Native American Studies Research Guide

Two resources to help you understand legal reference sources:

Statutory, Case and Administrative Law: Federal and California

Legal Reference Resources and Internet Guides

Databases for Indian Law

ProQuest Congressional

Additional databases

 

Westlaw Campus Research

• Handbook of North American Indians. 1978- (ref E 76.2 H36) Detailed volume list

• Johnston-Dodds, Kimberly. Early California Laws and Policies Related to California Indians (ref E 78 C15 J64 2002 and online)

• Grinde. Native Americans (ref E 93 N32 2002)

• Washburn, Wilcomb. The American Indian and the United States: A Documentary History (ref E 93 W27) Reprints of major documents in 4 volumes

• Indian Law Reporter. 1976- (ref KF 8201 A3 I5) Full text of cases from all jurisdictions. Monthly updates, semi-annual and annual indexes, by case and by broad subject.

• Deloria and DeMallie. Documents of American Indian Diplomacy 1775-1979 (ref KF 8202 1999)

• Fixico, Donald L. Treaties with American Indians: An Encyclopedia of Rights, Conflicts, and Sovereignty 3 volumes (ref KF 8203.6 T74 2008)

• American Indian Law Deskbook (ref KF 8205 A76 2004, suppl 2006)

• Pevar, Stephen L. The Rights of Indians and Tribes (ref KF 8210 C5 P48 2012)

Browsing the Collection

Call Numbers for Indian Law:

KF8201-KF8228

Searching The Catalog

Check the Library Catalog to find known authors and titles as well as to browse by subject.

Broadest approach is Keyword:

Indian? legal

Indian? law

Subject Headings for Indian Law:

• Indians of North America - Government relations
• Indians of North America - Legal status, laws, etc.
• Indians of North America - Legal status, laws, etc. - Water rights.
• Navajo Indians - Legal status, laws, etc.
• United States - Civilization - Indian influences

• Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project – Coordinated by The University of Oklahoma Law Library and The National Indian Law Library of the Native American Rights Fund. Includes on-line version of tribal codes, constitutions, Cohen’s Handbook, etc. See also the Research Guides.

• National Indian Law Library – This site provides additional ways of finding and relating to the above materials.

• Cornell - Legal Information Institute - Supreme Court Collection – LII is a major site for legal research. Major cases are grouped by topic: select Indians.

• Oklahoma State University Library Digital Collections – Kappler and ICC Decisions are here.

• Northwest Intertribal Court System (NICS) - Full text of Appellate Opinions freely available, includes Hoopa and Yurok cases.

• Index of Treaties - compiled by G. William Rice, Associate Professor of Law and Co-Director of the Native American Law Center at the University of Tulsa.

• Handbook of Federal Indian Law - by Felix S. Cohen, 1941.

• Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties - Compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, published in 1904. Alvailable online through the Oklahoma State University Library.

• California Indian Legal Services - Good for California resources, e.g., Birth Records Self-Help Kit

• USAdotgov: For Tribal Governments and Native Americans - This official site brings together a massive amount of information available from the federal government as well as links to other sources of information.

• Law Library of Congress: Indians of North America - This is a good beginning site with links to many of the sites below.

• UC Berkeley Library Research Guide for Native American Resources – An extensive list of sources for legal research, including links to many of the sites below and more. See also American Indian Law from Berkeley Law Library.