Anthropology Research Guide

This selection was compiled by retired librarian, Corryn Crosby-Muilenburg

Comprehensive Web Pages

Electronic Reference Sources

Special Topics

Women in Development

Indexes & Reference

Style Manuals

Calendars

Comprehensive Web Pages

• American Anthropological Association Resources on the Internet
• ANSS Homepage
• AnthroHub (University of California Berkeley) - Search the full text of all monographs and periodicals published by the UCB Anthropology Department
• Archaeology Data Service
• Athena Review's Guide to Archaeology on the Internet
• California Academy of Sciences Anthropology Collections
• Centre for Social Anthropology and Computing - You may search a 13,800 entry bibliography on social anthropology or access an index to United Kingdom social anthropology theses.
• Encyclopedia Mythica
• Michael Kearl's Anthropology Links
• Center for a Public Anthropology
• Yale University Library Anthropology Research Guide

Electronic Reference Sources

• AnthroHub (University of California Berkeley) - Search the full text of all monographs and periodicals published by the UCB Anthropology Department
• Countries and Their Cultures [restricted to the Cal Poly Humboldt community]
• Encyclopedia of Food and Culture [restricted to the Cal Poly Humboldt community]
• Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America [restricted to the Cal Poly Humboldt community]
• One Europe Many Nations: a Historical Dictionary of European National Groups [restricted to the Cal Poly Humboldt community]

Special Topics

• AAA Careers/Placement in Anthropology
• American Ethnological Society
• Ancient MesoAmerican Civilizations-Maya,Mixtec,Zapotec, & Aztec
• Anthro Globe
• Anthropology in the News
• Anthropology Library Research Guide - University of Alabama
• Anthropology Newsgroups
• Careers in Physical Anthropology
• Council for British Archaeology Online
• FAQ on Careers in Anthropology
• Handbook of Ethical Issues in Anthropology (AAA)
• Human Relations Area Files Guide
• Links to Aboriginal Resources
• Links to the Past: National Park Service Cultural Resources
• Mesoweb: an exploration of Mesoamerican cultures
• Middle East North Africa Internet Resource Guide
• National Anthropological Archives Home Page
• National Park Service Southeast Archaeological Center
• Native American Sites
• Nuer Field Notes
• TRADERS: Voices from the Trading Post
• Understanding Prejudice.Org

Women in Development

• Association for Women in Development
• Gender Research Network
• Global Fund for Women
• International Links
• International Women's Conferences, Concerns & Resources
• United Nations Division for the Advancement of Women
• Women for Women International: Humanitarian Relief for Survivors of Crisis
• Women in Development NETwork
• Women's Environment and Development Organization
• World Bank
• Women's International Network (WIN) News
• Women in Global Science and Technology
• World Wide Web Virtual Library Sustainable Development

Indexes and Reference

• Academic Search Premier [restricted to the Cal Poly Humboldt community] - Contains fulltext of some journal articles.
• Anthropology Plus [restricted to the Cal Poly Humboldt community]
• Anthropology Biography Web
• Anthromorphemics: Anthropology Glossary
• First Nation Seeker
• PrimateLit

Style Manuals

• American Anthropological Association
• Auburn University Citation Style Guides -- Citing Electronic Sources
• A Brief Citation Guide for Internet Sources in History and the Humanities
• Citation Machine
• Society for American Archaeology Journal Style Guide

Calendars

• Royal Anthropological Institute Calendar of Events