Research Guides: Physics &amp; Astronomy Research Guide: Web Resources

Professional & Research Associations

American Astronomical Society
The American Astronomical Society (AAS) is the major organization of professional astronomers in North America. The mission of the American Astronomical Society is to enhance and share humanity's scientific understanding of the Universe.
American Institute of Physics
Dedicated to the advancement of physics, AIP serves a federation of physical science societies, and provides leadership through its own programs and publications.
American Nuclear Society
The American Nuclear Society is a not-for-profit, international, scientific and educational organization. It was established by a group of individuals who recognized the need to unify the professional activities within the diverse fields of nuclear science and technology
American Physical Society
The American Physical Society is a non-profit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy and international activities. APS represents over 50,000 members, including physicists in academia, national laboratories and industry in the United States and throughout the world
Institute of Physics
The IoP is a leading scientific society promoting physics and bringing physicists together for the benefit of all.
National Aeronautics and Space Administration
CERN (European Organization for Nuclear Research)
European Physical Society (EPS)
International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP)
International Association of Mathematical Physics
International Centre for Theoretical Physics
American Association for Physicists in Medicine
Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik (IPP)
US Department of Energy (DOE)
US National Institute for Standards and Technology (NIST)
US National Science Foundation (NSF)
Minority Groups in Physics (from APS)
Women in Physics (from APS)

Resources

SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 10.0 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints.
Physical Reference Data
The Physical Measurement Laboratory (PML) develops and disseminates the national standards of length, mass, force and shock, acceleration, time and frequency, electricity, temperature, humidity, pressure and vacuum, liquid and gas flow, and electromagnetic, optical, microwave, acoustic, ultrasonic, and ionizing radiation. Its activities range from fundamental measurement research through provision of measurement services, standards, and data.
Energy Citations Database
Contains bibliographic records from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies. Subjects include chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science and related disciplines. It includes citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.
European Southern Observatory Images
Comprised of 14 member countries, the European Southern Observatory (ESO) is an intergovernmental organization with its headquarters in Germany.
ArXiv
Open access to 819,833 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics

Other Library Catalogs

National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines—both formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings.
Most resources in the library adhere to principles of Open Educational Resource (OER) access.
The EUROPEAN LIBRARY
Designed to meet the needs of the research community worldwide, this online portal offers quick and easy access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
Users can cross-search and reuse over 28,627,026 digital items and 175,511,348 bibliographic records.
To facilitate further research, links are also provided to other websites in the Europeana group.
World Digital Library (WDL)
The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.
Books, manuscripts, maps, and other primary materials on the site are not translated but presented in their original languages. More than 100 languages are represented on the WDL, including many lesser known and endangered languages.

WorldCat
Identify and locate resources in library collections worldwide. Connect to materials at Cal Poly Humboldt and other libraries from WorldCat records and article citations.