Fisheries Biology Research Guide

Reference materials serve a variety of purposes and can sometimes be used effectively in searching the scientific literature. Reference materials can be used to:

• define terminology--dictionaries
• locate accepted knowledge and topical overviews--encyclopedias, handbooks and reviews
• find factual information--directories and statistical compilations
• identify research on specific topics--reviews and bibliographies
• locate standard methods and procedures--handbooks and manuals

Following are reference materials of interest to the fisheries scientist and manager. They are organized by category of reference material rather than subject. Resources marked with a  are key resources or databases.

Species accounts include natural history and life history information on individual species. Topics frequently covered include description, taxonomy, distribution, life history, habitat, status, and management considerations.

For species accounts and life history information for California fish species see California Environment Information Sources-Wildlife-Fish.

• Aquaculture Sourcebook: A Guide to North American Species (Iversen & Hale) 1992 (ref SH 33 I94) Contains descriptions of over 100 species of aquacultural potential.
• Endangered Species Recovery Plans (US Fish & Wildlife Service) Includes over 700 final and revised recovery plans issued since 1989. These plans delineate actions required to recover and/or protect listed species. Each recovery plan includes extensive information on the distribution, habitat, ecology, life history, and population status as well as plans for recovery. 
•  Fishbase (International Center for Living Aquatic Resources Management) (cd-rom version is available in ref QL 614.7 F57) Major database that contains the equivalent of 20 encyclopedia volumes on the distribution, ecology, population dynamics, reproduction, genetics, morphology and physiology of 28,000 finfish species. The database includes 35,000 pictures and 32,000 references. One can search by common name, scientific name, by country, by ecosystem , by broad topic or from a glossary of subject keywords
• Fisheries of North America: an Illustrated Guide to Commercial Species (Rodger) 2006 (ref SH 219 R57 2006) For the most commercially important fish and shellfish species in North America presents a two-page summary of market and scientific information, including scientific and common nomenclature, physical description, landings and value, commercial uses and life cycle.
• Fisheries Synopsis This series contains comprehensive reviews of fisheries species of current or potential economic interest. Main headings usually are taxonomy, distribution, life history, population structure, exploitation, use, and management. Coordinated by FAO, they are published by various national governments.
  • FAO Fisheries Synopsis (Food & Agriculture Organization of the UN) (SH 1 F875) Presently 45 species synopsis have been produced which are listed at the FAO Species Identification and Data Programme (SIDP) web site.
  • Fisheries Synopsis (Australia. CSIRO. Division of Fisheries and Oceanography) (QL 614 A8) A list is available of completed synopsis
  • Fisheries Synopsis (U.S. National Marine Fisheries Service), subseries within the Special Scientific Report: Fisheries (Docs C 55.13 NMFS SSRF) and NMFS Technical Report series (Docs C 55.13 NMFS)
• Freshwater Fishes of the World (Gunther) 1966 (ref QL 624 S713 1966) Includes short descriptions of 1,300 species of "aquarium" fishes. Each species account includes information on description, distribution and notes on aquarium care.
•  Handbook of Freshwater Fishery Biology (Carlander) 1969-1997 (ref QL 625 C373) Major three volume set that compiles life history data and information on individual species of freshwater fish in the United States and Canada. Volume 1 includes data on the freshwater fishes of the United States and Canada, exclusive of the Perciformes (perch-like fish, the largest order of fish). Volume 2 treats the first part of the Perciformes, i.e., the Centrarchid fishes, the sunfish family. Volume 3 includes the rest of the Perciformes. For each species includes detailed tabular data for length, weights, weight-length relationships, total lengths, condition factors, daily growth, lengths and weights at various ages, and number of eggs per female. In addition it compiles information from the literature on population density, food, feeding behavior, reproduction, mortality, population distribution and behavior, environmental factors, and more. The text serves as an index to the literature for included species.
• LarvalBase: Global Information System about FishLarvae (German Ministery for Economic Cooperation and Development) Database containing information on 1800 fish larvae. Should be used in conjunction with FishBase. Information provided includes basic taxonomic information, distribution, adult biology, and other topics relating to the development and growth of eggs and larvae. The database includes 2500 pictures and 2000 literature references. One can search by common name, scientific name, or from a glossary of subject keywords. One can also search by general topic.
• Native Trout of Western North America (Behnke) 1992 (QL 638 S2 B43 1992) Part I includes introductory chapters on trout classification, origin and distribution, and biology and management. Part II-IV contains 10 page species accounts that cover typcial characters, description, distribution, taxonomic notes, life history and ecology, status, and range maps.
• Nature Serve Explorer (NatureServe) Database containing conservation information on more than 65,000 plants, animals, and ecological communities of the United States and Canada. Search by common or scientific name. Each species or community includes information on conservation status, distribution, life history, and other conservation information.
• Nonindigenous Aquatic Species (US Geological Survey) Contains species accounts for vertebrate, invertebrate, and plant species that have been introduced into the United States or species native to United States that have been introduced to drainages outside their native ranges. Speices accounts include common name, distribution maps, sources for identification, native range nonindigenous occurences, means of introduction, and status and impacts of introduction. Database can be queried by species, state, and drainage basin. The fish section has been published as Nonindigenous Fishes Introduced into Inland Waters of the United States (Fuller, Nico, & Williams) 1999 (ref QL 627 F86 1999) and contains species accounts for 536 taxa.
• Pacific Salmon Life Histories (Groot & Margolis) 1991 (ref QL 638 S2 P34 1991) Authoritative 70-100 page life history accounts for the seven species of Pacific salmon.

Back to the Top

These resources provide definitions of discipline-specific terminology and/or general introductions to topics and concepts in fisheries. Many encyclopedias include references to important "primary" literature on a specific topic .

• Aquatext: The Free Online Aquaculture Dictionary (Pisces Engineering Ltd)
• Collegiate Dictionary of Zoology (Pennak) 1964 (ref QL 9 P4)
• Dictionary of Fish Names in Nine Languages (Jonsson): includes scientific and common names
• Definition of Fisheries Technical Terms (U.S. National Marine Fisheries Service. Northeast Fisheries Science Center)
• Dictionary of Japanese Fish Names and Their Foreign Equivalents (Ichthyological Society of Japan) 1981 (ref QL 614.7 N53)
• Encyclopedia of Aquaculture (Stickney) 2000 (ref SH 20.3 E53)
• Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology (Nierenberg) 1995 (ref QH 540.4 E52 1995)
• Encyclopedia of Fishes (Paxton and Eschmeyer) 1998 (QL 614.7 E535 1998) Nontechnical encyclopedia. Part 1 covers history, habitats, adaptations, and conservation issues; Part 2 provides information on 35 fish families, including habitat, biological adaptations, and commercial value.
• Encyclopedia of Marine Resources (Firth) 1969 (ref SH 201 F56)
• Encyclopedia of Theoretical Ecology (Hastings and Gross) 2012 (ref QH 540.4 E526 2012)
• FAO Fisheries Glossary (Food and Agriculture Organization) Search alphabetically or by broad subject.
• Glossary of Aquaculture (Food and Agriculture Organization) 2008 (print copy available in ref SH 20.3 .C74 2008)
• Glossary of Aquatic Habitat Inventory Terminology (Armantrout) 1998 (ref QH 541.5 W3 A76 1998) Contains over 2200 aquatic habitat terms.
•  Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia Vol 4 - 5 Fishes (HSU Users Only) (Hutchins) 2004. This scholarly work first presents general information on the ecology, evolution, structure and function, life histories and reproduction, behavior, biogeography, migration, and conservation of an order or family. This is followed by selected species descriptions, a comprehensive species list, a reference list and additional resources. Richly illustrated with distribution maps, photographs, paintings and line drawings. 
• McClane's New Standard Fishing Encyclopedia (McClane) 1974 (ref SH 411 M18 1974)
• Multilingual Dictionary of Fish and Fish Products (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development) 1978 (ref QL 614.7 D7 1978)
• Regulatory Fish Encyclopedia (US Food & Drug Administration. Seafood Products Research Center) A compilation of information that assists with the accurate identification of fish species of commercial importance including high resolution photographs of whole fish and their marketed product forms, unique taxonomic characteristics, and chemical taxonomic information.
• Russian-English Dictionary for Students of Fisheries and Aquatic Biology (Ricker) 1973 (ref SH 223 A344 #183)
• Technical Glossary of Stream and River Stabilization, Restoration, and Bioengineering Terms (Pullman Plant Materials Center, US Natural Resources Conservation Service)
• World Encyclopedia of Fishes (Wheeler) 1985 (ref QL 614.7 W48 1985) In two sections--one containing color plates arranged by family; and dictionary section arranged by genus that contains short species accounts. Species accounts include information on identification, habitat, distribution, behavior and importance to humans.

