Oyate is the place to go to find appropriate Native American materials for children.
Pacific Western Traders
PWT opened in 1971 and is a major focus for Californian tribal arts, both as a gallery and a resource center. They produce the map of tribal areas of California.
The UC Berkeley site is an excellent introduction to Berkeley's various collections, including the Hearst Museum. A recent addition is AnthroHub which includes full text (or links to) of all UCB serial publications. See also the Native American Studies Collection from the Ethnic Studies Library for many links to full text documents.
"A catalog and online archive of the indigenous languages of California, western North America, and the Americas" - Merged collections of the Berkeley Language Center and the Survey of California and Other Indian Languages, primary strength is indigenous languages of California.
This digital exhibition is from Northwestern University Library and is complemented by an expanded site from the Library of Congress Edward S. Curtis's The North American Indian.
The National Archeological DataBase provides access to the gray literature on archeological sites in the U.S. as well as to NAGPRA texts and information. This database is now included in tDAR, the Digital Archaeological Record.
"This is a demonstration project showing one way in which documents about the history of federal policy concerning native peoples might be more readily available." Includes text of the Dawes Act, etc.
"Empowering, Educating and Entertaining through Native Media." Also see the Hoopa-based California Indian Radio Projectand Shenandoah Films, a Eureka-based distributor of educational videos and DVDs.
Kimberly Johnston-Dodds created this website replete with scans of newspaper articles and government reports: it also includes links to her MA thesis and her compilation of Early California Laws and Policies Related to California Indians.
Visit the homepage of the Society for the Study of the Indigenous Languages of the Americas (SSILA) which is a major source for information on Indian languages and language issues. See also: Teaching Indigenous Languages, which includes fulltext documents and many links.
Most of these collections have information on northwestern California indians.
Four Directions Institute: California Indians
The pages for local tribes contain information from the Native American Historical Data Base by Larry T.B. Sunderland. Each tribal page also includes an eclectic set of links.
This is the official website of the Hoopa Valley Tribe. It is an extremely rich site - keep looking to find text of many of the primary documents regarding the history of the tribe as well as current Trinitiy and Klamath water issues.
Read issues of the newsletter on this official tribal website.
Live Your Language Alliance
Their mission is "to bring together the language people, advocates, programs, and governments of the local tribes in order to form an alliance that will support language restoration and revitalization efforts."
This non-profit corporation has since 1976 represented American Indian community organizations in northwestern California. It also hosts the Karuk Language Websiteand Bill Bright's Linguistic Homepage.
SODA includes fulltext of many U.S., state, and local documents in three collections: Southern Oregon History; Bioregion (i.e., Klamath-Siskiyou); and First Nations/Tribal Collection (including Karuk, Hupa, Yurok, Tolowa, Wiyot).
The goal of this NSF-funded project is "to provide the most comprehensive grammatical description of Yurok possible while also contributing to the tribal language revitalization project."
This is the official Yurok page. The Culture link provides historical information about the tribe and current issues of the tribal newsletter are online. See also the new YurokVoices.com.
