Wildlife Research Guide

These resources provide definitions of discipline- specific terminology and/or general introductions to topics and concepts in wildlife. Most encyclopedias include references to important references in the "primary" literature.

• Audubon Society Encyclopedia of North American Birds (Terres) 1980 (ref QL 681 T43 1980)
• Cambridge Encyclopedia of Ornithology (Brooke & Birkhead) 1991
• Collegiate Dictionary of Zoology (Pennak) 1964 (ref QL 9 P4)
• Dictionary of Birds (Campbell & Jack) 1985 (ref QL 672.2 D53 1985) Scholarly dictionary with definitions ranging from a few lines to several pages. Longer entries include a short reference list.
• Ecology Field Glossary: A Naturalist's Vocabulary (Lewis) 1977 (ref QH 540.4 L48)
• Encyclopedia of Birds (Forshaw & Kirshner) 1998 (ref QL 673 E533 1998)
• Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology (Nierenburg) 1995 (ref QH 540.4 E52 1995) (3 volumes)
• Encyclopedia of Mammals (MacDonald) 1984 (ref QL 703 E53 1984)
• Encyclopedia of Theoretical Ecology (Hastings and Gross) 2012 (ref QH 540.4 E526 2012)
• Grzimek's Encyclopedia of Ethology (Grzimek) 1977 (ref QL 751 G7913)
• Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia (HSU Users Only) 2003-2004 Major 17 volume scientific encyclopedia that is arranged taxonmically. Chapters within each volume contain an order overview followed by family and subfamily accounts. Volumes of interest to wildlife include Amphibians, Reptiles, Birds, and Mammals( see links below). The first edition of the encyclopedia is located in Ref QL 3 G7813 along with the first edition of Grzimek's Encyclopedia of Mammals in Ref QL G7913 1990.
• Oxford Companion to Animal Behavior (MacFarland) 1982 (ref QL 751 093 1982)

• Salamanders of the United State and Canada (Petranka) 1998 (QL 668 C2 P36 1998) Includes accounts for 127 salamander species with an emphasis on identification, ecology, evolution, biodiversity, behavior, and natural history. Each entry includes photographs and a range map. Includes taxonomic keys to adult and larval salamanders.
• Snakes of the United States and Canada (Ernst and Ernst) 2003 (QL 666 O6 E763 2003) Identification guide and key to the 131 North American species of snakes. For each species there is an 3-8 page account that provides detailed information on identifying features, geographic variation, known fossils, current distribution, habitat type, behavior, reproduction, growth, diet, and predators. Includes color photographs and range maps for each species.