Back to the Top

Directories are commonly alphabetical or subject listings of people, organizations, places, or animals. See also the Internet Directories/Portals/Gateways section.

• People
  • Directory of North American Fisheries and Aquatic Scientists (McAleer) 1987 (ref SH 203 D57 1987)
  • Ocean Expert: the Global Directory of Marine and Freshwater Scientists (Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission) Directory of over 10,000 marine and freshwater professionals.
  • Membership Directory & Handbook (American Fisheries Society) annual (ref SH 203 A49a)
• Organizations
  • Conservation Directory (National Wildlife Federation) annual (print copy available in ref S 920 C64) Lists federal, state, and some international agencies; national and regional organizations, commissions, and citizen's groups involved in natural resource use and management. Includes brief descriptions and key personnel.
  • Fish and Wildlife Management Offices--State, Territorial and Tribal (US Fish and Wildlife Service) Websites listed by state.
  • Fisheries Laboratories of North America (Becker) 1991 (ref SH 332.2 N7 F57)
  • Fisheries Research Organisations and Research Programmes in the European Union, Iceland, Israel and Norway (European Commission. Directorate-General for Fisheries)
  • Office Directory (US Fish and Wildlife Service)
  • United States Government Manual (US National Archives & Records Service) annual (ref JK 421 A3) Directory of federal agencies. Entries include a short description of responsibilities, agency officials and contacts, reference to legislative acts which established an agency, and references to organizational statements in the Code of Federal Regulations.
• Places
  • Guide to National Wildlife Refuges (Riley) 1979 (ref QH 76 R54)
• Organisms
  • California Natural Diversity Database Special Animals (California Department of Fish and Game) (print copy available in Cal Docs F 650 N37 S63) Lists all the taxa included in the California Natural Diversity Database.
  • Fisheries of North America: an Illustrated Guide to Commercial Species (Rodger) 2006 (ref SH 219 R57 2006) For most commercially important fish and shellfish species in North America presents a two-page summary of market and scientific information, including scientific and common nomenclature, physical description, landings and value, commercial uses and life cycle.
  • Imperiled Freshwater Organisms of North America (US Geological Survey and American Fisheries Society) Contains maps and lists of imperiled freshwater organisms of North America as determined by the American Fisheries Society (AFS) Endangered Species Committee (ESC). One can view lists of animals by freshwater ecoregion, by state or province boundary, and plot distributions of these same creatures by ecoregion or political boundary.
  • Longevity Records: Life Spans of Mammals, Birds, Amphibians, Reptiles, and Fish (Cary and Judge) 2000. Contains nearly 4,100 longevity records (reports of highest documented age) for 3,054 species/subspecies of mammals, birds, amphibians, reptiles, and fish.
  • Protected Fishes of the United States and Canada (Johnson) 1987 (ref QL 625 S64 1987)
  • Seafood List: FDA Guide to Acceptable Market Names for Food Fish Sold in Interstate Commerce (US Food & Drug Administration) 1993
  • State and Federal Listed Endangered and Threatened Animals of California (California Department of Fish and Game) List of the animals found within California or off the coast of the State that have been classified as Endangered or Threatened by the California Fish and Game Commission (state list) or by the U. S. Secretary of the Interior or the U. S. Secretary of Commerce (federal list).
  • Threatened & Endangered Wildlife & Plants (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service)
  • World Record Game Fishes (International Game Fish Association) annual (ref SH 455 W67)

Back to the Top

Scientific reviews or "state-of-the-art" papers critically survey a narrow topic in a discipline. Review papers identify and evaluate research which has appeared in the "primary" literature and include extensive bibliographies. Scientific reviews typically appear in annual publications entitled "Annual review of ..." or "Advances in ...", as well as in research journals, especially those which have "review" as part of the title. As part of a search strategy review papers are an excellent "research tool" to use since they pull together information on the existing state-of-knowledge on a specific topic.

There are several ways to locate scientific reviews:

1. Many annual review series have cumulative indexes.
2. Individual review papers are commonly indexed in databases listed in Articles and Databases: Fisheries. To find review papers use the keyword "review" as part of your search strategy.
3. The "Annual Review of ..." publication series has a cumulative index which searches all reviews from 1930 to the present.

Annual reviews of interest in fisheries include the following. Check the Journal and Newspaper Finder for format and holdings.

• Advances in Aquatic Microbiology
• Advances in Ecological Research
• Advances in Marine Biology
• Advances in the Study of Behavior
• Annual Review of Ecology and Systematics
• Annual Review of Fish Diseases
• Ocean Yearbook Includes topical articles on major ocean issues of the year ranging from political to scientific.
• Oceanography and Marine Biology: an Annual Review
• Quarterly Review of Biology
• Reviews in Fish Biology and Fisheries

Back to the Top

Bibliographies are compiled lists which gather together known research on a specific topic. They are generally more useful for retrospective rather than current searching. There are many specialized bibliographies in fisheries. Fish and Fisheries Worldwide index lists over 3,000 fisheries bibliographies. Listed below are selected bibliographies which cover general subjects, species, or emphasize California and Pacific coast fisheries.

• Subject
  • Annotated Bibliography of Fishing Impacts on Habitat (Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission) 2000. Contains over 570 references to papers dealing with fishing impacts on habitat and the marine environment. See their Publications list for updates to the bibliography.
  • BIMAQUE Bibliography (Institute of Marine Biology of Crete) Covers the anthropogenic effects of fish farming on the environment.
  • Bibliography of Fishes Vol.1 and Bibliography of Fishes Vol. 2 (Dean) 1916-1923 (print copy available in ref QL 615 D43) Monumental three volume bibliography covering fisheries literature through approximately 1915. Entries arranged by author with a subject index.
  • Bibliography of Genetic Variation in Natural Populations (Allendorf) Contains over 60,000 references on the genetic variations in natural populations of fish.
  • BCN Bibliography (Smithsonian Institute. National Museum of Natural History) Contains over 29,000 references on conservation biology that have appeared in the Biological Conservation Newsletter since 1983.
  • Diseases and Parasites of Fishes: An Annotated Bibliography of Books and Symposia, 1904-1977, 1978-1985 (Mann) 1981 (Fish Disease Leaflet 53 and 81) (Docs I 49.28/3:53)ecosystem.
  • Effects of logging, other forest industries and forest management practices on fish: an initial bibliography (McDonald) 1988 (Canadian Technical Report of Fisheries & Aquatic Sciences #1622) (SH 223 A349 #1622)
  • The Effects of Temperature on Invertebrates and Fish: A Selected Bibliography (Kennedy & Mihursky) Includes approximately 3,500 references. Most date before 1993 with selective coverage of more recent literature.
  • Fish Passage at Road Crossings: an Annotated Bibliography (Anderson and Bryant) 1980 (USFS General Technical Report PNW-117) (Docs A 13.88: INT-117) Includes 44 annotated references.
  • Fish Passage through Culverts: an Annotated Bibliography (Six Rivers National Forest Watershed Interactions Team) Includes 96 annotated citations on culvert design for fish passage, risk analysis, and fish swimming ability. Part of the larger FishXing web site that contains software and other resources related to fish passage through culverts.
  • Indexed Bibliography on Stream Habitat Improvement (Duff) 1986 (SH 157.8 D84)
  • Managing for Enhancement of Riparian and Wetland Areas of the Western United States: An Annotated Bibliography (Koehler and Thomas) 2000 ( print copy available in Docs A 13.88: RMRS-54) (USFS General Technical Report RMRS-GTR-54) Includes approximately 2000 references on riparian and wetland management.
  • Mobile Fishing Gear Effects on Benthic Habitats: A Bibliography (Dieter, Wion, and McConnaughey.) 2003 (NOAA Tech. Memo. NMFS-AFSC-135) Comprehensive listing of scientific and popular literature on demersal mobile fishing gear and its effects on the environment.
  • Naga (WorldFish Center) Database of articles from serials, monographs, proceedings, unpublished materials and other pertinent sources on fisheries, aquaculture and coastal resources management relevant to tropical and developing countries
  • Restoration Bibliography (Wild Fish Habitat Initiative) Includes books, book chapters, restoration manuals, journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, government documents, and technical reports on fish habitat restoration.
• California & the Pacific Northwest
  • Annotated Bibliography: Fisheries Species and Oil/Gas Platforms Offshore California (MBC Applied Environmental Sciences) 1987. Contains 879 references on important fisheries species offshore California and on the ecology of fish and invertebrates which associate with oil and gas platforms offshore California.
  • Annotated Bibliography of Research in Economically Important Species of California Fish and Game (California Department of Fish & Game) 1958-1974 (ref QL 628 C2 S36) Lists research published from 1800s to 1974 on California's fish and wildlife ..."species having a bearing on California's economy.'' While most of the cited literature is scientific in nature articles in trade magazines and popular sports magazines are included. The main work includes literature up throught 1958 and is arranged chronologically within groups. Following the main work there are two-year supplements that cover literarture through 1974.
  • Bibliography of the Effects of Logging on Fish of the Western United States and Canada (Gibbon) 1974 (General Technical Report PNW-10) (print copy available in Docs A 13.88 PNW-10)
  • Bibliography of the Fishes of the Pacific Coast of the United States to the End of 1879 (Gill) 1882 (U.S. National Museum Bulletin #11) (print copy available in Docs SI 3.3:11) Historical bibliography.
  • Columbia Basin Research Literature Database (University of Washington School of Fisheries) Includes literature on salmon biology and the Columbia and Snake Rivers.
  • Food Habits Literature of North Pacific Marine Fishes: A Review and Selected Bibliography(Livingston) 1983 (NOAA Technical Memo NMFS F/NWC-54) (Docs C55.13:NMFS F/NWC 54)
  • Humboldt Bay, California, a Literature Survey (University of Washington Department of Oceanography) 1955 (GC 856 W35 Hum Co Collection) Literature survey along with accompanying bibliography. The bibliography portion was updated through 1969 by A Partial Bibliography on Humboldt Bay (GC 856 P37 Hum Co Collection)
• Species
  • Bibliography of the Early Life History of Fishes (Hoyt) 1988 (print copy available in QL 639.25 H69 1988) Provides 13,717 references on the early life of fishes.
  • Bibliography of the Ephemeroptera (Hubbard) A "working bibliography of literature on the Mayflies" containing over 3.500 references.
  • Elasmoworld Reference Database (Elasmoworld) Includes over 9,000 references on sharks and rays.
  • Guide to the Literature on the Systematic Biology of the Pacific Salmon (Wilimousky & Freihover) 1957 (Special Scientific Report - Fisheries #209) (Docs C 55.13 NMFS-SSRF-209) Classified bibliography of literature prior to 1955 on the biology of six Pacific salmon species. Used as a basis for the Pacific Salmon Literature Compilation, 1900-59.
  • Migration and Movement of Pacific Salmon, Atlantic Salmon and Steelhead Trout-A Bibliography 1900-1982 (Shepard) 1985 (Canadian Technical Report of Fisheries and Aquatic Science #1413) (SH 223 A349)
  • Salmonid-Habitat Relationships in the Western United States: A Review and Indexed Bibliography (Marcus, Young, Noel, & Mullan) 1990 (USFS General Technical Report RM-188) (Docs A 13.88:RM-188)
• Government Agencies. For bibliographies of federal and California state agency publications see theNatural Resource Agency Government Documents and Reports research guide. 
  • Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
    • FAO Catalog Includes all documentation and publications produced by FAO since 1945. Provides links to those available in fulltext.
    • FAO Fisheries Department List of Publication and Documents 1948-1978, 1977-1990 (SH 1 F103 #100) Listing by publication series; no indexes.
    • Fisheries: Annotated Bibliography, FAO Publications and Documents 1945-1969 (ref SH 439 F67) Bibliography with indexes to all FAO publication on fisheries.
  • Canada
    • Index and List of Titles, Fisheries Research Board of Canada and Associated Publications (Canada Department of Fisheries & Oceans) 1900-1964, 1965-1972 (SH 1 C36) Updated annually in the Canadian Journal of Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences through 1994.
    • WAVES (Canada Department of Fisheries & Oceans) Includes all DFO publications except for journal articles.

