Research Guides: GIS and Digital Spatial Data Research Guide: Welcome

Workshops & Events

Welcome!

The Humboldt Data Hub (HDH)

The Humboldt Data Hub (HDH)
The HSU Data Hub contains a large number of data sets of location, regional, and global interest to HSU students and faculty.

Books & Library Catalogs

The Library Catalog lists all of the books videos and CDs at the Cal Poly Humboldt University Library.

A keyword search is usually the best way to begin. When you find items of interest, check the catalog records for subject headings or other terms to modify your search.

Reference Resources - Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Manuals

These are some examples of reference books at HSU on topics related to GIS and Geospatial Data. For additional help, please visit the Research Help Desk or Contact a Librarian:

Geographic Information Systems (2013): Concepts, methodologies, tools, and applications by IRMA International Staff (Editor)
Call Number: G70.212 .G4257 2013 Online

ISBN: 9781466620391

Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science by Karen K. Kemp (Editor)
Call Number: G70.212 .E53 2008

ISBN: 9781412913133

Publication Date: 2008
The ESRI Press Dictionary of GIS Terminology by ESRI Press Editors
Call Number: G70.212 .E87 2001

ISBN: 1879102781

Publication Date: 2001
Dictionary of Abbreviations and Acronyms in Geographic Information Systems, Cartography, and Remote Sensing by Hoehn & Larsgaard
Call Number: Online Resource
Manual of Geographic Information Systems by Marguerite Madden; American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: G70.212 .M358 2009

ISBN: 157083086X

Publication Date: 2009
ESRI GIS Dictionary by ESRI
Call Number: Online Resource

Online Research Help

Research Help
We have many ways to help you with your next project.
Online SkillShops
View the full list of hour-long tutorials designed to help you learn academic and professional skills, including research, citations, video projects and more.
Email A Question
Get help with your research questions through our email form.
Library FAQ
Frequently asked questions about the library and research.
Find A Librarian
Contact a Librarian for help on your next project.

Research Help

Carly Marino

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Office: Library 307

(707) 826-4955

Subjects: Archives, Digital Humanities, Humboldt History, Local Newspapers, Maps, Northwestern California, Preservation, Primary Sources, Rare Books

Reference Resources - Online GIS Portals & Aggregators

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Geospatial Center

These are specialized "subject guides/portals/gateways" to GIS resources and news on the Internet.

GIS Lounge
GISCafe
(Internet Business Systems)
GISuser
Resource for GIS users & tech professionals.
GeoCommunity
A GIS search engine.
The Beginner’s Guide to GIS
A comprehensive guide by MangoMap
Geospatial Science and Geographic Information Systems Master’s Degrees
Geospatial science is a field of infinite possibilities – but it helps to know the territory! This GIScience guide has a quick summary of industry applications, tools & technologies, and master's degree programs. It also includes a big long list of geospatial information resources (job sites, organizations, conferences, etc.).