Research Guides: Music Research Guide: Reference Sources

Reference Recommendations

These are a few examples of reference resources on various topics in music. For additional help, please visit the Resesarch Help Desk or Contact a Librarian:

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Stanley Sadie (ed.); John Tyrrell (ed.)
Call Number: ML100 .N48 2001
ISBN: 1561592390
Publication Date: 2003
.
This 29 volume encyclopedia is the standard authority for music reference. It has authoritative articles on every aspect of music and music history. The complete listings of composers' works are particularly valuable, as are the bibliographies that accompany most articles. This encyclopedia is also available as part of Oxford Music Online.
The New Harvard Dictionary of Music by Don M. Randel (Editor); Carmela M. Ciampa (Illustrator); Laszlo Meszoly (Illustrator)
Call Number: ML100 N485 1986
ISBN: 0674615255
Publication Date: 1986
.
No biographical information is included (see the companion Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music), but this is otherwise a very comprehensive source for music terminology, including forms, periods, styles, some individual pieces, instruments, etc.
Thematic Catalogues in Music by Barry S. Brook; Richard J. Viano
Call Number: ML113 .B86 1997
ISBN: 091872886X
Publication Date: 1997
.
To find catalogs of composers' works, or other collections, usually arranged chronologically and including incipits.
The New Grove Dictionary of American Music by H. Wiley Hitchcock (Editor); Stanley Sadie (Editor)
Call Number: ML101 U6 N48 1986
ISBN: 0943818362
Publication Date: 1986
.
"Amerigrove" has very inclusive coverage of all kinds of music from what is now the United States. Native American music, various folk and popular styles, art music, composers, performers and groups, music history, and much, much more is included. There are illustrations, lists of works, bibliographies, and discographies.
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments by Stanley Sadie (Editor)
Call Number: ML102 I5 N48 1984
ISBN: 0943818052
Publication Date: 1985
.
Authoritative articles, bibliographies, and illustrations on musical instruments.
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera by Stanley Sadie (Editor)
Call Number: ML102 .O6 N5 1992
ISBN: 0935859926
Publication Date: 1992
.
The "Grove" treatment for opera. Appendix B contains a list of arias and ensembles indicating in which operas they appear.
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Classical Music by Nicolas Slonimsky; Laura Kuhn (Editor)
Call Number: ML105 .S612 1997
ISBN: 0028712714
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
.
A standard, comprehensive, up to date dictionary, including composers, performers, and musicologists. Its scope is international; it covers all time periods and genres. There are composer works lists, and brief bibliographies for some entries.
The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music by Don Michael Randel (Editor)
Call Number: ML105 .H38 1996
ISBN: 0674372999
Publication Date: 1996-11-01
.
The companion to The New Harvard Dictionary of Music, similarly focused on "the history of concert music in the Western tradition," including composers and "historically important" performers, some for jazz and popular music. Brief entries, with bibliographies.
Handbook of Music Literature in Sets and Series by Charles, Sydney Robinson
Call Number: ML113 C45
Publication Date: 1972
.
Helpful for finding a score in a larger collection.
Historical Sets, Collected Editions, and Monuments of Music by Anna H. Heyer
Call Number: ML113 H52 1980
ISBN: 083890288X
Publication Date: 1980-01-01
.
Another source for the contents of major collections of music scores.
Music Analyses by Harold J. Diamond
Call Number: ML128 .A7 D5 1991
ISBN: 0028701100
Publication Date: 1991-05-01
.
A bibliography of critical analysis, "for serious students," of works of major Western composers. Some of the writings listed are very technical.
A Dictionary of Musical Themes by Barlow, Harold
Call Number: ML128 I65 B3
Publication Date: 1948
.
If you can read music, you can use this volume to identify melodies that occur in classic compositions. If you don't read music, try The Directory of Tunes, below.
Subject Guide to Classical Instrumental Music by Jennifer Goodenberger
Call Number: ML128 .I65 G59 1989
ISBN: 0810822091
Publication Date: 1989-04-01
.
A listing of broad subjects (such as Angels, Animals, Buildings, Fairy World, Forest, Ships, Vehicles, Water, Winter), authors, countries, etc., and musical works that evoke them.
The Directory of Tunes and Musical Themes by Parsons, Denys
Call Number: ML128 I65 P33
ISBN: 090474700X
Publication Date: 1975
.
This book helps you identify themes from classical or popular music or national anthems when you know only if the notes go up, down, or repeat.
The Norton-Grove Dictionary of Woman Composers by Julie Anne Sadie; Rhian Samuel (Editor)
Call Number: ML390 .N67 1995
ISBN: 0393034879
Publication Date: 1995-09-17
.
The "Grove" treatment again. International in scope and covering all time periods, with excellent bibliographies and lists of works.
Cyclopedic Survey of Chamber Music by Walter W. Cobbett (Editor); Colin Mason (Editor)
Call Number: ML1100 C7 1963
ISBN: 0193183064
Publication Date: 1987-04-23
.
Information on organizations, countries, terms, composers, and works, with musical examples and detailed analysis.
The New Kobbe's Opera Book by Antony Peattie; Earl of Harewood (Editor)
Call Number: MT95 .K52 1997
ISBN: 0399143327
Publication Date: 1997-11-24
.
Arranged chronologically and by country, composer information is followed by the performance history of each opera, then a character list, plot summary, and summary analysis with musical examples.

On the Web

AllMusic This commercial site has information about performers and albums in all genres of music. It also features new release information, reviews, and blogs.

Aria Database Th is is a diverse collection of information on over 1000 operatic arias, including translations and aria texts of most arias as well as a collection of MIDI files of operatic arias and ensembles.

Good Ear Online ear training and practice, basic intervals, jazz chords, chromatic scales, etc.

Internet Broadway Database Current and historical information about Broadway shows

Lied and Art Song Texts Page Updated frequently, this is an archive of texts used in thousands of Lieder and other classical art songs, as well as in many choral works and other types of classical vocal pieces. The collection indexes texts and includes translations to English, French, Italian, Dutch, German, Spanish, Portuguese, and other languages.

OnMusic Dictionary (formerly Multimedia Music Dictionary) from Virginia Tech provides this comprehensive dictionary that includes audio files for pronunciation and musical examples, as well as shockwave quizzes and simulations.

Ricci Adams' Musictheory.net Theory training and review, with graphics, midi files, and ledger paper to print out.

Here are some recommended gateway sites:

Infomine: Visual & Performing Arts Search or browse this collection of scholarly internet resources from UC Riverside

iPL2 Search for keywords or browse in categories such as Entertainment & Leisure or Reference, then drill down through the list of subcategories that appears on the left of each screen. You will find links to sources recommended by public and academic librarians.

Voice of the Shuttle: Music Use the search box on the upper right, click one of the links below, or scroll through the sections. This site is maintained by an English professor at UC Santa Barbara.

iPL2
Search for keywords or browse in categories such as Entertainment & Leisure or Reference, then drill down through the list of subcategories that appears on the left of each screen. You will find links to sources recommended by public and academic librarians.

Browse the Reference Collection

Reference materials on music, music theory, instrumentation, and music history are located in M, ML, and MT.

Use this guide to browse the Reference Collection for resources on Music. Reference items can be found in the main stacks on the second and third floor of the library unless noted in the catalog record:

M	MUSIC
ML	Literature on music
MT	Instruction and study

Online Reference Databases

Oxford Music Online
[Oxford] Provides access to scholarly and authoritative information online about music, musicians, musical genres, performers, instruments, and music history.