Back to the Top

Listed below are multivolume treatises that summarize the state of scholarly knowledge in various areas of fisheries, comprehensive knowledgebases and extensive compilations of fisheries literature.

• Subject
  • Fish Diseases and Disorders (Woo) 1999 (SH 171 F575 1995) Three volume treatise
  • Fish Physiology (Hoar) 1969- (QL 639.1 H6) Multi-volume treatise
  • Marine Ecology; a Comprehensive Integrated Treatise on Life in the Oceans and Coastal Waters (5 volumes in 12 parts) 1970-1984 (Kinne) (QH 541.5 S3 K5)
  • Rivers of the United States (Patrick) 1994- (GB 1215 P29) Multi-volume treatise with both subject and geographic focus.
  • Treatise on Limnology (Hutchinson & Edmondson) 1957-1993 (4 volumes) (QH 98 H82)
  • Treatise on Marine Ecology and Paleoecology (Hedgpeth) 1957 (Geological Society of America Memoir #67) (QE 1 G29m #67) First major treatise on marine ecology.
  • United Nations Atlas of the Oceans (United Nations) Continuously updated database that contains information on the sustainable development of the oceans and the state of ocean resources. There are four main entry points: 1) About the Ocean provides information on the history, physical charactistics, biology, and ecology of the oceans, including maps and statistical information; 2)Uses of the Ocean provides information on ocean utilization , including tourism, mining, fishing, ocean dumping, and marine biotechnology; 3) Issues of the Oceans focuses on food security, climate change, human health and governance; and 4) Geography of the Oceans provides information categorized by geographical area.
• Geographic
  • California Rivers Assessment (International Center for the Environment) Database of environmental information on each of California's 143 river basins.
  • Community Profiles (US Fish & Wildlife Service) (Docs I 49.89:various numbers) A series of 55 profiles published in the 1980s covering specific freshwater, wetland, marine, and estuarine environments in the United States. A list of Community and Estuarine Profiles is available with links to fulltext when available.
  •  Ecological Characterization of the Central and Northern California Coastal Region (Jones & Stokes Associates) 1981 (QH 105 C2 E36 1980 Hum Co Coll) 5-volume survey prepared for the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service. Contains summaries of individual habitats and species found in the region.
  • Ecological Characterization of the Pacific Northwest Coastal Region (Proctor)) 1980 (Docs I 49.2 Ec7/8) Five-volume survey prepared for the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service. Contains an extensive summary of habitats and species found in the region.
  • Summary of Knowledge of the Central and Northern California Coastal Zone and Offshore Area (Winzler & Kelly Consulting Engineers) 1977 (ref GB 458.8 W56) Extensive survey of the knowledge of this area up through 1974 compiled for the Bureau of Land Management. Contains an 800-page bibliography.
  • Summary of Knowledge of the Oregon and Washington Coastal Zone and Offshore Areas(Oceanographic Institute of Washington) 1977 (also available in microfiche MC 1473) Extensive survey of the knowledge of this area up through 1977 compiled for the Bureau of Land Management.
  • Western Lake Survey: Characteristics of Lakes in the Western United States (US Environmental Protection Agency) Vol. 1 Population description and physio-chemical relationships;Vol. 2 Data compendium for selected physical and chemical variables (Docs EP 1.23:600/3-86-054)
• Species
  • Fishbase (International Center for Living Aquatic Resources Management) This major database contains the equivalent of 20 encyclopedia volumes on the distribution, ecology, population dynamics, reproduction, genetics, morphology and physiology of 31,000 finfish species. The database includes 50,000 pictures and 45,000 references. One can search by common names, scientific names, or from a glossary of subject keywords. One can also locate information for general topics and by country.
  • LarvalBase: Global Information System about FishLarvae (German Ministery for Economic Cooperation and Development) Database containing information on 600 fish larvae. Should be used in conjunction with FishBase. Information provided includes basic taxonomic information, distribution, adult biology, and other topics relating to development and growth of eggs and larvae. The database includes 600 pictures and 700 literature references. One can search by common name, scientific name, or from a glossary of subject keywords. One can also search by general topic.
  • Pacific Salmon Literature Compilation, 1900-59 (Microfiche MC 65) and Salmonid Literature Compilation, 1960-64 (microfiche MC 1262) 2500 scientific publications on salmonids are analyzed and coded according to an outline of subject categories. Individual pages of text from these publications are then reproduced on microfiche and filed according to the subject categories.The Guide to the Literature on Systematic Biology of Pacific Salmon (Docs C 55.13:NMFS-SSRF- 209) lists the 1406 publications in the 1900-59 compilation. The Guide to the Salmonid Literature Compilation, 1960-1964 (micro MC 1262) lists the 1086 articles that have been analyzed as well as the subject classification system used. For additional information see the comparison table Salmonid Literature Compilations.
  • U.S. National Marine Fisheries Service Administrative Record (Documents Collection)

    Collections of administrative records and scientific research compiled by the NMFS for use in its review in endangered species status reviews and recovery planning. A print index is available to the materials included in each collection. The University of Washington Fisheries and Oceanography Library also maintains Indexes to Administrative Records for Pacific Salmon. The HSU Library has the following collections:

    • Administrative Record: West Coast Steelhead
    • Administrative Record: West Coast Coho Salmon
    • Administrative Record: West Coast Chinook

Back to the Top

Two older guides to taxonomic works are the "Pisces" section IN Guide to Taxonomic Literature of Vertebrates (Blackwelder) 1972 (ref QL 607 B53) and Annotated List of Keys and Identification Aids for California Marine Fishes (Fitch) 1966 (ref QL 623.4 F58).

