Research Guides: Geology Research Guide: Web Resources

Hydrology

California Cooperative Snow Surveys
California has coordinated Snow Surveys from public and private agencies since 1930 in order to forecast water supply. Results have been published on the Web since early 1994. Snow Pack Conditions, Forecasts, and Snow Course Data may be found here (see links below).
Snow Pack Conditions
Forecasts
Snow Course Data
National Weather Service Water Information Center
From the NOAA, this site has current and historical flooding and hydrologic information.
USGS Water Data for the Nation
From the USGS, this site provides access to water-resources data collected at approximately 1.5 million sites in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.

Paleontology

Dinosaur collection
The Natural History Museum houses one of the world’s most important dinosaur collections. It currently includes 157 taxa, of which 115 consist of original material and 69 are type specimens.
University of California Museum of Paleontology
UCMP is a member of the Berkeley Natural History Museums, a consortium of six museums on the Berkeley campus. Its mission is to" investigate and promote the understanding of the history of life and the diversity of the Earth's biota through research and education." Visit the online exhibits and the Paleontology Portal (see links below).
Online Exhibits
Paleontology Portal

Sedimentary Geology

Palaios
Sedimentary Record
From the Society for Sedimentary Geology (see link above), Sedimentary Record contains peer-reviewed science articles on topics of broad and current interest to the membership of SEPM, as well as shorter, editor-reviewed articles addressing a variety of topics, including society business and media reviews.
USGS Bedform Sedimentology
Images of bedforms and crossbedding may be found here. You may also download software for simulating ripple and dune bedforms and cross-bedding.
USGS Suspended-Sediment Database
You may retrieve Daily Values of Suspended Sediment and Ancillary Data by State, by Major Hydrologic Region, by Basin Area, or by Time Period. There is also a page showing Spatial Patterns of Sediment Concentration in the United States (see link below).

Seismology

ABAG Earthquake and Hazards Program
This site is from the Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) (see link below), the regional planning and services agency for the San Francisco Bay Area.
Berkeley Seismological Laboratory
Since 1887, the Seismological Laboratory has been involved in operating seismic networks in central and northern California. It conducts research, provides accurate & timely information on earthquakes, and educates the public about earthquake science.
IRIS Consortium
The Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology (IRIS) is a university research consortium dedicated to exploring the Earth's interior through the collection and distribution of seismographic data. Includes SeismoArchives:Seismogram Archives of Significant Earthquakes of the World (see link below).
SeismoArchives:Seismogram Archives of Significant Earthquakes of the World
Nevada Seismological Laboratory
The Nevada Seismological Lab at the University of Nevada, Reno investigates earthquakes and their effects in Nevada and eastern California.
Northern California Earthquake Data Center (NCEDC)
The NCEDC is a long-term archive and distribution center for seismological and geodetic data for Northern and Central California
Pacific Northwest Seismic Network
Information on Pacific Northwest earthquake activity and geologic hazards.
Redwood Coast Tsunami Work Group
From the homepage: "The Redwood Coast Tsunami Work Group (RCTWG) is an organization of local, state and federal agencies, tribes, relief and service groups, land managers, and businesses from Del Norte, Humboldt and Mendocino Counties. The group was formed in July 1996 to define the needs of local jurisdictions to mitigate the North Coast earthquake and tsunami hazard and to promote a coordinated, consistent mitigation program for all coastal areas." Tsunami evacuation maps and flyers are available for most of Humboldt and Del Norte counties.
Tsunami!: Tsunamis – Past and Present
From the Department of Earth & Space Sciences (see link below) at the University of Washington, this site was developed to "satisfy the public's need for current, descriptive information about tsunamis and the serious threat they pose to coastal communities." Another purpose is to distribute visual and quantitative data gathered in tsunami surveys.
Department of Earth & Space Sciences
Real-time Earthquake Maps - Last 7 to 30 Days

