Research Guides: Forestry &amp; Wildland Resources Research Guide: Watershed Management

Databases: Highly Recommended

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
[ProQuest]
Broad ranging index to environmental science and pollution publications in scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
Agricola
[ProQuest] Primary database for agricultural research covering animal science, horticulture, entomology, forestry, land management, nutrition, pesticides, soil science and other related topics.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Geobase
[Elsevier]
Index to research literature on the earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management, and nature conservation.
Pollution Abstracts (currently known as Environmental Science Index)
[ProQuest] Index to scientific research, engineering applications and government policy on pollution detection, effects, monitoring, analysis and control found in journals, conference proceedings, web resources and government publications.
Sustainability Science Abstracts (currently known as Environmental Science Index)
Index to journal articles and other literature on the sustainability of natural resources, including water resources.
Water Resources Abstracts (currently known as Environmental Science Index)
[ProQuest] Index to scientific and engineering literature on the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use, and management of water from 1967 to the present.

For a guide to general legal resources in the HSU Library see Legal Reference Resources and Finding Tools and Environmental/Natural Resources Law (see links below)

Environmental/Natural Resources Law
National Timber Tax Website
(Purdue University Department of Forestry and National Resources and US Forest Service State and Private Forestry)

For Federal statutory, case and administrative law in the HSU Library see the Statutory, Case and Administrative Law: Federal & California research guide (link below).
"Logs and Logging" and "Woods and Forests" in Corpus Juris Secundum (KF 154 C6) Articles in an authoritative encyclopedia restating US law as derived from statutory and case law.

Forest Service Manual
(US Forest Service) (print copy in Docs A 13.36/2: FSM) Codification of "legal authorities, objectives, policies, responsibilities, instructions, and guidance needed on a continuing basis." See Overview of the Forest Service Directive System for further information (link below).
Principal Laws Relating to Forest Service Activities
(US Forest Service) 1993 (USDA Agriculture Handbook #453) (print copy available in ref KF 5631 A3 1993) Arranged by decade. See also the more recent Selected Laws Affecting Forest Service Activities(link below) that arranges laws by broad topic.
Selected Laws Affecting Forest Service Activities
Principal Laws Relating to USDA Forest Service State and Private Forestry Programs
(US Forest Service) 2011

For California statutory, case and administrative law in the HSU Library see Statutory, Case and Administrative Law: Federal & California (link below).

California Timber Yield Tax Law
(California State Board of Equalization) 2011. See also the Guide to the California Timber Yield Tax (link below).
Guide to the California Timber Yield Tax
Forest Practice
(California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection) Describes CDF's role in enforcing laws that regulate logging on private lands; contains the text of the California Forest Practice Act and Rules; explains the Timber Harvest Plan process, and gives the status of current THPs

Ground Water Atlas of the United States
Series of 13 regional volumes that describe the location, extent, and geologic and hydrologic characteristics of important U.S. aquifers.

USGS Water Data for the Nation
From the USGS, this site provides access to water-resources data collected at approximately 1.5 million sites in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.
Atlas of America's Polluted Waters
Shows streams, rivers, coastal shorelines, lakes, estuaries, and wetlands that do not meet state water quality standards. A corresponding Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) Program website is available.
Water Quality Information Center (WQIC)
Water Quality Information Center (WQIC), part of the National Agricultural Library, provides electronic access to information on water quality and agriculture. The center collects, organizes, and communicates the scientific findings, educational methodologies, and public policy issues related to water quality and agriculture.