• Birds of Africa (Brown, Urban and Newman) 1982-2003 (QL 692 A1 B76 1982) Comprehensive handbook in seven volumes on the birds of Africa. Each species account typically includes original description citation, range and status, description, field characters, voice, general habits, food, and breeding habits. Also includes a range map and a color plate for each species.
• The Birds of North America: Life Histories for the 21st Century (American Ornithologists Union) 1992-2002 (ref QL 681 B625) Major scholarly work containing 20-40 page species profiles that summarize the current knowledge for approximately 700 breeding bird species in North America. Birds of North America Usage Tools lists published profiles by issue number and taxonomic order (see link below). Replaces both Bent's Life Histories... series and Palmer's Handbook of North American Birds. Shorter and more popular species accounts derived from Birds of North America are found at the Bird Guide developed by the Cornell Lab of Ornithology(see link below). These online bird guide accounts also include bird sounds, selective video and distribution maps.
• Birds of South America (Ridgely and Tudor) 1989- (QL 689 A1 R53 1989) Projected to be completed in four volumes this set includes short species accounts covering identification, similiar species, habitat and behavior, and range. Also includes color plates and range maps for each species.
• Handbook of Australian, New Zealand and Antarctic Birds (Marchant) 1990-2001 (QL 693 H36 1990) Contains detailed species accounts for approximately 900 birds found in this region. Each detailed species account includes scientific and common names in a variety of languages, distribution, field identification, habitat, movements, food, behavior, voice, breeding, plumages and measurements. For each species there are also distribution maps, color plates and occasional b/w illustrations and voice sonograms.
• Handbook of the Birds of the World (Hoyo) 1992- (ref QL 673 H25 1992) Major handbook to be completed in 16 volumes that contains species accounts organized by order and family. For each family there is summary information on the family's general characteristics and composition; systematics; morphological aspects; habitat; general habits; voice; food and feeding; breeding; movements; relationship with man; status and conservation; a general bibliography; and a map of its global distribution. Following the family overview are short individual species accounts that include taxonomy, distribution, descriptive notes, habitat, food and feeding, breeding, movements, status and conservation, and bibliography. Each species profile includes a color-coded map of its global distribution; and a full size color plate and possible additional plates of distinctive subspecies or color morphs
• Handbook of North American Birds (Palmer) 1962-1988 (5 volumes) (QL 681 P35) Originally designed as the definitive reference source on American birds species and subspecies north of Mexico.. The series was never completed and is now superceded by The Birds of North America: Life Histories for the 21st Century. Volumes are organized by family. Individual species accounts describe physical features, field identification, habitat, distribution, migration, reproduction, and habits.
• Handbook of the Birds of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa: The Birds of the Western Palearctic (Cramp) 1977-1994 (QL 690 A1 H27) Nine volume handbook that includes detailed species accounts for birds of the western Palearctic. Each account includes common names in a variety of languages, field characters, habitat, distritution, population, movements, food, social pattern and behavior, breeding, voice, plumages, measurements, weights and structure. Each account also includes references to the scholarly literature, range maps and color plates. Birds of the Western Palearctic (Snow and Perrins) 1998 (QL 690 A1 S64 1998) is a concise and updated two volume set based upon the original work.
• Handbook of the Birds of India and Pakistan; Together with Those of Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan and Sir Lanka (Ali and Ripley) 1980-1999 (QL 691 S65 A6 1980) Ten volume handbook containing detailed species accounts and color plates.
• Handbuch der Vogel Mitteleuropas (Niethammer) 1966- 1997 (QL 690 A1 H3) Fourteen volume handbook that covers central Europe. Detailed species accounts cover range geographical variation, field identification, voice, migration, habitat, behavior, food sources and literature references.

• Ecology and Management of Large Mammals in North America (Demarais & Krausman) 2000 (ref QL 739.8 E36 2000) Introduction to general concepts involved in the management and biology of wildlife followed by species accounts on 20 large individual mammals. Update to Big Game of North America published in 1978.
• Handbook of Marine Mammals (Ridgeway and Harrison) 1981-1999 (QL 731.2 H355) ( 6 volumes) Contains 20-40 species accounts that cover taxonomy, distribution, external characteristics, anatomy, life history and population dynamics, behavior, parasites and diseases and human effects.
• Land Mammals of Oregon (Verts and Carraway) 1998 (ref QL 719 O7 V474 1998) Contains descriptions of all 136 extant or recently extirpated mammal species in Oregon with information on geographical variation, range maps, diet, reproduction, ontogeny, mortality, and behavior. Keys to orders, families, and species are provided for identification of unknown specimens. A bibliography of 2,925 references makes the volume especially useful for anyone wishing to do further research.
•  Wild Mammals of North America: Biology, Management and Conservation (Feldhamer, Thompson and Chapman) 2003 (ref QL 715 W56 2003) Contains lengthy accounts covering the biology, status, and management of 57 economically important mammalian species or species complexes in North America.
• Wild Furbearer Management and Conservation in North America (Novak, Baker, Obbard and Malloch) 1987 (SK 355 W54 1999--cd-rom) Includes general chapters on the history, biology, harvesting and management of North American furbearers followed by authoritative species accounts for 30 furbearers that cover their biology, conservation and management.

• Wildlife Habitats and Species Management Relationships Program: Oregon Coast Range(Phillips & Chrostowski) 1981 (SK 439 W54) (4 volumes) Includes one page species narratives and range maps with references to related research literature for 330 vertebrate species in the Oregon Coast Range.

Scientific reviews or "state-of-the-art" papers critically survey a narrow topic in a discipline. Review papers identify and evaluate research which has appeared in the "primary" literature and include extensive bibliographies. Scientific reviews typically appear in annual publications entitled "Annual review of ..." or "Advances in ...", as well as in research journals, especially those which have "review" as part of the title. As part of a search strategy review papers are an excellent "research tool" to use since they pull together information on the existing state-of-knowledge on a specific topic.

