The HSU Library is dedicated to supporting your research and learning needs as the campus transitions to online instruction. Learn more about how we can help.

Skip to main content

Continuity Planning: COVID-19

Resources for transitioning to distributed online learning and teaching.

Accessing Textbooks

Requests & Questions

Please note- we are trying to provide online access to as many textbooks as possible. If you have a specific request or question regarding textbook access, please email us.

View the current course reserves. We are working on getting increased online access through our database providers. We will link e-book/online versions of your sources if we find them, but it may take some time for us to search through resources and find a copy.  

While we will try to find free copies for you though various resources, you may consider/need to contact the publisher directly to access some texts.  If we cannot find a copy though services/products that publishers have made freely accessible during these times, we will work with you directly to find other options. If none of these options work to provide your class access to their course reserves, you can also reach out to the Accessibility Resource Center (arcs@humboldt.edu) to request digitization of specific chapters of your text from the physical copy.

McGraw-Hill

For Faculty who use Connect

If you need textbook access for students, please reach out to Missy Stoll at McGraw-Hill Missy.Stoll@mheducation.com with a class code, class name, textbook name, and the number of students needing access.

For faculty not using Connect

Complete this online form:

Request Connect and a Course Build

Pearson

Additional Resources

Our regular journal and article access is available through the semester. We will post any outages or changes here.

Many vendors are providing complimentary access to online resources through the semester. See below for details.

Enhanced and Complimentary Access to Online Resources for Spring Semester 2020

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street/ProQuest) (end date April 22, 2020)

68,000 titles spanning anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Bloomsbury Digital Resources (end date June 1, 2020)

Arcadian Library Online
Berg Fashion Library
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts
Bloomsbury Architecture Library
Bloomsbury Collections
Bloomsbury Cultural History
Bloomsbury Design Library
Bloomsbury Education and Childhood Studies
Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Philosophers
Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases
Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive
Bloomsbury Food Library
Bloomsbury Medieval Studies
Bloomsbury Popular Music
Churchill Archive
Drama Online
Fairchild Books Library
Fashion Photography Archive
Human Kinetics Library
Screen Studies
Theology & Religion Online

EBSCO is providing enhanced access to eBook collections and journal packages (through June 30):

EBSCOhost Academic Search Ultimate (comprehensive journal package)
EBSCOhost Business Source Ultimate (comprehensive business journal package)
EBSCO eBook Collections (coverage includes Academic, Business, Clinical, Engineering, History, and Religion titles)
EBSCO Faculty Select Open Ed Resources (DRM-free eBooks)

Emerald Insight (end date Mid-May)

Includes access to: Emerald eJournal Premier; Emerald Books - Business Management And Economics; Emerald Books - Social Sciences; Emerald Books -  Transport

HeinOnline Academic (end date December 15, 2020)

Access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Includes Fastcase, a leading next-generation legal research service.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library (end date June 1, 2020)

Full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in engineering and technology.

JoVE Science Education (end date June 15, 2020)

A video library dedicated to teaching scientific fundamentals through simple easy-to-understand video demonstrations.

JSTOR

JSTOR and participating publishers are making an expanded set of content freely available to support students displaced due to COVID-19.

Oxford Biblical Studies Online (end date April 16, 2020)

Comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history.

Oxford Very Short Introductions (end date April 16, 2020)

Concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory.

ProQuest Central (end date TBD)

Complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.

R2 Digital Library (Rittenhouse) (end date May 31, 2020)

Medical, nursing and allied health source book content from key health science publishers.

SAGE Video
SAGE Research Methods Video
SAGE Knowledge (Books and Reference)

ScienceDirect All Access Books (end date June 30, 2020)

Access to eBooks, including 256 eTextbooks.

Additional Resources with links in process:

American Chemical Society (ACS)

eBooks, Guide to Scholarly Communication

Docuseek

Harvard Business Review (EBSCO)

MIT Press Direct

Walter Kluwer Ovid

  • LWW Health Library: 
    • Premium Basic Sciences
    • Clerkship
    • Board Review Series
    • Internal Medicine
    • Physician Assistant (Core and Specialties/Rotations)
    • Exercise Science
    • Physical Therapy
    • Occupational Therapy
    • Premium Pharmacy
    • Advanced Practice Nursing
    • Nursing Made Incredibly Easy
  • Firecracker
  • Firecracker PA
  • Acland’s Atlas of Human Anatomy
  • Bates Visual Guide
  • 5 Minute Clinical Consult

The Royal Society (end date TBD)

World Scientific

Other Publishers and Vendors

Cengage Unlimited

Free access for students (rolling trial access with account)
See: https://www.cengage.com/covid-19-support/

Pearson
Free eText access via RedShelf and VitalSource

See: https://www.pearson.com/us/campaigns/covid-19-student-support.html

RedShelf

Aggregator providing free eBook access from numerous publishers
Info: https://solve.redshelf.com/hc/en-us/categories/360003333794-RedShelf-Responds-to-COVID-19-Outbreak

Taylor & Francis
Offering free eBook access via RedShelf and VitalSource

VitalSource
Aggregator providing free eBook access from numerous publishers
Info: https://get.vitalsource.com/vitalsource-helps

Database Trials

Visit our database trials page for information on possible new electronic subscription services. You are invited to provide feedback.

Online SkillShops

Research & Academic Growth

All face-to-face SkillShops have been cancelled for Spring 2020 but we still have many online SkillShops that students can complete. You can add any of our online SkillShops as an assignment in your course by importing the SkillShop from the Canvas Commons (instructions on importing from Canvas Commons). For more details about using SkillShops in your course, visit the SkillShops Faculty support page.

Professional Growth

Research Help

Research Help

To contact a Librarian for help with your research project, please email the Research Help Desk. We will respond as quickly as we can to answer your question and/or set up a phone call or web conferencing.

Research Help Hours

Currently, research help hours are 10:00 am to 4:00 pm but may change when the semester resumes on 3/26/20.