Volcanology

Cascades Volcano Observatory
This USGS observatory studies the eruptive history and hazards of the Cascade Range volcanoes, including Mount St. Helens (see link below).
Hawaii Center for Volcanology
The Hawaii Center for Volcanology (HCV) was conceived and created in 1992 as a cooperative effort involving over 80 scientists from the School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology (SOEST) at UH Manoa, HVO (USGS Hawaiian Volcano Observatory) on the Big Island of Hawaii, and CSAV (the Center for the Study of Active Volcanoes) at UH Hilo and Manoa (see links below). A page of Volcanic and Geologic Resources (see link below) is available from onlinecollegeclasses.com.
School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology (SOEST)
Department of Geological Sciences at San Diego State University
Smithsonian Institution - Global Volcanism Program
From the National Museum of Natural History, "the Global Volcanism Program (GVP) seeks better understanding of all volcanoes through documenting their eruptions--small as well as large--during the past 10,000 years." Bulletin of the Global Volcanism Network (see link below) has volcanic activity reports. There is also the SI/USGS Weekly Volcanic Activity Report (see link below) which is updated each Wednesday.
Bulletin of the Global Volcanism Network
All reports of volcanic activity published by the Smithsonian since 1968 are available through a monthly table of contents or by searching for a specific volcano. Until 1975, reports were issued for individual volcanoes as information became available; these have been organized by month for convenience. Later publications were done in a monthly newsletter format. Links go to the profile page for each volcano with the Bulletin tab open.
SI/USGS Weekly Volcanic Activity Report
"Volcano Watch" from the USGS Hawaiian Volcano Observatory
"Volcano Watch is a weekly newsletter written by the scientists at the US Geological Survey's Hawaiian Volcano Observatory. It is published in the Hawaii Tribune-Herald's Sunday newspaper and the West Hawai'i Today's Monday newspaper, and posted here the following Monday or Tuesday."
Volcano World
This educational site is intended for anyone interested in volcanoes. It is a higher education, K-12, and public outreach project of the Oregon NASA Space Grant Consortium administered by the Department of Geosciences at Oregon State University (see links below).
Oregon NASA Space Grant Consortium

Local/Regional Geology Resources

California Geological Survey (CGS)
Sue-meg State Park
HSU Department of Geology Home Page
National Information Service for Earthquake Engineering (NISEE)
Located at UC Berkeley, NISEE has "guided discovery of significant earthquake engineering information resources" since 1972.
Living on Shaky Ground: How to Survive Earthquakes and Tsunamis in Northern California
A locally produced guide to earthquake preparedness which may also be downloaded as a Magazine.
Redwood Coast Tsunami Work Group
From the homepage: "The Redwood Coast Tsunami Work Group (RCTWG) is an organization of local, state and federal agencies, tribes, relief and service groups, land managers, and businesses from Del Norte, Humboldt and Mendocino Counties. The group was formed in July 1996 to define the needs of local jurisdictions to mitigate the North Coast earthquake and tsunami hazard and to promote a coordinated, consistent mitigation program for all coastal areas." Tsunami evacuation maps and flyers (see link below) are available for most of Humboldt and Del Norte counties.
Tsunami evacuation maps and flyers

Online Journals

Abstracts with programs - Geological Society of America
Available online for 1997 to date. Most earlier years may be found in print in HSU Library (QE1 G270).

Be sure to check the Journal and Newspaper Finder (see link below) for additional electronic journals as well as print journals in Geology available at HSU Library. You may also use the Category tab (see link below) if you don't have a particular title in mind.

AGU Journals
Tables of contents of the journals published by the American Geophysical Union (AGU). You may sign up for a free subscription to E-Alert Service (see link below) which will send new tables of contents via email. HSU Library subscribes to several AGU journals which may be located using the Journal and Newspaper Finder (see link below).
Eos Electronic Supplement
(http://earth.agu.org/eos_elec/)
American Geophysical Union's online supplement to the Union's weekly newspaper. HSU Library has Eos (see link below) in print (periodicals QE 500 A6) from 1969 to date.
Eos
American Geophysical Union's weekly newspaper. HSU Library has Eos in print (periodicals QE 500 A6) from 1969 to date.
Geological Society of America. Bulletin
(http://gsabulletin.gsapubs.org/)
Full Text is available for the Bulletin from 1945 on. Abstracts Only are available for December 1918 - December 1944. HSU Library also subscribes to the Bulletin in print format (periodicals QE 1 G2).
Geology
(http://geology.gsapubs.org)
Full Text is available for Geology from 1973 to date. HSU Library also subscribes to Geology in print (see link below) format (periodicals QE 1 G53).
GSA Today
(http://www.geosociety.org/gsatoday/)
The monthly news magazine of the Geological Society of America. All GSA Today online articles are open access.
Journal of Environmental Hydrology
(http://www.hydroweb.com/journal-hydrology.html)
Electronic journal of the International Association for Environmental Hydrology. Full text is freely available for 1995-2006; tables of contents and abstracts only for 2007-present.
Palaeontologia Electronica
(http://palaeo-electronica.org/)
An electronic journal of paleontology from Coquina Press, its principal objective is to provide instant, free and global access to the latest developments in paleontology and related fields -- full text. There is an archive of issues (see link below) back to 1998.