There are several ways to locate scientific reviews:

1. Many annual review series have cumulative indexes.
2. Individual review papers are commonly included in Wildlife Indexes(see link below). Create a search that includes the keyword "review" as part of your search strategy.
3. The "Annual Review of ..." publication series has a cumulative index which searches all reviews published from 1984 to the present(see link below).

Annual reviews of interest in wildlife include the following. Use the Journal and Newspaper Finder for determine location and format (see link below).

• Advances in Ecological Research
• Advances in Parasitology
• Advances in the Study of Behavior
• Annual Review of Ecology and Systematics
• Current Mammalogy
• Current Ornithology An index to the series is available(see link below).
• Mammal Review
• Perspectives in Ethology
• Quarterly Review of Biology

Bibliographies are compiled lists of literature references which gather together known research on a specific topic. They are generally more useful for retrospective rather than current searching. There are many specialized bibliographies in wildlife. The Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide (see link below) index lists over 3,000 wildlife bibliographies. In the HSU Library Catalog (see link below) a subject keyword search can be done using the keyword bibliography and a subject or taxonomic keyword. Listed below are selected print and digital bibliographies which are major in scope.

• U.S.-Canadian Range Management, 1935-1977; A Selected Bibliography on Range, Pastures, Wildlife, Livestock, and Ranches (Valentine) 1978 (ref SF 85.3 V34)

• Bibliography on Ornithological Bibliographies (Brassles & Bekierz) 1984 (ref QL 673 B73) Lists over 1,000 bibliographies on birds.
• Annotated Bibliography of Oregon Bird Literature Published before 1935 (Jobanek) 1997 (QL 684 O6 J63 1997)
• "Bibliography of Oregon Ornithology" IN Northwest Science (Scott) 1992. 46:122-139. Cover the years 1935-1970.
• Bibliography of Oregon Ornithology: An Updating for the years 1971-1977 (Egger) 1980
• Bibliography of Birds (Strong) 1939-1959 (ref QL 1 F4 vol 25 parts 1-4) Bibliography to ornithological literature up through 1926 when Biological Abstracts began.

• Bibliography of Oregon Mammology (Carraway) 1982 (QL 719 O7 C37)
• Black Bear Bibliography (Tracy) 1982 (QL 737 C27 B762)
• Brown Bear Bibliography (Tracy) 1982 (QL 737 C27 B763)
• Mammals of the World. Vol. III. A Classified Bibliography (Walker) 1964 (ref QL 703 W22 vol 3) Older bibliography that contains approximately 70,000 references spanning the years 1830 to 1960. The bibliography is arranged into three groupings--taxonomic, geographic, and general.

These scholarly works and databases contain extensive information or summarize the state of knowledge in broad topics in wildlife. They tend to be broader in scope than "scientific reviews" and are well documented with frequent references to important "primary" literature. For works that are focused on individual species see the Species Accounts/Life History Information box below. 

• Amphibians & Reptiles
  • Amphibian Biology (Heatwole) 1994- (QL 667 A47 1994) Five volume treatise.
  • Biology of the Reptilia (Gans) 1969- (QL 641 .G3) 18 volume treatise.
• Birds
  • Avian Biology (Farner and King) 1971-1993 (QL 673 A9) Nine volume treatise.
• Mammals
  • Infectious Diseases of Wild Mammals (Williams & Barker) 2001 (SF 996.4 I54 2001) Covers viral, prion, bacterial, and mycotic diseases of wild mammals. For each entry includes information on history, hosts, distribution, etiology, transmission, epidemiology, clinical signs, pathogenesis, pathology, diagnosis, treatment, and literature references.

Guide to Taxonomic Literature of Vertebrates (Blackwelder) 1972 (ref QL 607 B53) is a general guide to taxonomic literature.

