Research Guides: GIS and Digital Spatial Data Research Guide: U.S. GIS Data

U.S. Census

EarthExplorer
(US Geological Survey) - Identify geospatial products available from the US Geological Survey including aerial photography, satellite imagery, digital orthophoto quads, digital line graphs, digital elevation models, digital raster graphics, and other map products. Determine spatial coverage by defining coverage on a map, entering geographic coordinates, or entering a place name.
GIS Spatial Data Clearninghouse Directory
(GISUser.com) - Lists GIS data nodes by state with an additional listing of Canadian sources.
Data.gov
(U.S. Federal Government) - Find datasets generated by U.S. Federal Government.
Geospatial and Attribute Links (U.S. and Canada)
(University of Arkansas Libraries) - Lists attribute and geospatial resources available at a national level and individually by state.
Maps & GIS Resources (United States, by State)
(University of Oregon Libraries) - Lists major data servers for each state.
GIS Inventory
(National States Geographic Information Council) - Gateway to state, county and city data.
EarthWorks
Sarch for GIS data online at EarthWorks, Stanford's cross institution geospatial discovery application

Data Basin
(Conservation Biology Institute) - Search for spatial datasets, maps, people and centers of expertise that focus on conservation. Datasets available for download.
Geospatial Data Gateway
(U.S.D.A. Natural Resources Conservation Service) - Includes data sets available from the USCA agencies, USGS and other sources.
GeoPlatform
(Federal Geographic Data Committee) - Provides common geospatial data, services and applications contributed by various federal sources and hosted on a shared infrastructure for use by government agencies and the public. Includes the ability to build your own map.
GIS Data Depot
(Geocommunity) - Includes GIS data for the individual countries, states and counties. Some data products are free (DEM, NWI, DLG, LU/LC, and TIGER). Other data products (DRG, DOQ, DOQQ, FEMA) are available for purchase at a nominal fee.
NationalAtlas.gov
(National Atlas of the United States) - Most map layers cover the full geographic extent of the United States.
Open Geoportal
(Open Geoportal Project) - Open source, federated web application to discover, preview, and retrieve data housed in geospatial respositories.
Tha National Map
(US Geological Survey) - Includes orthoimagery, elevation and land use datasets for the United States.
WebGIS
(Lakes Environmental Software) - Provides easy to use map interface for downloading DEMs, DLGs,and Land Use and Land Cover (LULC) data.