• Monographs and Keys
  •  Catalog of the Species of Fishes (Eschmeyer) 1998 (print copy also available in ref QL 618 C38 1998) First treatment of all described fishes since Linnaeus in 1758; contains 53,500 described species and subspecies of fishes.
  • Classification of Fishes, both Recent and Fossil (Berg) 1947 (QL 618 B4) Classic work on fish taxonomy.
  • The Early Stages of Fishes of the California Current Region (Moser) 1996 (CALCOFI Atlas #33) (ref QL 628 C2 E27 1996) Extensively illustrated taxonomic guide to the eggs and lavae of 467 fish species in 141 families that are found in the California Current region extending from the tip of Baja California to the northern California border. Morphological tables and illustrations are used as a basis for identification. Each family section includes basic information on the distribution, morphology, ecology and reproduction of adults followed by a section on general characteristics of lavae and eggs. Species descriptions include information and illustrations on meristics, life history, relevant literature, early life history description and morphometrics.
  • FAO Species Catalogue (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations) (FAO Fisheries Synopsis #125) (print copies also available in SH 1 F875#125) Series of annotated and illustrated catalogs of major groups of marine organisms important in marine fisheries, e.g., gadiform fishes, groupers, sharks. Keys are given to species. Each species entry includes information on nomenclature, diagnostic features, geographical distribution, habitat & biology, size, and interest to fisheries.
  • Fishes of the World (Nelson) 1994 (ref QL 618 N4 1994) Systematic description of fish orders, families and subfamilies. Most accounts include a line drawing, description, distribution, list of genera, and references to relevant taxonomic literature.
  • Fishes of the World; A Key to Families and a Checklist (Lindberg) 1974 (ref QL 618 L5513)
  • Freshwater Fish Distribution (Berra) 2001 (ref QL 624 B47 2001) Includes details on the classification, identification and distribution of 170 families of fish. For each family includes a worldwide distribution map.
  • Freshwater Fishes of the World (Sterba) 1962 (ref QL 624 S713 1966)
  • The Genera of Fishes, and A Classification of Fishes (Jordan) 1963 (QL 618 J73) Reprint of Jordan's two classic works published between 1917 and 1923. The reprint edition includes a comprehensive index.
  •  Inland Fishes of California (Moyle) 2002 (ref QL 628 C2 M68 2002) Authoritative work on the freshwater and anadromous fish of California that provides a taxonomic key, information on the ecology of California's six major drainages and species accounts for 132 fish species, both native and exotic. Each illustrated species account includes information on systematics, distribution, life history, status and management, and bibliographic references.
  • Pacific Fishes of Canada (Hart) 1973 (Fisheries Research Board of Canada Bulletin #180) (SH 223 A344 #180) Contains descriptions, life history, distribution, place in economy, utilization, and references for each species of fish found in marine waters off the Canadian coast. Analytical keys for all species are provided, and stipple drawings.
  • Parasites of North American Freshwater Fishes (Hoffman) 1999 (SH 175 H6 1999)
  • Synopsis and Classification of Living Organisms (Parker) 1982 (ref QH 83 S89)
• Checklists
  • Annotated Checklists of Fishes (California Academy of Sciences) Ongoing journal that attempts to provide the most up-to-date taxonomic treatment of each family of Recent fishes. Experts in a taxonomic group use information from the Catalog of Fishes database maintained by the academy along with their own records to identify available scientific names that have not yet been assigned as valid names or synonyms. The checklists are available as pdf files and are organized sequentially, phylogenetically and alphabetically.
  • Resource Inventory of Marine and Estuarine Fishes of the West Coast and Alaska: a Checklist of North Pacific and Arctic Ocean Species from Baja California to the Alaska - Yukon Border (Love, Mecklenburg, Mecklenburg and Thornsteinson) 2005. Comprehensive list of 1,450 fish species that have been observed in the marine and estuarine waters from the U. S. - Canadian border in the Beaufort Sea to Cabo San Lucas, Baja California and out about 300 miles from shore. Data recorded for each species includes common name, maximum size, geographic range,depth range and appropriate references. Organized by family with a species index..
  • Checklist of Parasites of California, Oregon, and Washington Marine and Estuarine Fishes(Love and Moser) 1983 (Love) 1983 (Docs C55.13 NMFS SSRF 777) (NOAA Technical Report NMFS SSRF 777) Summary of published records of parasites found in marine and estuarine fishes of California, Oregon and Washington. Includes host-parasite and parasite-host lists.
  •  Common and Scientific Names of Fishes from the United States and Canada (American Fisheries Society) 2004 (ref QL 618 A48) Checklist of common and scientific names for 3,700 described and taxonomically valid fish species living in fresh and marine waters of North America.
  • Dictionary of Fish Names in Nine Languages (Jonsson) Includes scientific and common names
  • "Native Freshwater Fishes of North America" (Mayden, Burr, Page, & Miller) IN Systematics, Historical Ecology and North American Freshwater Fishes (Mayden) 1992 (QL 625 S87 1992)
  • World Fishes Important to North Americans (American Fisheries Society) 1991 (ref QL 618 W67 1991) Lists standardized common and scientific names of all species not native to North America.
• Field Guides
  • International Field Guides (Schmidt) Includes annotations for over 5500 field guides covering plants, animals, rocks, minerals, astronomy and weather. Browse by broad taxonomic category or search by keyword.
  • Field Guides (eNature.com) Identification guide to 5,500 plant and animal species in North America derived from 35 Audubon Society field guides. Each species entry includes a large thumbnail image, description, habitat, range and varying additional information depending upon the species, e.g., an audio file. Select from 13 major groups of organisms (e.g., mammals, amphibians, fishes, trees, etc.) Within each group browse by broad types of organisms in the group; search by scientific or common name; or conduct an advanced search by size, color, habitat, region, and other options unique to each each group.
  • Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Fishes, Whales and Dolphin (Boschung, Williams, Gotshell, & Others) 1983 (QL 625 A93 1983.
  • Deep-Water Fishes of California (Fitch & Lavenberg) 1968 (QL 628 C2 F5)
  • Field Guide to Atlantic Coast Fishes of North America (Robins & Ray) 1986 (QL 621.5 R63 1986)
  • Field Guide to Freshwater Fishes, North America North of Mexico (Page & Burn) 1991 (ref QL 627 P34 1991)
  • Field Guide to Pacific Coast Fishes of North America from the Gulf of Alaska to Baja California(Eschmeyer & Herald) 1983 (ref QL 623.4 E83 1983) Identifies over 500 species of fish found along the Pacific Coast. Arranged in systematic order with color and black-and-white illustrations of fish in a separate section.
  • Freshwater Fishes of California (McGinnis) 1984 (QL 628 C2 M37 1984)
  • Guide to the Coastal Marine Fishes of California (Miller & Lea) 1972 (Fish Bulletin #157)(print copy available in Cal Doc F 650 F5 #157) Identification guide to the 554 fish found in California marine waters.
  • Guide to the Fishes of Humboldt Bay (Fritzsche and Cavanagh) Provides a brief description of the fishes that have been recorded from Humboldt Bay and is intended to be an identification guide to those fishes. The fishes are presented in phylogenetic order. Scientific and common names are given for each species along with diagnostic characteristics, life history notes, distribution within the bay, geographic range, approximate maximum size, and color photograph if available.
  • Laboratory Guide to the Early Life History Stages of Northeast Pacific Fishes (Matarese and others) 1989 (Docs C 55.13 NMFS 80) Laboratory guide presents taxonomic information on eggs and larvae of fishes of the northeast Pacific Ocean (north of California) and the eastern Bering Sea.
  • Tidepool and Nearshore Fishes of California (Fitch & Lavenberg) 1975 (QL 628 C2 F55)

Back to the Top

Handbooks and manuals typically fall into two basic categories--1) works that contain data and descriptive information compiled from the "primary" literature and organized into tables or expository articles that can be used to answer many basic and factual questions; and 2) works that contain procedures for experimental analysis in the field or laboratory. Fisheries Techniques (Murphy & Willis) 1996 (SH 332 F575 1996) is the major resource to techniques used in fisheries.

