Research Guides: Mathematics Research Guide: Special Topics

Special Topics

Archimedes Home Page
Chris Rorres of the University of Pennsylvania maintains this web site which is "a collection of Archimedean miscellanea under continual development."
Fermat's Last Theorem: The Proof
From NOVA, the PBS series. For over 350 years, some of the greatest minds of science struggled to prove what was known as Fermat's Last Theorem -- the idea that a certain simple equation had no solutions. Site includes an interview with Andrew Wiles (the man who spent seven years of his life cracking the problem) and the story of Sophie Germain (an 18th century woman mathematician who hid her identity in order to work on Fermat's Last Theorem)(see links below).
Interview with Andrew Wiles
Sophie Germain
Flatland: A Romance of Many Dimensions
Edwin Abbott's classic geometrical story about a two-dimensional square who visits one- and three-dimensional worlds. (HSU Library also has a print copy. The call number is QA 699 A13 1991. A newer edition with notes and commentary by William F. Lindgren and Thomas F. Banchoff has the call number QA699 .A13 2010.)
Mathematical Quotations Server
This collection of mathematical quotations from many sources may be searched by keyword. You may also browse by name of person who originated the quotation.

National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines—both formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings.
Most resources in the library adhere to principles of Open Educational Resource (OER) access.
The EUROPEAN LIBRARY
Designed to meet the needs of the research community worldwide, this online portal offers quick and easy access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
Users can cross-search and reuse over 28,627,026 digital items and 175,511,348 bibliographic records.
To facilitate further research, links are also provided to other websites in the Europeana group.
World Digital Library (WDL)
The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.
Books, manuscripts, maps, and other primary materials on the site are not translated but presented in their original languages. More than 100 languages are represented on the WDL, including many lesser known and endangered languages.

WorldCat
Identify and locate resources in library collections worldwide. Connect to materials at Cal Poly Humboldt and other libraries from WorldCat records and article citations.