Research Guides: Native American Studies Research Guide: Native American Literature

Finding Articles

MLA International Bibliography
[Ebsco] Comprehensive database providing access to scholarly literature on modern literatures, languages, linguistics, and folklore.
Project MUSE
Searchable collection of full text scholarly journals in the field of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
Academic Search Premier
[Ebsco] Access to more than 13,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all academic disciplines from 1975 to the present.
Ethnic NewsWatch
[ProQuest] Full text collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals from the ethnic, minority, and native press.

Journals

Studies in American Indian Literatures (SAIL) (PM 151 S8) ser.2, v.1, 1989-to date. See also ASAIL

Sun Tracks: An American Indian Literary Magazine (PS 501 S85) v.1-6, 1971-1980. (Later volumes cataloged separately)

American Indian Quarterly (E 75 A547) v.1, 1974-to date

Reference Collection

Handbook of North American Indians. 1978- (ref E 76.2 H36) Detailed volume list
Beam, Joan The Native American in Long Fiction (ref PS 374 I49 B43 1996 and 2003)
Langer, Howard J. American Indian Quotations (ref PN 6081.4 A43 1996)
Littlefield, Daniel F. A biobibliography of Native American Writers, 1772-1924 (ref E 77 L577)
Rock, Roger O. The Native American in American Literature : a selectively annotated bibliography (ref PS 173 I6 R63)
Seale, D. & Slapin, B. A broken flute : the Native experience in books for children. (ref E77.4 .B76 2005)
Whitson, Kathy J. Native American Literatures: an encyclopedia of works, characters, authors, and themes (ref PS 153 I52 W47 1999)
Wiget, Andrew Dictionary of Native American Literature (ref PM 155 D53 1994)
Witalic, Janet Native North American Literature (ref PM 155 N385 1994)

Finding Books

Check the Library Catalog to find known authors and titles as well as to browse by subject.

Keywords

Native American? Literature?
American Indian? Literature?

(the "?" retrieves both singular and plural forms, Indian and Indians)

Subject Headings

American literature -- Indian authors
American literature -- Indian authors -- History and criticism
Indian literature -- History and criticism
Indians in literature

Browsing the Collection

Call Numbers

PS153 -173 American Literature - Special Subjects
PS700-3576 American Literature - Individual Authors

Map with Location of NAS Call Number Ranges