• Audubon to Xantus: The Lives of Those Commemorated in North American Bird Names(Mearns & Mearns) 1992 (QL 26 M38 1992)
• Complete Guide to Scientific and Common Names of Reptiles and Amphibians of the World(Frank and Ramus) 1995 (Ref QL 645 F73 1995)
• Dictionary of American Bird Names (Choate & Paynter) 1985 (ref QL 677 C5 1985)
• Dictionary of Scientific Bird Names (Jobling) 1991 (ref QL 677 J55 1991)
• Latin Names Explained: A Guide to the Scientific Classification of Reptiles, Birds, and Mammals (Gotch) 1996 (ref QL 351 G668 1996)
• North American Bird Folknames and Names (Sayre) 1996 (ref QL 677 S28 1996)
• Source-book of Biological Names and Terms (Jaeger) 1955 (ref QH 83 J3)
• Scientific and Standard Common Names of Amphians and Reptiles of North American North of Mexico, wth Comments Regarding Confidence in Our Understanding (Society for the Study of Amphibians and Reptiles) 2001 (Ref QL 652 S63 2001)

• Classification of Mammals above the Species Level (McKenna & Bell) 1997 (ref QL 708 M38 1997) Updates The Principles of Classification and a Classification of Mammals (Simpson) 1945.
•  Distribution & Taxonomy of Birds of the World (Sibley & Monroe) 1990 (ref QL 678 S54 1990) Classification and arrangement of 9,672 bird species of the world based primarily on DNA phylogenetic relationships. A list of included species by family is available (see link below).
•  Mammals of North America (Hall) 1981 (ref QL 715 H15) Major two volume monograph on mammal taxonomy listing 3607 species and subspecies
• Salamanders of the United State and Canada (Petranka) 1998 (QL 668 C2 P36 1998) Includes accounts for 127 salamander species with an emphasis on identification, ecology, evolution, biodiversity, behavior, and natural history. Each entry includes photographs and a range map. Includes taxonomic keys to adult and larval salamanders
•  Walker's Mammals of the World (Nowak) 1999 (ref QL 703 W222 1999) Major two volume monograph covering 1,192 genera and 4,809 species.

• Clements Checklist of Birds of the World: A Checklist (Clements) 2007 (ref QL 673 C53) Published by the American Birding Association in collaboration with the Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology. Checklist includes over 9,800 species and subspecies. For each species lists scientific names, best known English name, and brief description of geographical range. The entire checklist is available for download(see link below) as an excel spreadsheet. The checklist is also updated annually(see link below).
• Check-List of Birds of the World (Mayr, Greenway & Peters) 1935-1987 (QL 677 C47) Published in 16 volumes this was the second major taxonomic work on birds that attempted to list all species and subspecies. Superceded in large part by Sibley and Moore's taxonomic revisions.
• Checklist of North American Mammals North of Mexico (Jones) 1986 (ref QL 715 J6 1986)
• Complete Checklist of the Birds of the World (Howard & Moore) 1991 (ref QL 677 H75 1991)
• World Checklist of Birds (Monroe & Sibley) 1993 (ref QL 677 M695 1993) Based upon theirDistribution and Taxonomy of Birds of the World.
• World List of Mammalian Species (Corbet & Hill) 1991 (ref QL 708 C67 1991)

• Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Birds. Western Region (Udvary) 1994 (ref QL 681 U33 1994)
• Birds of North American (Alsop) 2001(ref QL681 Z625 2001) Guide containing one page descriptions of 930 bird species. For each species includes annotated color photographs to highlight the key field marks of the adult male; photographs or artworks of other plumages if they differ significantly; an explanation of the typical flight pattern; information on typical vocalizations, feeding behavior, breeding, nesting, population, and conservation concerns; and a range map showing each bird's occurrence in North America during summer, winter, and on migration. Similar species are shown and distinguishing characteristics are noted. The work is arranged taxonmically. A subset of the main work Birds of North American: Western Region (Alsop) is available in QL 683 W4 B52 2001.
• Field Guide to Reptiles and Amphibians: Eastern/Central North America (Connant and Collins) 1998 (QL 651 C65 1998) Part of the Peterson Field Guide series
• Field Guide to Western Birds. Western Region (Peterson) 1990 (ref QL 683 W4 P4 1990) Part of the Peterson Field Guide series
• Field Guide to Western Reptiles and Amphibians (Stebbins) 2003 (ref QL 651 S783 2003) Part of the Peterson Field Guide series. See also the Quick-find Indexes to Robert Stebbins' Field Guide to Western Reptiles and Amphibians(link below).

