Learn more about how the Cal Poly Humboldt Library can help
support your research and learning needs.
Stay updated at Campus Ready.
The Library Catalog lists all of the books videos and CDs at the Cal Poly Humboldt University Library.
A keyword search is usually the best way to begin. When you find items of interest, check the catalog records for subject headings or other terms to modify your search.
Reference Materials can provide you with background information, major theories or researchers, and definitions of key terms. Print and selected electronic reference materials are listed in the HSU Library Catalog and may be located by adding terms such as encyclopedia?, director?, dictionar?, etc. to your search.
You might also try searching for electronic and print reference materials by choosing Reference Collection (including Eref) from the pulldown"Limits To:" menu.Examples of reference materials appear below:
Dictionary of Earth Sciences (ref QE 5 D54 2008)
Earth Science (ref QE 28 E12 2001) - 5 volume set
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online - restricted to HSU faculty, students and staff
Encyclopedia of Earth System Science (ref QE 5 E514 1992) - 4 volume set
Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes (ref QE 521 R58 2001)
Encyclopedia of Geology (ref QE 5 E516 2005) - 5 volume set
Encyclopedia of Paleontology (ref QE 703 E58 1999) - 2 volume set
Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science - restricted to HSU faculty, students and staff
Encyclopedia of Volcanoes(ref QE 522 E53 2000)
English-Spanish and Spanish-English Glossary of Geoscience Terms (ref QE 5 P76 1997)
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences (ref QE 5 E5137 1996) - 2 volume set
Oxford Companion to the Earth (ref QE 5 O94 2000)
The following short videos will show you how to accomplish some basic research tasks.
Our Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to assign call numbers. In this system, the first two or three lines of a call number identify the subject of a book or other item. The main call number used for Chemistry is QE.