Anthropology Research Guide

This selection was compiled by retired librarian, Corryn Crosby-Muilenburg.

Dictionaries

• Anthropological Glossary (GN 11 P43 1985)
• Dictionary of Anthropology (GN 307 D485 1997)
• Dictionary of Anthropology (GN 11 W5)
• Dictionary of Concepts in Archaeology (CC 70 M45 1993)
• Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology (GN 307 W56 1991)
• Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology (GN 50.3 S74 1991)
• Dictionary of Native American Literature (PM 155 D53 1994)
• Encyclopedic Dictionary of Archaeology (CC 70 K56 2000)
• Penguin Archaeology Guide (CC 70 P46 2001)

Encyclopedias

• Archaeological Method and Theory: An Encyclopedia (CC 75 A654 2000)
• Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution (GN 281 C345 1992)
• Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers (GN 388 C35 1999)
• Cambridge Illustrated History of Prehistoric Art (N 5310 B34 1998)
• Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology: Humanity, Culture & Social Life (GN 25 C65 1994)
• Encyclopedia of Anthropology (GN 11 E63 2006)
• Encyclopedia of Archaeology (CC 100 E54 2001)
• Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology (GN 307 E52 1996)
• Encyclopedia of Evolution (GN 281 M53 1990)
• Encyclopedia of Human Biology (QP 11 E53 1997)
• Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory (GN 281 E53 2000)
• Encyclopedia of Prehistory (GN 710 E53 2001)
• Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology (GN 307 E525 2002)
• Encyclopedia of Taboos (GN 471.4 H65 2000)
• Encyclopedia of the Third World (HC 59.7 E52 1992)
• Encyclopedia of Underwater and Maritime Archaeology (CC 77 U5 E53 1998)
• Encyclopedia of World Cultures (GN 307 E53 1991)
• Ethnic Relations: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia (GN 496 L48 1994)
• Historical Atlas of World Mythology (BL 311 C26 1983)
• Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery (HT 861 H57 1997)
• Historical Guide to World Slavery (HT 861 H59 1998)
• International Encyclopedia of Sexuality (HQ 21 I 68 1998)
• Marriage, Family, and Relationships: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia (GN 480 B76 1994)
• Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life (GN 333 W67 1998)

Handbooks

• Anthropology of Religion: A Handbook (GN 470 A55 1997)
• CRC Ethnobotany Desk Reference (GN 476.73 J66 1999)
• Cross-Cultural Perspectives on Human Sexuality (HQ 16 C37 1998)
• Ethnic Groups Worldwide: A Ready Reference Handbook (GN 325 L46 1998)
• Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology
• Handbook of Social and Cultural Anthropology (GN 315 H642)
• Motif-index of Folk Literature (GR 67 T52 1955)
• National Cultures of the World: A Statistical Reference (HA 155 P37 1997)
• Oxford Companion to Archaeology (CC 70 O96 1996)
• Religious Cultures of the World: A Statistical Reference (ref BL 85 P325 1997)

Literature Reviews

• Annual Review of Anthropology(print:1972-2004) (GN 1 A623)
• Annual Review of Anthropology(online)
• Yearbook of Physical Anthropology (GN 49 Y43)

Indexes and Abstracts - see Articles and Databases - Anthropology

Guides to Research and the Literature

• Anthropological Research: Process and Application (GN 397.5 A564 1992)
• Anthropological Resources: A Guide to Archival, Library and Museum Collections (GN 14 A77 1999)
• Archaeology: A Bibliographical Guide to the Basic Literature (CC 165 H45)
• Cultural Anthropology: A Guide to Reference and Information (GN 42 K53 1991)
• Fieldwork in the Library: A Guide to Research in Anthropology and Related Area Studies (GN 42 W47 1994)
• Guide to the National Anthropological Archives (GN 17 G54 1992)
• Introduction to Library Research in Anthropology (GN 42 W44 1998)
• Keyguide to Information Sources in Archaeology (CC 120 W66 1984)

Human Relations Area Files

• Atlas of World Cultures, George P. Murdock (GN 345.3 M86 1981)
• Atlas of World Cultures: A Geographical Guide To Ethnographic Literature , David H. Price (G 1046 E1 P7 1989)
• Diversity and Homogeneity in World Societies (GN 405 B65)
• Index to the Human Relations Area Files (microfiche MC 1639)
• HRAF Source Bibliography (GN 316 H85)
• Outline of Cultural Materials (GN 345.3 O95 1982)
• Outline of World Cultures (GN 345.3 M87 1983)
• Worldwide Theory Testing (GN 345.7 N37)

Atlases

• Atlas of Human Evolution (GN 282 B7 1979)
• Atlas of Man (GN 378 A84)
• Atlas of the North American Indian (E 77 W195 2000)
• Atlas of World Archaeology (CC 165 A85 2000)
• Atlas of World Cultures, David H. Price (G 1046 E1 P7 1989)
• Atlas of World Population History (HB 851 M32 1978b)
• Past Worlds: The Times Atlas of Archaeology (G 1046 E15 P3 1988)
• World Atlas of Archaeology (G 1046 E15 W6 1985)

Graduate Study/Careers

• Guide to Careers in Physical Anthropology (GN 62 G85 2002)

Biographical Sources

• International Dictionary of Anthropologists (GN 20 I5 1991)
• Fifty Key Anthropologists