• Analysis and Interpretation of Freshwater Fisheries Data (Guy and Brown) 2007 (SH 331.5 S74 A53 2007) Reference for professional fisheries professionals on sample design, analysis, and interpretation of freshwater fisheries data. Chapters are organized by fisheries data types, including recruitment, mortality, biotelemetry, habitat, and predator-prey interactions.
• Annotated Bibliography of Selected Guides for Stream Habitat Improvement in the Pacific Northwest (Keim et al) 2004 (Oregon State University. College of Forestry. Research Contribution #44) (print copy available in SD 144.A13 R4) Reviews 11 guides to stream habitat improvement so that readers can find literature appropriate to their needs. All reviews begin with summaries of the contents, stated audiences, and goals of each guide. Reviews also include subjective comments on the strengths and weaknesses of each guide.
• Aquaculture Desk Reference (Creswell) 1993 (SH 135 C74 1993)
• Aquatic Habitat Assessment: Common Methods (Bain & Stevenson) 1999 (QH 541.5 F7 A59 1999) Sixteen chapters detail step-by-step procedures for inland aquatic habitat assessment - regional setting, basin attributes, waterbody identification, stream reaches, macrohabitat, substrate, cover and refuge, bank condition, riparian vegetation, barriers, stream discharge and volume, water velocity, temperature, lake morphometry, and optical and chemical properties. They represent a synthesis of the most widely used aquatic habitat assessment techniques in North America.
• Assessing the Sustainability and Biological Integrity of Water Resources using Fish Communities(Simon) 1999 (QH 96.8 B5 A77 1999)
• Biological Assessment and Criteria: Tools for Water Resource Planning and Decision Making (Davis & Simon) 1995 (QH 96.8 B5 B54 1995)
• Biological Monitoring of the Environment: A Manual of Methods (Salanki) 1994 (QH 541.15 M64 B565 1994)
• Biological Monitoring of Fish (Hocutt & Stauffer) 1980 (SH 174 B55)
• Biological Sampling Manual for Salmonids: A Standard Approach for the Pacific Region (Shaw) 1994 (Canadian Technical Report of Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences #1998) (SH 223 A349 #1998)
• Biological Surveillance of Rivers: A Biological Monitoring Handbook (Hellawell) 1978 (QH 96.8 B5 H44)
• California Salmonid Stream Habitat Restoration Manual (Flosi) 1998 (1994 edition available in QL 638 S2 F56 1994)
• Channel Assessment Procedure Field Guidebook (British Columbia Ministry of Forests) 1996
• Design and Analysis Methods for Fish Survival Experiments Based Upon Release-Recapture (Burnham) 1987 (print copy available in SH 173 D47 1987) Related software is available from Colorado State University.
• Environmental Monitoring and Assessment Program (US Environmental Protection Agency) (Docs EP 1.23/5:600/4-90/030 microfiche)
  • EMAP Laboratory Methods Manual - Estuaries Vol. 1 Biological and Physical Analyses (Strobel, Klemm, Lobring, & Others) 1995 (EPA/620/R-95/008) (microfiche copy also available in Docs EP 1.23/5/620/R-95/008)
  • Environmental Monitoring and Assessment Program - Surface Waters: Field Operations Manual for Lakes (Baker, Peck, & Sutton) 1997 (EPA/620/R-97/001) (Docs EP 1.23/5:620/R-97/001 microfiche)
  • Environmental Monitoring and Assessment Program-Surface Waters: Field Operations and Methods for Measuring the Ecological Condition of Non-Wadeable Rivers and Streams (Lazorchak, Hill, Averill, Peck, and Klemm) 2000
  • Environmental Monitoring and Assessment Program - Surface Waters: Field Operations and Methods for Measuring the Ecological Condition of Wadeable Streams (Lazorchak, Klemm, & Peck) 1998 (EPA/620/R-94/004F) (Docs EP 1.23/5:620/R-94/004F microfiche)
  • Quantifying Physical Habitat in Wadeable Streams (Kaufmann) 1999 (EPA/620/R99/03) (microfiche copy available in Docs EP 1.23/6:620/R-99/003) Describes concepts, rationale, and analytical procedures for characterizing physical habitat in wadeable streams.
• EPA Region 10 In-stream Biological Monitoring Handbook (for wadable streams in the Pacific Northwest) (Hayslip) 1993 (QH 90.57 B5 F63 1993) Presents a minimal set of methods that can be used to conduct biological assessments of wadable streams in EPA Region 10. Supplements Rapid Bioassessment Protocols for Use in Streams and Wadeable River: Periphyton, Benthic Macroinvertebrates, and Fish.
• Field Manual for the Investigation of Fish Kills (Meyer & Barclay) 1990 (USFWS Resource Publication #177) (Docs I 49.66:177)
• Field Methods and Statistical Analyses for Monitoring Small Salmonid Streams (Armour, Burnham and Platts) 1983 (Docs I 49.89: 83-33) (US Fish and Wildlife Service OBS-83/33) Contains information pertaining to monitoring programs that can be used to evalute the effects of land use practices on small salmonid streams in the Western United States.
• Fish Field and Laboratory Methods for Evaluating the Biological Integrity of Surface Waters (Klemm) 1993 (EPA/600/R-92/111) (microfiche copy available in Docs EP 1.23/6:600/R-92/111 microfiche)
• Fish Hatchery Manual (Piper, McElwain, Orne, McCraren, Fowler, & Leonard) 1982 (Docs I 49.2 H28/3)
• Fisheries Handbook of Engineering Requirements and Biological Criteria (Bell) 1984 (Docs D 103.6/5: F53/3)
•  Fisheries Techniques (Murphy & Willis) 1996 (SH 332 F575 1996) Published by the American Fisheries Society comprehensive reference volume of modern sampling and data collection methods in fisheries science for students and professionals. Supercedes Fisheries Techniques (Nielson & Johnson) 1983 (SH 332 F55).
• Freshwater Biomonitoring and Benthic Macroinvertebrates (Rosenberg & Resh) 1993 (QH 96.8 B5 F75 1993)
• Guide to Effective Monitoring of Aquatic and Riparian Resources (Kershner) 2004 (USFS General Technical Report RMRS-121) (print copy available in Docs A 13.88: RMSR-121) Monitoring plan for aquatic and riparian resources that was developed in response to needs addressed in the Biological Opinions for bull trout, salmon and steelhead. It provides a consistent framework for implementing the effectiveness monitoring of aquatic and riparian resources within the range of the Pacific Anadromous Fish Strategy (PACFISH) and the Inland Fish Strategy (INFISH). Includes sampling protocols for stream channel parameters and vegetation parameters.
• Guidelines for Sampling Fish in Inland Waters (Welcomme & Backiel) 1980 (EIFAC Technical Paper #33) (SH 1 E87 #33)
• Handbook for Protection of Fish & Wildlife from Construction of Farm and Forest Roads (Hynson) 1982 (FWS/OBS-82/18) (Docs I 49.89:82/18)
• Handbook of Common Methods in Limnology (Lind) 1985 (QH 96.57 A1 L55 1985)
• Handbook of Fish Biology and Fisheries (Hart and Reynolds) 2002 (QH 615 H36 2002) Two volume work provides an overview of fish biology together with the science that supports fisheries management and conservation.
• Handbook of Limnology (Schwoenbel) 1987 (QH 96 S2913 1987)
• Handbook of Parametric & Nonparametric Statistical Procedures (Sheskin) 2000 (QA 276.25 S54 2000)
• Handbook of Sampling and Sample Preservation of Water and Wastewater (US Environmental Protection Agency) 1982 (EPA 600/4-82-029) (Docs EP 1.23/5:600/4-82-029)
• Identification Sheets for Diseases and Parasites of Fish and Shellfish (International Council for the Exploration of the Sea) (SH 171 F46)
• Inland Fisheries Management (California Department of Fish & Game) 1966 (Cal Docs F 650 I45) Compilation of information and data on California freshwater fish.
• Inventory and Monitoring of Wildlife Habitat (US Bureau of Land Management) 1986 (Docs I 53.2: In 8/3)
• Laboratory Guide to Early Life History Stages of Northeast Pacific Fishes (Matarese) 1989 (NOAA Technical Report NMFS #80) (Docs C55.13:NMFS-80)
• Limnological Analyses (Wetzel & Likens) 1991 (QH 96.57 A1 W48 1991)
• Macroinvertebrate Field and Laboratory Methods for Evaluating the Biological Integrity of Surface Waters (Klemm, Lewis, Fulk, & Lazorchak) 1990 (EPA-600-4-90-030) (Docs EP 1.23/5:600/4-90/030 microfiche)
