Research Guides: Environmental Science Research Guide: FindingArticles

Recommended Databases

GreenFILE [Ebsco]
Offers references to scholarly, government and general-interest publications covering all the aspects of human impact to the environment. Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and many more.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management [ProQuest]
Indexes journal articles and other literature covering environmental science and pollution
Geobase [Elsevier]
Index to research literature on the earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management, and nature conservation.
Academic Search Premier
Access to more than 13,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all academic disciplines from 1975 to the present.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) [Ebsco]
Provides a wide range of research resources, including subject coverage in the applied sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences, and technology.

Popular, Scholarly, and Trade Professional Sources in the Natural Resources & Sciences

How to Pre-Read Scholarly Articles

Also Recommended - Environmental Education and Interpretation

Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes journals, magazines and bulletins covering all fields of art, including graphic design.
ERIC
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) is the primary database for education literature. It includes both journal articles and other documents from 1966 to the present. The database is available from different vendors with article linking as well as from the freely available website.

Also Recommended - Environmental Planning

TRID
Indexes over 1 million records of published transportation research from books, technical reports, conferences and journals. Covers the planning, finance, design, construction, environmental issues, safety and operation of all modes of transportation--aviation, highway, marine, motor carriers, pedestrians, bicycles, pipelines, railroads and public transportation. The index is a combination of records from the former TRIS (Transportation Research Information Services) and ITRD (International Transport Research Documentation) databases. Many government documents link to fulltext.

Also Recommended - Recreation

ABI/INFORM Complete [ProQuest]
Business and management database featuring thousands of full-text journals, key newspapers (e.g. The Wall Street Journal), and country-and industry-focused reports and data.
SPORTDiscus [Ebsco]
Offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. With full bibliographic coverage, monographs dating back to 1949, and journal coverage to 1975, this database contains over 565,000 records and over 200,000 dissertations and theses.

Other Databases to Consider

ScienceDirect (Elsevier) [Elsevier]
Leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books. Set up a personal account to obtain special services such as table of contents mailings.
BIOSIS Previews [Clarivate]
An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
Annual Reviews
Contains critical reviews written by leading scientists in 33 disciplines within the biological, medical, physical, and social sciences.
BioOne
Full text of publications in bioscience, environmental science and ecology research journals published by high-impact scientific societies.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
HighWire Press Network
Includes fulltext articles from over 1,000 scholarly journals, with almost 50% being freely available and with indexing back to volume one for most journals.
JSTOR [JSTOR]
JSTOR is a digital library founded in 1995. Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals.
NTIS Database (National Technical Information Service)
Indexes over 3 million publications covering over 350 subject areas including technical, scientific, and related-business reports, produced by or for a government agency. Some international reports are included.
Oxford Journals [Oxford]
Full text access to scholarly and authoritative journals published by the Oxford University Press, covering the arts, humanities, social sciences, medicine, and technology.
Science.gov
Gateway to science information provided by 13 federal scientific agencies. Provides access to federal science web sites and databases containing technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials on science topics. Browse websites by broad subject area or search websites and databases by keyword.
SpringerLink [Springer]
Access to scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
US Government Publications Monthly Catalog
Finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
Wiley Online Library [Wiley]
Multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It provides access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, over 14,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
WorldCat
Identify and locate resources in library collections worldwide. Connect to materials at HSU and other libraries from WorldCat records and article citations.

Looking For A Specific Journal?

Use the Journal Finder to search for journal titles by name.

Google Scholar

Link your Google Scholar results to HSU and see which articles you have access to as an HSU student. View this short video for demonstration on how to do this.

How do I find journal articles on my topic?

There are search strategy guides tailored to science: Identifying Concepts and Generating Search Terms and AND, OR, NOT (Boolean Operators).

Citation Searching

If you know of an article on your topic, you may use Citation Linker to locate the article.

Always look at the References list at the end of each relevant article you find, to see if any of the listed sources might be useful!

Google Scholar is useful when searching citations. The Advanced Scholar Search option is the best way to search for articles which cite a known article. Check the "Cited by #" link below a search result to find additional useful sources - more recent articles which cite that relevant or classic article.

More ways to search citations may also be found in the Citation Searching section of Searching the Scientific Literature.

Peer-Reviewed Article?

Peer-reviewed articles have been read and evaluated by experts in the field to determine their quality and relevance to the subject they address before being published.

The links below explain more about peer-reviewed articles and the peer-review process.

Peer Review in 3 Minutes is a brief tutorial, from North Carolina State University that explains the peer review process in detail.