Handbooks and manuals typically fall into two basic categories--1) works that contain data and descriptive information compiled from the "primary" literature and organized into tables or expository articles that can be used to answer many basic and factual questions; and 2) works that contain procedures for experimental analysis in the field or laboratory.

• Analysis and Management of Animal Populations: modeling, estimation, and decision making(Williams, Nichols and Conroy) 2002 (QL 752 W526 2002)
• Analysis in Behavioral Ecology: A Manual for Lab and Field (Brown) 1988 (QL 751 B727 1988)
• Analysis of Wildlife Radio-Tracking Data (White & Garrott) 1990 (QL 60.4 W45 1990)
• Bibliography of Manuals and Handbooks from Natural Resource Agencies (Burke) 1978 (Docs I 49.18:N21) Bibliography of manuals and handbooks published by natural resource agencies in the Western U.S.
• Biological Monitoring of the Environment: a Manual of Methods (Salanki) 1994 (QH 541.15 M64 B565 1994)
• Biology Data Book (Altman) 1972-1974 (ref QH 301 A39)
• CRC Handbook of Census Methods for Terrestrial Vertebrates (Davis) 1982 (QL 752 C7 1982)
• Design and Analysis of Ecological Experiments (Scheiner & Gurevitch) 1993 (QH 541.15 S72 D47 1993)
• Designing Field Studies for Biodiversity Conservation (Feinsinger) 2001 (QH 75 F45 2001) Practical guide to the use of scientific concepts and methods in conservation field studies.
• Ecological Census Techniques: A Handbook (Sutherland) 1996 (QH 541.15 S95 E26 1996)
• Ecological Diversity and its Measurement (Magurran) 1988 (QL 75 M32)
• Estimating Wildlife Habitat Variables (FWS/OBS-81/47) (Hayes) 1981 (Docs I 49.89:81-47) Describes 35 techniques suitable for quantitatively measuring wildlife habitat variables.
• Estimation of Density from Line Transect Sampling of Biological Populations (Burham, Anderson, and Laake) 1980 (QL 1 W54) (Wildlife Monographs #72)
• Handbook of Biological Techniques (Wyoming Game & Fish Department) 1982 (QH 352 W95 1982)
• Handbook of Ethological Methods (Lehner) 1996 (QL 751 L398 1996)
• Handbook of Parametric & Nonparametric Statistical Procedures (Sheskin) 2000 (QA 276.25 S54 2000)
• Introduction to Distance Sampling: estimating abundance of animal populations (Buckland) 2001 (QL 752 I59 2001)
• Measuring Biological Diversity (Magurran) 2004 (QH 541.15 B56 M34 2004)
• Measurements for Terrestrial Vegetation (Bonham) 1989 (QK 911 B57 1989)
• Monitoring for Conservation and Ecology (Goldsmith) 1991 (QH 541.15 M64 M66 1991)
• Monitoring Plant and Animal Populations (Elzinga, Salzer, Willoughby and Gibbs) 2001 (QH 541.15 M64 M72 2001)
• Monitoring Vertebrate Populations (Thompson, White & Gowan) (QL 607.6 T48 1998)
• Primer of Ecology (Gotelli) 1995 (QH 352 G67 1995)
• Radio Tracking and Animal Populations (Millspaugh & Marzluff) 2001 (QL 60.4 R33 2001) Assesses the design and analytical techniques for wildlife radio tracking studies.
• Sampling Design and Statistical Methods for Environmentat Biologists (Green) 1979 (QH 541.15 S72 G73)
• Statistical Ecology: A Primer on Methods and Computing (Ludwig & Reynolds) 1988 (QH 541.15 S72 L83 1988)
• Techniques for Wildlife Habitat Management of Uplands (Payne and Bryant) 1994 (SK 355 P39 1994) Compilation of techniques for natural and cultural habitat improvements to enhance wildlife biodiversity on forestlands, rangelands and farmlands.
• Techniques for Wildlife Habitat Management of Wetlands (Payne) 1992 (SK 355 P39 1992) Techniques manual on wildlife habitat improvement. Includes chapters on wetlands with and without water control, vegetation management and artificial nesting and loafing sites.
• Wildlife Demography: Analysis of Sex, Age and Count Data (Skalski, Ryding and Millspaugh) 2005 (QL 752 S524 2005) Unifies, evaluates, updates and illustrates methods of estimating wildlife demographic parameters from sex ratios, age structures, and count data.
• Wildlife Radio Tagging: Equipment, Field Techniques and Data Analysis (Kenward) 1987 (QL 60.4 K46 1987)
• Wildlife Restoration: Techniques for Habitat Analysis and Animal Monitoring (Morrison) 2002 (QH 541.15 R45 M67 2002)
• Wildlife Study Design (Morrison, Block, Strickland,and Kendall) 2001 (QH 541 W45 2001)
• Wildlife Techniques Manual (Silvy) 2012 (SK 355 R47) The major manual on wildlife research and management techniques. First published by The Wildlife Society in 1960 and now in its seventh edition under earlier various titles. In two volumes with a total of 37 chapters that cover research and management techniques.

