Research Guides: International Studies Research Guide: UN, NGOs, IOs, Think Tanks, etc.

International organizations and actors

This page has links to only a few of the hundreds and thousands of governmental, inter-governmental and non-governmental organizations that influence and act on the international stage. The statistics and reports that many of these bodies produce can be an invaluable resource on specific topics - and their jobs pages are also a great place to look at ways to get into a specific field or organization!

Government Sources

CIA World Fact Book
US State Department
U.S. Official Development Assistance Database
U.S. State Department
White House, US
U.S. Library of Congress
more...less...
Many useful resources, including the Country Studies Series. Try the Researchers page (particularly "International Collections") and the Online Catalog. Note 'Global Gateway' with Research Guides and Databases.
Downing Street, UK
European Union
Group of 8 Information Centre
more...less...
From the G8 Research Group at the University of Toronto, "G7/G8 background information, all documentation arising from G7 summit meetings, available documentation from G7 ministerial and other meetings"
Group of 20 Information Centre
more...less...
From the G20 Research Group at the University of Toronto, G20 background information, documentation arising from G20 summit meetings, available documentation from G20 ministerial and other meetings.

Think Tanks & Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs)

Amnesty International
more...less...
The foremost NGO in the protection of human rights worldwide. Many publications online.
Bertelsmann Stiftung Foundation
more...less...
"The Bertelsmann Foundation (Bertelsmann Stiftung) is a private foundation based in Brussels and Washington dedicated to serving the common good."
Bretton Woods Project
more...less...
NGO that works to monitor and reform the World Bank and IMF, tracking key policy statements and reports, and providing critiques and early warnings used by NGOs across the world. Issues analysis, glossary, briefings, reports, newsletter, links.
Carnegie Council on Ethics and International Affairs
more...less...
This independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit organization is dedicated to research and education at the nexus of ethics and international affairs and offers several journals with selected articles available online.
Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS)
more...less...
"A bipartisan, nonprofit organization headquartered in Washington, DC, CSIS conducts research and analysis and develops policy initiatives that look into the future and anticipate change."
Centre for European Reform
more...less...
"The Centre for European Reform is a think-tank devoted to improving the quality of the debate on the European Union."
Foreign Policy Association
more...less...
Excellent searchable site from a leading non-profit, non-partisan organization in American foreign policy and world affairs education.
German Marshall Fund of the US
more...less...
"The German Marshall Fund of the United States (GMF) is a non-partisan American public policy and grantmaking institution dedicated to promoting better understanding and cooperation between North America and Europe on transatlantic and global issues."
Institute for Public Policy Research (IPPR)
more...less...
"IPPR, the Institute for Public Policy Research, is the UK’s leading progressive think tank. We produce rigorous research and innovative policy ideas for a fair, democratic and sustainable world."
Pew Research Center
more...less...
"The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world."
RAND Review
more...less...
Flagship magazine of the RAND Corporation, "showcases RAND research on a variety of timely and relevant issues facing the world today," featuring many international affairs topics.
Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House)
more...less...
"The mission of Chatham House is to be a world-leading source of independent analysis, informed debate and influential ideas on how to build a prosperous and secure world for all."
Third World Network
more...less...
Reports and angles on development issues from the perspectives of the developing countries, from an independent non-profit international network of organizations and individuals involved in issues relating to development, the Third World, and North- South issues.
Yale Global Online
more...less...
This excellent comprehensive and searchable web journal from the Yale University Center for the Study of Globalization features many articles, lectures, news items, and links about globalization in its diverse aspects and effects.
Google NGO Search
more...less...
Searches are limited to contents of major NGO websites.

Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs)

NATO
more...less...
NATO is attempting to participate in the development of cooperative security structures for the whole of Europe. This site has a complete archive of all official documents and both general and specific NATO publications. Note the NATO Integrated Data Service that gives access to NATO documentation and the NATO Review magazine. The NATO Defense College posts publications and studies on topics related to the alliance.
African Union
more...less...
The international organization for all African countries, with information about the AU and its member countries.
Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)
more...less...
"The premier forum for facilitating economic growth, cooperation, trade and investment in the Asia-Pacific region." Information about APEC, the international economics and trade of the region, latest news, official statements, agreements, and more.
Bay of Bengal Initative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation
Indian Ocean Rim Association for Regional Cooperation
Inter-American Development Bank
more...less...
The IDB finances economic and social development studies and projects in Latin America and the Caribbean and posts plentiful and excellent online news, analysis, and development reports about the region.
International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
more...less...
Independent international organization related to the United Nations system, with the mission of working with "Member States and multiple partners worldwide to promote safe, secure and peaceful nuclear technologies." Posts much information and analysis on "nuclear knowledge and information resources, including associated legal and official documentation... scientific and technical documents, websites and databases."
International Energy Agency
more...less...
"Intergovernmental organisation which acts as energy policy advisor to 28 member countries in their effort to ensure reliable, affordable and clean energy for their citizens." Posts statistics and analysis of global and country energy issues.
International Labour Organization
more...less...
Information about international labor standards and conditions.
International Monetary Fund
more...less...
The IMF oversees a wide range of international economic and financial issues. Numerous publications on economic and financial issues, including country information and World Economic Outlook, are available and searchable online.
South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation
World Trade Organization
more...less...
The only global body dealing with the rules of trade among nations, whose agreements are the legal ground-rules for international commerce and for trade policy. Large amount of online resources for a range of users. Resources include statistics, research, publications, official WTO documents and other services of the WTO.

Resource Portals: General and by Region

United Nations Resources

United Nations: un.org

World Bank Documents & Reports by World Bank
More than 14,000 full-text World Bank Group documents, including project appraisal reports, economic and sector works, evaluation reports and studies and working papers.
United Nations Bibliographic Information System (UNBISNET)
Catalogue of United Nations(UN) documents and publications indexed by the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. The coverage of UNBISnet is from 1979 onward, however, older documents are being added to the catalogue on a regular basis. Also provides links to full text resources if available.
World Health Organization Data and Statistics by World Health Organization (WHO)
"WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation."
Global Environment Outlook by United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
"The GEO Data Portal is the authoritative source for data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments.
UN Data
"The UN-system has accumulated over the past 60 years an impressive amount of information. UNdata , developed by the Statistics Division of DESA, is a new powerful tool, which will bring this unique and authoritative set of data not only to the desks of decision makers and analysts, but also to journalists, to students and to all citizens of the world."

UN Development Reports

State of World Population (United Nations Population Fund) Annual report, each with a thematic emphasis.

United Nations World Water Development Report (UNESCO) Triennial report representing a collaboration between 24 UN agencies and convention secretariats that provides a comprehensive review of the state of the world's freshwater resources and tools and policies needed to implement sustainable use of water.

World Development Report (World Bank) Annual (print copy available in HC 59.7 W659; latest year in Reference) Annual report on development progress that reviews the economic, social and environmental state of the world. Each year the report provides an in-depth analysis of a specific topic. The last section includes indicators for 150 countries selected from the complementary publication entitled World Development Indicators.

World Economic and Social Survey (United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs) Annual report that provides an objective analysis of long-term social and economic development issues, and discusses the positive and negative impact of corresponding policies.

World Economic Situation and Prospects (United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs) Annual analysis of current developments in the world economy and emerging policy issues.

Directories of Development Organizations

Directory of Development Organizations (Bert Wesselink) This "resource guide to development organizations and the internet" lists over 47,000 organizations. The directory is organized into eight regions and then subdivided by country. Brief entries for each organization include contact information, including email address and web page if available; and type of organization.

Organizations (Chr. Michelsen Institute) Includes links to major development agencies, institutions and international organizations relevant to development studies.

Resources Directory for Development and Relief NGOs (Oxfam) 1995 (Ref HV 589 E23 1995 Vol. 3 of the Oxfam Handbook of Development and Relief ) Lists Southern NGOs, international NGOs in OECD countries, official development agencies in OECD countries, and UN and other inter-governmental organizations.