• Management and Techniques for Riparian Restorations: Roads Field Guide (Roads/Riparian Restoration Team) 2002 (USFS General Technical Report RMRS-102) (print copy available in Docs A 13.88: RMRS-102) Two-volume field guide presents in a practical, user friendly format evaluation and monitoring strategies that can be used in riparian restoration near roads. The field guide covers riparian area considerations, monitoring, planning projects, laws and regulations, and field techniques.
• Management of Wildlife and Fish Habitats on Forests of Western Oregon and Washington (US Forest Service) (Docs A 13.2 W6417)
• Manual of Fisheries Science Part 1: An Introduction to Fisheries Science; Part 2: Methods of Resource Investigation and their Application (Food & Agriculture Organization) 1973-74 (FAO Fisheries Technical Paper #115, #118) (SH 1 F203 #115 #118)
• Manual of Methods in Aquatic Environmental Research. Parts 1-5 (Food & Agriculture Organization) (FAO Fisheries Technical Papers #137, #150, #158, #164, #182) (SH 1 F203)
• Manual of Stream Channelization Impacts on Fish and Wildlife (Simpson) 1982 (FWS/OBS-82/24) (Docs I 49.89:82/24)
• Manual on Methods for Measuring Primary Production in Aquatic Environments (Vollenweider) 1974 (QH 96 V56 1974)
• Manual on Methods for the Assessment of Secondary Productivity in Fresh Waters (Edmondson) 1984 (QH 541.3 M35 1984)
• Materials and Methods used in Marking Experiments in Fishery Research (Jones) 1979 (FAO Fisheries Technical Paper #190) (SH 1 F203 #190)
• Methods and Measurements of Periphyton Communities: A Review (Weitzel) 1979 (QK 570.25 M47)
• Methods for Assessment of Fish Production in Freshwaters (Bagenal) 1978 (QL 615 M44 1978)
• Methods for Evaluating Riparian Habitats with Application to Management (Platts) 1987 (USFS General Technical Report INT-221) (Docs A 13.88:INT-221)
• Methods for Evaluating Stream, Riparian, and Biotic Conditions (Platts) 1982 (USFS General Technical Report INT-138) (Docs A 13.88:INT-138)
• Methods for Fish Biology (Schreck & Moyle) 1990 (QL 618.5 M47 1990)
• Methods for Measuring the Acute Toxicity of Effluents and Receiving Waters to Freshwater & Marine Organisms (US Environmental Protection Agency) 1991 (Docs EP 1.23/5:600/4-90-027)
• Methods for Measuring the Acute Toxicity of Effluents to Freshwater and Marine Organisms (Peltier & Weber) 1985 (EPA 600/4-85-013) (Docs EP 1.23/5:600/4-85-013)
• Methods for Measuring the Acute Toxicity of Effluents and Receiving Waters to Freshwater and Marine Organisms (Weber) 1991 (EPA 600-4-90-027) (microfiche copy also available in Docs EP 1.23/5:600/4-90/027 microfiche) Describes acute toxicity tests for use in the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination (NPDES) Permits Program. Contains specified test conditions for 10 commonly used freshwater and marine organisms.
• Methods for the Microbiological Examination of Fish and Shellfish (Austin) 1989 (QR 118 M48 1989)
• Methods in Stream Ecology (Hauer & Lamberti) 2007 (QH 541.5 S7 M47 2007)
• Methods of Hydrobiology (Freshwater Biology) (Schwoerbel) 1970 (QH 96 S313 1970)
• Methods to Estimate Aquatic Habitat Variables (Hamilton & Bergersen) 1984 (Docs I 27.19/2:Ag3/2) Describes methods for measuring physico-chemical features of the aquatic habitat required by Habitat Suitability Indexes.
• Monitoring Guidelines to Evaluate Effects of Forestry Activities on Streams in the Pacific Northwest and Alaska (MacDonald, Smart and Wismarr) 1991 (EPA 910/9-91-001)
• Monitoring Vertebrate Populations (Thompson, White, & Gowan) 1998 (QL 607.6 T48 1998)
• National Wild Fish Health Survey Laboratory Procedures Manual (True) 2004 Describes the procedures and protocols used in the USFWS National Wild Fish Health Survey. It is intended for use by USFWS Fish Health Centers, but may also be helpful to fishery professionals, the technically oriented fishery industry, and students of biological or fishery sciences. 
• National Enviromental Methods Index (US Environmental Protection Agency) Database of analytical, test, and sampling methods for environmental monitoring that are used by federal agencies. Search by analyte, instrument, source, medium and other parameters.
• National Water-Quality Assessment (NAWQA) Method and Guideline Protocols (US Geological Survey) Includes method, sampling, and analytical protocols; and biological sampling, habitat, and laboratory protocols.
• Oregon Road/Stream Crossing Restoration Guide (Robison, Mirati, & Allen) 1999
• R1/R4 (Northern/Intermountain Regions) Fish and Fish Habitat Standard Inventory Procedures Handbook(Overton, Wollrab, Roberts, & Radko) 1997 (USFS General Technical Report INT-346) (print copy available in Docs A 13.88 INT-346)
• Rapid Bioassessment Protocols for Use in Streams and Wadeable River: Periphyton, Benthic Macroinvertebrates, and Fish (Barbour, Gerritsen, Snyder, & Stribling) 1999 (EPA 841-B-99-002) (microfiche copy also available in Docs EP 2.2:B52/5 microfiche)
• The Rivers Handbook: Hydrological and Ecological Principles (Calow & Petts) 1992-94 (GB 1203.2 R58) Provides information on how to successfully plan and and implement a soil bioengineering project, including the application of soil bioengineering techniques.
• Soil Bioengineering Guide for Streambank and Lakeshore Stabilization (Eubanks) 2002 (print copy available in Docs A 13.36/2:SO3
• Standard Methods for Sampling North American Freshwater Fishes (Bonar, Hubert, and Willis) 2009. Standard sampling methods recommended by the American Fisheries Society for assessing and monitoring freshwater fish populations in North America. Methods apply to ponds, reservoirs, natural lakes, and streams and rivers containing cold and warmwater fishes.
• Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater (American Public Health Association) (QD 142 A51)
• Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater: Including Bottom Sediments and Sludges (American Public Heath Association) 1995 (QD 142 A5)
• Standard Techniques for Pelagic Fish Egg and Larva Surveys (Smith & Richardson) 1977 (FAO Fisheries Technical Paper #175) (print copy available in SH 1 F203 #175)
• Stream Channel Reference Sites: An Illustrated Guide to Field Technique (Harrelson, Rawlins, and Potyondy) 1994 (USFS General Technical Report RM-245) (print copy available in Docs A 13.88: RM-245) Describes procedures for establishing permanent channel reference sites including selecting and mapping a site, measuring channel cross-sections, surveying a longitudinal profile, identifying bankfull stage, and measuring streamflow and bed material.
• Stream Corridor Restoration: Principles, Processes, and Practices (Federal Interagency Stream Corridor Restoration Working Group) (print copy also available in Docs A 57.6/2:EN 3/PT.653)
• Stream Habitat Restoration Guidelines (Washington State Aquatic Habitat Guidelines Program) 2004
• Stream Temperature Investigation: Field and Analytical Methods (Bartholow) 1989 (Instream Flow Information Paper #13) (Docs I 49.89/2:89(17))
• Surveys of Fisheries Resources (Gunderson) 1993 (SH 327.5 G86 1993)
• Techniques for Conducting a Stream Habitat Survey on National Resource Lands (Duff) 1976 (Docs I 53.20: 283) (US Bureau of Land Management Technical Note 283)
• Techniques of Water Resources Investigations (US Geological Survey) (Docs I 19.15/5) Series of manuals describing procedures for planning and conducting water-resources investigations. See Publications on Techniques of Water-Resources Investigations for a list of available manuals. Sections of particular interest to fisheries include:
  • Methods for Collection and Analysis of Aquatic Biological and Microbiological Samples (Britton & Greeson) 1988. Book 5, Chapter A4.
  • National Field Manual for the Collection of Water-Quality Data (USGS) 1997-1998. Book 9 Chapters A1-A9
• Volunteer Stream Monitoring: A Methods Manual (US Environmental Protection Agency)
• Western Reservoir and Stream Habitat Improvements Handbook (US Fish & Wildlife Service) 1987 (FWS/OBS 78/56) (Docs I 49.6/2:W52)
• Wildlife and Fisheries Habitat Improvement Handbook (Payne & Copes) 1988 (Docs A 13.36/2:W64/6)