• Annotated Bibliography of Amphibian and Reptile Field Study Methods (Ratermann & Brode) 1983 (California Department of Fish & Game, Inland Fisheries Administrative Report 83-3) (Cal Doc F660 A3 83-3)
• Measuring and Monitoring Biological Diversity. Standard Methods for Amphibians (Heyer) 1994 (QL 645.4 M43 1984)
• Reptile Biodiversity: Standard Methods for Inventory and Monitoring (McDiarmid) 2012 (QL645.6 R47 2012)
• Sampling Amphibians in Lentic Habitats: Methods and Approaches for the Pacific Northwest(Olson, Leonard & Bury) 1997 (QL 652 S26 1997)
• A Standardized Protocol for Surveying Aquatic Amphibians (Fellers & Freel) 1995 (QL 667 F44 195 and Docs I 29.109:NPS/WRUC/NRTR-95-01)

• Bibliography of Methods of Analyzing Bird Banding Data with Special Reference to Estimation of Population Size and Survival (Anderson) 1972 (Docs I 49.100:156 (Special Scientific Report-Wildlife # 156)
• Bird Banding (McClure) 1984 (QL 677.5 M35 1984)
• Bird Census Techniques (Bibby & Burgess) 1992 (QL 677.4 B53 1992)
• Bird Trapping and Bird Banding: A Handbook for Trapping Methods All Over the World (Bub) 1991 (QL 677.5 B77413 1991)
• CRC Handbook of Avian Body Masses (Dunning) 1993 (QL 697 D86 1993)
• Manual for Aeroplane and Ship Surveys of Waterfowl and Seabirds (Komdeur, Bertelsen & Cracknell) 1992 (QL 677.5 M36 1992)
• Manual of Ornithology: Avian Structure & Function (Proctor & Lynch) 1993 (QL 697 P76 1993)
• Promoting Sound Ethical and Banding Principles and Techniques (North American Bird Banding Council and U.S. Department of the Interior) 2001 (Doc I 19.15/3:B22 cd-rom) This cd-rom includes in .pdf format the following publications: North American Banders' Manual for Banding Study Guide,Instructor's Guide to Training Passerine Bird Banders in North America, North American Bird Banders' Manual for Banding Passerines and Near Passerines (excluding Hummingbirds and Owls);North American Bird Banders' Manual for Banding Hummingbirds, and North American Banders' Manual for Raptor Banding Techniques.
• Raptor Management Techniques Manual (Pendleton) 1987 (QL 696 F3 R365 1987)
• Shorebird Management Manual (Helmers) 1992 (QL 696.C4 H44 1992)

• Measuring and Monitoring Biological Diversity. Standard Methods for Mammals (Wilson) 1996 (QL 708.5 M435 1996)

See the HSU Library Geospatial Resources research guide for additional print and digital geospatial resources available in the HSU Library or on the Internet (link below).