Other Library Catalogs

National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines—both formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings.
Most resources in the library adhere to principles of Open Educational Resource (OER) access.
The EUROPEAN LIBRARY
Designed to meet the needs of the research community worldwide, this online portal offers quick and easy access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
Users can cross-search and reuse over 28,627,026 digital items and 175,511,348 bibliographic records.
To facilitate further research, links are also provided to other websites in the Europeana group.
World Digital Library (WDL)
The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.
Books, manuscripts, maps, and other primary materials on the site are not translated but presented in their original languages. More than 100 languages are represented on the WDL, including many lesser known and endangered languages.

WorldCat
Identify and locate resources in library collections worldwide. Connect to materials at Cal Poly Humboldt and other libraries from WorldCat records and article citations.

Professional Societies

AASP - the Palynological Society
AASP was formed in 1967 to promote the science of palynology in academia and industry. Palynology is the study of pollen, spores, dinoflagellates, and other microscopic "palynomorphs."
American Association of Petroleum Geologists
AAPG was formed in 1917. Its purpose is to foster the spirit of scientific research among its members and to advance the science of geology -- particularly as it relates to petroleum, natural gas, other subsurface fluids, and mineral resources.
American Geological Institute
Founded in 1948, AGI is a nonprofit federation of 50 geoscience societies (see link below). Provides access to the Geologic Guidebooks of North America Database (see link below) which "consists of references to geologic field trip guidebooks of North America. Most of the guidebooks cited are from the period 1940-1988. A few are from earlier years. Geoscience Information Society (GSIS) (see link below) volunteers have added many post-1988 guidebooks to the database. Beginning in 2002, new guidebooks will be added to GeoRef (see link below) as part of the regular database production, and then added to the guidebook database from the GeoRef records."
50 geoscience societies
Geologic Guidebooks of North America Database
Geoscience Information Society (GSIS)
American Geophysical Union (AGU)
The AGU is an international scientific society dedicated to geophysics with more than 58,000 members from over 135 countries.
American Institute of Professional Geologists (AIPG)
Founded in 1963 to certify the credentialing of practicing geologists, AIPG advocates on behalf of the profession and is the largest association dedicated to promoting geology as a profession.
Association of American State Geologists
The Association of American State Geologists (AASG) is an organization of the chief executives of the state geological surveys in 50 states and Puerto Rico.
Clay Minerals Society
The primary purpose of the Clay Minerals Society is to stimulate research and to disseminate information relating to all aspects of clay science and technology.
EAGE - European Association of Geoscientists & Engineers
The leading European based international organisation of geoscientists and engineers.
Geological Society of America
Founded in 1888, the Geological Society of America (GSA) has a mission to "be a leader in advancing the geosciences, enhancing the professional growth of its members, and promoting the geosciences in the service to humankind and stewardship of the Earth."
International Association for Environmental Hydrology
A worldwide association of environmental hydrologists dedicated to the protection and cleanup of fresh water resources.
International Association Of Sedimentologists
Founded in 1952, the goal of IAS is to promote the study of sedimentology and the interchange of research, particularly where international cooperation is desirable.
International Glaciological Society
IGS was founded in 1936 to provide a focus for individuals interested in practical and scientific aspects of snow and ice.
Paleontological Society
An international organization devoted exclusively to the advancement of the science of paleontology through the dissemination of research by publication and meetings.
SEPM (Society for Sedimentary Geology)
SEPM is "dedicated to the dissemination of scientific information on sedimentology, stratigraphy, paleontology, environmental sciences, marine geology, hydrogeology, and many additional related specialties."