Back to the Top

General

For general legal resources in the HSU Library see Legal Research: Secondary Legal Sources & Finding Tools and Environmental/Natural Resources Law. The following are more specialized resources that focus on fisheries:

• Anadromous Fish Law Memo (print copy available in KF 1772.8 C65 A132)
• "Legal Considerations in Inland Fisheries Management" (Lamb & Lybecker) IN Inland Fisheries Management in North America (Kohlert & Hubert) 1999 (SH 328 I 54 1999)
• Ocean and Coastal Law Memo (University of Oregon. School of Law. Coastal and Ocean Law Center) (print copy available in JX 4419 03)

Federal Laws and Regulations

Federal statutory, case and administrative legal resources available in the HSU Library are listed in the guide Legal Research: Federal & California Primary Legal Sources . The following are more specialized resources that focus on fisheries:

• Compilation of Selected Acts Concerning Marine Resources Including Fisheries, with Amendments through the End of the 106th Congress (U.S. House of Representatives. Committee on Resources) 2001 (Committee Print 107-E) (microfiche copy available in Docs Y4 R31/3:107-E fiche)
• Digest of Federal Resource Laws (US Fish & Wildlife Service) Comprehensive listing and description of federal authorities under which the Fish and Wildlife Service functions; including Administrative Laws, Treaties, Executive Orders, Interstate Compacts and Memoranda of Agreement
• Federal Wildlife Laws Handbook, with Related Laws (University of New Mexico. School of Law. Center for Wildlife Law) 1998 (Ref KF 5640 F43 1998) Table of Contents and Chapter 4. Statute Summaries are available online
• Fishery, Aquaculture, and Marine Mammal Legislation in the ... Congress (Congressional Research Service) Issue Brief updated during each session of Congress.
• Marine Mammal Commission Compendium of Selected Treaties, International Agreements, & Other Relevant Documents on Marine Resources, Wildlife & the Environment (Wallace)1994-2000 (print copy available in Docs Y 3 M33/3:2 T71)
• Summaries of Major Laws Implemented by the National Marine Fisheries Service (Congressional Research Service)

California Laws and Regulations

California statutory, case and administrative legal resources available in the HSU Library are listed in the guide Legal Research: Federal & California Primary Legal Sources . The following are more specialized resources that focus on fisheries:

• California Fish & Game Code (California Department of Fish & Game) annual (print copy available in Cal Doc L400 F1c)

• Other States
  • State Statutes on the Internet: Fish and Game (Cornell Law School. Legal Information Institute)
  • State Wildlife Laws Handbook (University of New Mexico. School of Law. Center for Wildlife Law) 1993. Table of contents and state summaries are available online
• International
  • FISHLEX, a Database on Coastal State Requirements for Foreign Fishing (Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Legal Office) Series of tables summarizing the provisions of national legislation and of bilateral and multilateral agreements governing foreign fishing in waters under national jurisdiction.
  • FAOLEX (Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Legal Office) Database of treaties, laws, and regulations on food, agriculture, and renewable natural resources contributed by member countries.
  • International Fisheries Law and Policy Portal

Back to the Top

The following sources are useful guides to locating geospatial resources:

• Fish and Aquatic Resources Data Access Wizard (National Biological Information Infrastructure) Discover and access fisheries -related geospatial data.
• Geospatial Resources (HSU Library) Categorized list of print and digital geospatial resources available in the HSU Library or on the Internet

Some geospatial resources of special interest to fisheries include:

• California --See California Maps - Wildlife - General and California Maps - Wildlife - Fish
• Other Locations
  • Alaska's Fisheries Atlas (Alaska Department of Fish & Game) 1978 (atlas G 1531 L2 A5)
  • AquaMaps Contains distribution maps for 9,000 species of fishes, marine mammals and invertebrates that have been generated using a computer model for the large-scale prediction of the currently known natural occurrence of marine species.
  • Atlas and Zoography of Common Fishes in the Bering Sea and Northeastern Pacific (Allen & Smith) 1988 (NOAA Technical Report NMFS 66) (Docs C 55.13:NMFS66) Covers 124 fish species from the northeastern Pacific. Each species account includes a distribution map with depth information; brief survey of the literature reporting on distribution; and conclusions on zoogeography, life zone, range and depth.
  • Atlas of North American Freshwater Fishes (Lee, Gilbert, Hocatt & Others) 1980 (ref QL 625 A84)
  • Atlas of Tuna and Billfish Catches (Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations)
  • East Coast of North America Strategic Assessment Project Groundfish Atlas (US National Marine Fisheries Service and Canada Department of Fisheries and Oceans) Includes distribution maps for 99 groundfish species off the east coast of North America.
  • Ecological Inventory Map Series (US Fish and Wildlife Service) 1980-1982 (Docs I 49.6/5: Ec7) On a 1:250,000 USGS map base the distribution of fish, wildlife, and plant species along the coastal areas of the conterminous 48 states are depicted. Species with special status are shown in red. Some land use and land cover designations are also shown. There are a total of 79 maps issued in four series: Atlantic Coast, Gulf Coast, Lower Mississippi Basin, and Pacific Coast. Each series includes an accompanying "Users Guide and Informative Base" report that provides detailed explanations and additional technical information about the ecological data plotted on the maps.
  • ESA Salmon Listing Maps (US National Marine Fisheries Service, Northwest Region) Includes range-wide and detailed "evolutionary significant unit" maps and GIS data layers for marine and anadromous fishes under the Endangered Species Act.
  • Freshwater Fish Distribution (Berra) 2001 (ref QL 624 B47 2001) Includes details on the classification, identification and distribution of 170 families of fish. For each family includes a worldwide distribution map.
  • Maps and GIS Data (Streamnet) Interactive mapping applications provide an easy way for you to find, query and display fisheries information for the Pacific Northwest.

Back to the Top

One can use a combination of general and specialized Internet search engines to find images on the web. SeeImages for a list of specialized search engines. However, search engines fail to index the content of the "invisible web", especially information contained within databases. The following sources are either specialized databases or sites devoted to images or sounds in fisheries.

• American Field Guide (Oregon Public Broadcasting and PBS) Includes over 1400 videos on the American environment produced by 30 PBS stations. Search by keyword or browse by one of the broad categories--animals, ecosystems, human history, livelihoods, earth and space, plants, public policy and recreation.
• Fish Pics Database (UC Santa Barbara. Marine Science Institute) Contains photos of Pacific Coast fishes from Alaska to Baja California.
• FishBase. Included within the database are over 45,000 photos and sketches of fish.
• Freshwater and Marine Image Bank (University of Washington Libraries) 18th and 19th century digital collection of images related to freshwater and marine topics.
• National Digital Library (US Fish & Wildlife Service) Contains imges of fish and wildlife, environmental scenes, and conservation issues.
• NOAA Photo Library: Fisheries (NOAA)

Back to the Top

Environmental reviews contain analysis of environmental issues and frequently contain statistical data. For more encompassing reviews see the Environmental Reviews listed in the HSU Library Environmental Science research guide. Reviews, assessments, and plans specific to fisheries include:

• United States
  • America's Living Oceans: Charting a Course for Sea Change (Pew Oceans Commission) 2003 (cd-rom containing all the documents is available in GC 1020 P48 2003) Contains a final report on the State of America's Oceans; recommendations for implementation; and supporting reports on Managing Marine Fisheries in the United States, A Dialogue on America’s Fisheries, Socioeconomic Perspectives on Marine Fisheries in the United States, Marine Reserves: A Tool for Ecosystem Management and Conservation, Ecological Effects of Fishing, Coastal Sprawl, Marine Pollution, Marine Aquaculture and Introduced Species.
  • Aquaculture Outlook (US Department of Agriculture Economic Research Service)
  • Audubon Wildlife Report (National Audubon Society) 1985-1989 (ref QL 84.2 A9)
  • Conservation Status of Imperiled North American Freshwater and Diadromous Fishes (Jelks and others) Fisheries 33(8): 372-407, 2008. Third compilation of imperiled (i.e., endangered, threatened, vulnerable) plus extinct freshwater and diadromous fishes of North America prepared by the American Fisheries Society’s Endangered Species Committee. Previous lists appeared in 1989 and 1979.
  • Diversity, distribution, and conservation status of the native freshwater fishes of the southern United States (Warren and others) Fisheries 25(10):7-29, 2000.
  • Endangered Species Recovery Plans (US Fish & Wildlife Service) Contains the fulltext in pdf format of over 700 final and revised recovery plans issued since 1989.
  • Fish and other aquatic resource trends in the United States: A technical document supporting the Forest Service 2010 RPA Assessment (Loftus and Flater) 2012 (USFS General Technical Report RMRS-283) Reports on the general trends in fisheries and aquatic resources for the nation as required by the Renewable Resources Planning Act (RPA) of 1974, including water quality, specific fish populations, resource utilization, and imperiled aquatic fauna.
  • Fisheries (Gordon) IN Natural Resources for the 21st Century (Sampson and Hair) 1990, pp 205-241 ( HC 103.7 N296 1990) Fisheries assessment at a conference sponsored by the American Forestry Association with many co-sponsors, including the American Fisheries Society.
  • In a Perfect Ocean: the State of Fisheries and Ecosystems in the North Atlantic Ocean(Maclean) 2003 (SH 213.2 P38 2003)
  • Marine Stocks at Risk of Extinction (American Fisheries Society) Lists 82 species or populations of marine fish stocks and species at risk of extinction in North American waters.
  • Our Living Oceans: Report on the Status of U.S. Living Marine Resources (US National Marine Fisheries Service) 1991- (print copy also available in Docs C55.13/2:NMFS-F/SPO #1 and later) Triennial report giving national and regional overviews on the status of fishery resources, marine mammals, and sea turtles.
  • Review of ... Ocean Salmon Fisheries (Pacific Fisheries Management Council) Annual (SH 348 R4)
  • State of the Coast (US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) Series of essays on the health of the coastal areas of the United States.
  • Status of Fishery Resources off the Northeastern United States (US National Marine Fisheries Service) Annual (Docs C55.13/2:NMFS-F/NEC #95 and following)
  • Status of Living Marine Resources off Alaska (US National Marine Fisheries Service) Annual (Docs C55.13/2:NMFS-F/NWC #211)
  • Status of Living Marine Resources off the Pacific Coast of the United States (US National Marine Fisheries Service) Annual (Docs C 55.13/2:NMFS-SWFC #165)
  • Status of the Pacific Coast Groundfish Fishery through ... (Pacific Fisheries Management Council) Annual (SH 348 P3)
  • Status and Trends of the Nation's Biological Resources 1998 (US Geological Survey Biological Resources Division) (print copy available in Docs I 19.202 ST1 and cd-rom in Docs I 19:120:ST1 CD) Large-scale assessment of the health of plants, animals, and ecosystems in the United States. In the two-volume set Part 1 describes the major factors affecting biodiversity and biological resource health, e.g., land use, climate change, nonindigenous species; and Part 2 explores the condition and status of regional biological resource, e.g., Pacific Northwest. Updates Our Living Resources: A Report to the Nation on the Distribution, Abundance, and Health of U.S. Plants, Animals and Ecosystems 1995 (US National Biological Service) (print copy available in Docs I 49.2 R31/15)
• California -- see California Environment Information Sources -- Wildlfe-- Fish
• World
  • Fishery and Aquaculture Country Profiles (Food & Agriculture Organization) Contains assessment of activities and trends in fisheries and aquaculture for 140 countries.
  • Review of the State of World Aquaculture (Food & Agriculture Organization) biennial (FAO Fisheries Circular No. 886)
  • Review of the State of World Fishery Resources: Inland Fisheries (Food & Agriculture Organization) biennial (FAO Fisheries Circular #942) (print copy also available in SH 1 F108 #942)
  • Review of the State of World Marine Fishery Resources (Food & Agriculture Organization) biennial (FAO Fisheries Technical Paper #457) (print copies also available in SH 1 F108 #884 and #920)
  • State of World Aquaculture (Food & Agriculture Organization) biennial (print copy also available in SH 1 F203 #500)
  • State of World Fisheries and Aquaculture (Food & Agriculture Organization) biennial (print copies also available in SH 328 S73) Consists of a world review and outlook for fisheries and aquaculture, special topics, and regional reviews.

Back to the Top

• Population Analysis Software Group (University of Manitoba)
• Software (U.S. Geological Survey. Fort Collins Software Center) Includes:
  • Habitat Evaluation Procedures (HEP) software
  • Habitat Suitability Index (HSI) software and a list of Habitat Suitability Index (HSI) Models is available. Print copies are available in Docs I 49.97.
  • Instream Flow Incremental Methodology software. For background information see Instream Flow Incremental Methodology: A Primer for IFIM and the the Instream Flow Information Papers (Docs I 49.83).
• Software Developed by the Department of Fishery and Wildlife Biology and Colorado Coop. Fish and Wildlife Unit (Colorado State University)
• Software Library (American Fisheries Society Fisheries Information and Technology Section)

Back to the Top

The following sources are useful guides to locating statistics:

• Fish Catch Statistics (California Explores the Oceans) Lists selected statistical resources on California fisheries, produced by Calif Dept of Fish & Game and various federal agencies, commissions, and councils, as well as other organizations.
• Fisheries and Aquatic Resources (FAR) Data Access Wizard (Penn State Institutes of Energy and the Environment and USGS NBII Program) Access fisheries-related data, most of which geospatial in nature. Data can be searched using keywords, geographic extent, and data providers.
• LexisNexis Statistical Insight (HSU Users only) (print American Statistics Index 1974-2000 available at Documents Index Table) Detailed index to statistical data published by federal, state and international agencies. Online version includes selective fulltext of the statistical tables.
• Guide to Sources for Fisheries Statistics (University of Washington Fisheries-Oceanography Library) Guide to print resources in the University of Washington Fisheries and Oceanography library and to Internet resources that include statistics at international, United States, regional and state/provincal levels.

Some print data compilations available in the HSU Library and on the Internet include:

• California --see California Environment Information Sources--Wildlife--Fish
• Pacific Northwest
  • Adult Fish Counts and Annual Fish Passage Report. Columbia & Snake Rivers for Salmon, Steelhead, & Shad (US Army Corps of Engineers) (Docs D 103.27) Daily and annual fish counts at 12 dam sites.
  • Fish Data (Streamnet) Containing 100,000 data items for the Pacific Northwest, this online query system allows one to generate a custom report based upon any combination of fish species, geographic areas, and data categories.
  • International North Pacific Fisheries Commission (Formed in 1952 and replaced in 1993 with the North Pacific Anadromous Fish Commission)
    • Statistical Yearbook Annual (SH 219.5.I5 A28) HSU Library has 1952-1963
    • Historical catch statistics for salmon of the North Pacific Ocean. 1979 (SH219.5.I5 A26 no.39)
  • North Pacific Anadromous Fish Commission. Statistical Yearbook Contains data of salmon catch, hatchery release, and other marine species catch in the North Pacific Ocean.
  • Pacific States Marine Fisheries Commission
    • Alaska Fisheries Information Network (AKFIN) Provides estimates of catch and prices for groundfish species by month, area, and gear type for Alaska.
    • Pacific Coast Fisheries Information Network (PacFIN) Provides estimates of catch and prices for fish species by month, area, and gear type for Oregon, Washington, and California.
  • Washington. Department of Fisheries
    • Fisheries Statistical Report
    • Washington State Sport Catch Report
• United States
  • Aquaculture Outlook (US Department of Agriculture. Economic Research Service) Annual report that provides statistics on production, inventory, sales, prices, inputs, and trade of catfish, trout, tilapia, salmon, mollusks, crawfish, shrimp, ornamental fish, and new species.
  • Fishing Statistics (American Sportfishing Association) Includes industry data, angler data, and special reports.
  • National Survey of Fishing, Hunting, and Wildlife-Associated Recreation (US Fish & Wildlife Service) (print copy available in Docs I 49.98/2) Survey conducted every five years that measures fishing and hunting activities, as well as wildlife watching activities.
  • U.S. Geological Survey
    • USGS Water Data for the Nation Database containing site-specific real time and historical surface water, ground water, and water quality records for the United States.
    • Water Resources Data Annual compilation of discharge, level, and water quality records for streams and wells. Arranged by state and drainage basin. Data compilations prior to 1961 are included in the US Geological Survey Water Supply Paper series. Surface water records extend back to 1899 and water quality records to 1941. See Water Supply Paper 2135 (Docs I 19.13:2135) for a listing of earlier reports. Print copies for California are available in Docs I 19.53/2 C12 from 1961 to the present. 
  • U.S. National Marine Fisheries Service
    • Current Fisheries Statistics (Docs C 55.309/2) Includes many subseries on Marine Recreational Fishery Statistics, Frozen Fishery Products, Fish Meal and Oil, Processed Fishery Products, Imports & Exports of Fishery Products
    • Fisheries of the United States Annual (Docs C 55.309/2-2) Preliminary report on commercial and recreational fisheries of the U.S. and foreign catches in the U.S. Exclusive Economic Zone. Includes statistics on world fish landings, and U.S. fish trade, prices, consumption, production of fishery products, and industry employment. Final data is published in Current Fisheries Statistics.
    • Fishery Statistics of the United States (Docs C 55.316) Detailed final statistical report on commercial fisheries of the U.S. Published 1939-1984. Prior to 1938 the annual Fishery Industries of the United States was published as an appendix to the Report of the Commissioner of Fisheries (Docs I 49.1).
    • Fishery Statistics and Economics. Statistical databases dealing with commercial fisheries (monthly landings, annual landings, landings by gear), fishery market news (prices), foreign trade (country, product), and recreational fisheries.
• International
  • FAO Yearbook: Fishery Statistics (Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations) (ref SH 1 Y4) Published in 2 parts: "Catches and Landings" and "Fishery Commodities." FAOSTAT FISHERIES DATA contains annual data from 1961 to the present on productivity and trade of primary fishery commodities and processed products.
  • Fisheries Yearly Statistics (Statistical Office of the European Communities) (SH 253 S7)
  • Review of Fisheries in OECD Member Countries (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) Annual/Biennial (SH 334 R3 )
  • Statistics(Canada Department of Fisheries and Oceans) - includes statistics on commercial and recreational fishing and trade

Back to the Top