• Alaska's Wildlife and Habitat (Alaska Department of Fish and Game) 1973-1978 (Atlas G 1531 D4 A4 1973)
• Atlas of Idaho's Wildlife: Integrating Gap Analysis and Natural Heritage Information (Grover & Lippincott) 1997 (G 1481 D5 A8 1997)
• Atlas of Oregon Wildlife: Distribution, Habitat, and Natural History (Csuti) 2001 (QL 201 A84 2001)
• Oregon Breeding Bird Atlas (Oregon Field Ornithologists) 2001 (QL 684.O7 O743 2001cd-rom)

• Atlas of Wintering North American Birds: an analysis of Christmas bird count data (Root) 1988 (QL 681 R66 1988) On a national base map shows the winter distribution and abundance of 508 bird species and subspecies. Accompanied by text notes on migration patterns, habitat preferences and environmental factors.
• Ecological Inventory Map Series (US Fish and Wildlife Service) 1980-1982 (Docs I 49.6/5: Ec7) On a 1:250,000 USGS map base the distribution of fish, wildlife, and plant species along the coastal areas of the conterminous 48 states are depicted. Species with special status are shown in red. Some land use and land cover designations are also shown. There are a total of 79 maps issued in four series: Atlantic Coast, Gulf Coast, Lower Mississippi Basin, and Pacific Coast. Each series includes an accompanying "Users Guide and Informative Base" report that provides detailed explanations and additional technical information about the ecological data plotted on the maps.

One can use a combination of general and specialized Internet search engines to find images on the web. See the HSU research guide Search Engines for Images, Multimedia, & Video(link below) for a list of specialized image search engines. However, search engines fail to index the content of the "invisible web", especially information contained within databases. The following resources are specialized indexes and databases devoted to wildlife images or sounds.

• Index to Illustrations of Living Things Outside North America (Mumz & Slauson) 1981 (ref N 7525 M86) Indexes illustrations of 9,000 species found in over 200 books. List of books is annotated with HSU Library holdings.
• Index to Illustrations of the Natural World: Where to Find Pictures of the Living Things of North America (Thompson) 1977 (ref N 7525 56) Indexes pictures of 3,000 species found in 178 books. List of books is annotated with HSU Library holdings.

• Bird Songs of California (Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology) 2003 (compact disc CD-4756) Records and identifies more than 220 species of birds from California.
• Cornell Lab of Ornithology's Guide to Birds of North America (Thayer Birding Software) 2001 (software program mounted on Reference cd-rom computers) Contains 710 bird songs, 96 videos of birds, 2681 color photos of birds, and information on 930 bird species found in the United States and Canada.
• Diversity of Animal Sounds (Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology) 2001 (compact disc CD-4494)
• Frog and Toad Calls of the Pacific Coast (Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology) 1995 (compact disc CD-4112)
• Know Your Common Bird Songs (Axia International) 1994 (QL 681 K5 1994) Software program that includes photos, full-motion videos, sound clips, and illustrations that aid in learning to identify more than 100 common North American birds by song alone.
  
• Western Bird Songs (Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology) 1992 (compact disc CD-4754) Organized as a companion to Roger Tory Peterson's Field Guide to Western Birds this collection contains songs and calls of 522 species of birds found in western North America.

Environmental reviews typicaly provide an analysis of environmental issues along with accompanying statistical data. For broader reviews see Environmental Reviews(link below) listed in the HSU Library Environmental Science research guide. Reviews, assessments, and plans specific to wildlife include:

• Audubon Wildlife Report (National Audubon Society) 1985-1989 (ref QL 84.2 A9)
• Bird Conservation (International Council for Bird Preservation) Annual (QL 682 B57) Includes annual bibliography of recent literature entitled "Review of Bird Conservation Literature" as well as series of reports on bird conservation issues and reports on endangered species.
• Wildlife (Thomas) IN Natural Resources for the 21st Century (Sampson and Hair) 1990, pp 175-204 (print copy available in HC 103.7 N296 1990) Assessment presented at a conference sponsored by the American Forestry Association with many co-sponsors, including the Wildlife Society.

Sources of wildlife data and compiled statistics include the following:

• Pacific Waterfowl Flyway Report (QL 671 P3) Library has 1949-1984.
• Report of Lands Under Control of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (US Fish & Wildlife Service) (Docs I 49.102) Annual statistical report containing data on number of administrative units, their acreages, location, and method of acquisition. Includes national wildlife refuges, waterfowl protection areas, and national fish hatcheries.