Research Guides: Native American Studies Research Guide: Native American Languages

Reference Materials

In addition to the general Native American Studies reference collection, following are reference materials that pertain specifically to Native American language documentation

The Papers of John Peabody Harrington in the Smithsonian Institution, 1907-1957 by John Peabody Harrington; Elaine L. Mills; Ann J. Brickfield; Louise G. Mills
Call Number: REF E76.2.W36 1994
ISBN: 0527842435
Publication Date: 1981-01-01
An official inventory for the microfilm edition of Harrington's papers in the Smithsonian Institution, 1907-1957. Includes bibliographies.
Library has: v.1-v.3,v.9
To be used with MF 2411 (HSU Microfilms Collection - https://library.humboldt.edu/about/collections/microform.html)
Guide to ethnological documents (1-203) of the Dept. and Museum of Anthropology, University of California, Berkeley : now in the University Archives by Bancroft Library. University Archives.
Call Number: REF E77 C35
Publication Date: 1971

Ethnologue: Languages of the World
An online catalog of all of the world’s known living languages.

Ararahih'urípih: A Dictionary and Text Corpus of the Karuk Language
This project is a collaboration between the Karuk Tribe and the Survey of California and Other Indian Languages, UC Berkeley. The Karuk dictionary is the work of William Bright and Susan Gehr, with additional contrbutions, editing, and computer coding by Berkeley project participants. The Karuk texts have been put into their online format at Berkeley, based on published editions by William Bright, J. P. Harrington, and others.
California Language Archives
A catalog and online archive of the indigenous languages of California, western North America, and the Americas.
CoLang - Institute on Collaborative Language Research
OLAC: Open Language Archives Community
The Open Language Archives Community, or OLAC, is an international partnership of institutions and individuals who are creating a worldwide virtual library of language resources by: (i) developing consensus on best current practice for the digital archiving of language resources, and (ii) developing a network of interoperating repositories and services for housing and accessing such resources.
Yurok Language Project

Star wars. Episode IV, A new hope / by 20th Century Fox ; Lucasfilm Limited production ; written and directed by George Lucas ; produced by Gary Kurtz.
Call Number: PN1997 .N3927 2013 (Video/DVD Collection, Media Resources, 2nd floor north)
Publication Date: 2013
Translated into the Navajo language.
Karuk Sing Along by Institute of Native Knowledge
Call Number: PM1461.Z4 K368 (Humboldt County Coll, 3rd flr-Humboldt Room(Non-Circulating)
Publication Date: 2004
Atanarjuat [videorecording] = The fast runner by Lot 47 Films ; Igloolik Isuma Productions presents a National Film Board of Canada co-production ; writer, Paul Apak Angilirq ; director, Zacharias Kunuk ; photography, Norman Cohn ; producers, Paul Apak Angilirq, Norman Cohn, Zacharias Kunuk.
Call Number: PN1997.2 .A73 2003 (Video/DVD Collection, Media Resources, 2nd floor north)
Publication Date: 2003

Art Napoleon - Long As I Can See the Light (CCR Cover)
Art Napoleon, an artist and educator from the Saulteau First Nation in north-eastern BC, released an album of covers of popular songs translated into Cree.
more...less...
http://www.artnapoleon.com/