. If you're new to shooting 360-degree video, Insta360 has some great resources to help you get the best footage.

Download your videos using the included USB cable or use the app to save to your phone or tablet. The Insta360 X3 also supports live streaming and many features that make this more than just a 360-degree camera.

Use the invisible selfie stick (included) to shoot footage that appears to be floating in mid-air. Upload photos directly to Google Street View with the app. 

Can I check one out now?

The Logitech c920 HD Pro Webcam is great for web conferencing, live streaming, and recording interviews and events. The high quality of the 1080p HD camera is matched by the stereo mics with built-in noise reduction.

Can I check one out now?