Getting Started
Ask a librarian to help you find credible sources for your research assignment!
You can contact me directly for a consultation.
--Tony
If you want to learn about peer-reviewed journals and evaluating sources, check out Research Roadmap.Historical News Databases
Also see our Newspaper Research Guide.
- California Digital Newspaper CollectionSearch and view scanned California newspapers from 1846 to the present. This collection contains 55,970 issues comprising 495,175 pages and 5,658,224 articles.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- Historical New York TimesSearchable full page image access to the New York Tim es.
- Times Standard Full TextHSU users may also search full-text articles from the Times-Standard from September 15, 2001 to date.
- Times-Standard IndexIndex to identify older articles, published 1989 to 2005. Use microfilm (MF10) to obtain actual articles.
How To Videos
The following short videos will show you how to accomplish some basic research tasks.
- Interlibrary LoanThis video shows how to use our interlibrary loan service, which is free. Use it to borrow books or to get copies of articles that our library doesn't have. Sometimes, you can borrow videos or CDs, too. All you have to do is supply the information about what you want to borrow; we do the rest. Items usually come in about a week.
- HSU Library YouTube ChannelView some of our video tutorials on YouTube.
- Video TutorialsHere is a link to all of our short how-to videos for library research. Some were created by librarians at Humboldt State; some come from other places.
Databases for History - Highly Recommended
You may come across articles that aren't available in full text. Look for the "Find It @ HSU" icon to borrow fom other libraries with our interlibrary loan service.
- Academic Search EliteIndexes 3,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all academic disciplines from 1984 to the present. Includes fulltext from 1,200 journals.
Peer Reviewed: Some; can limit to peer reviewed
Coverage Dates: 1982 - present - America: History and LifeIndex to scholarly research from 1964 to the present on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present appearing in 2,000 journals, book chapters, dissertations, and media.
Peer review: Scholarly sources, not all are peer reviewed - Historical AbstractsComplete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). This database of over 2,000 journals is packed with annotated references to information on topics from the Renaissance to Tiananmen Square.
Peer review: Yes - JSTORBrowseable and searchable fulltext archive containing all articles from 117 scholarly journals from their first volume to a point five years before the present.
Peer Reviewed
Database Guides When printing in the Library and campus computer labs choose "Option 2" since the Adobe Acrobat Reader is already installed and available.
Relationship to Print Edition The HSU Library has many of these journals available in a print edition - Wiley Online Library Fulltext Internet access to over 1100 Wiley-Blackwell journals online as well as searchable contents listings, abstracts, and related web sites. Individual users may register to create personal home pages incorporating data files, article links, and stored searches. Journals are volume 1 to present.
Peer review: Yes
Publications Indexed: Journals List
Databases for History - Also Recommended
- ACLS Humanities E-BookThe ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of over 1000 books in the field of history, accessible through institutional and individual subscription. Approximately 250 books are added annually to the collection, as well as a carefully selected list of new XML titles that have the potential to use web-based technologies to communicate the results of scholarship in new ways.
- Anthropology PlusCombines 2 files: Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present
Peer review: Most - ArchiveGridArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions (finding aids) to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
- ArticleFirstIndexes the table of contents of 16,000 journals in all subject areas from 1990 to the present. Search by title keyword or author in all journals. Search for articles in a specific journal by author, title or keyword or browse the table of contents of individual issues. See ArticleFirst for further descriptions.
- Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature DatabaseIndexes articles from English language and multi-lingual journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent.
Usually from Vol. 1 of the indexed periodical. - Bibliography of Asian Studies The online Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) references western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
Peer review: Some scholarly sources are included, but cannot limit to these - Dissertations and Theses: the Humanities and Social Sciences CollectionThis database identifies more than 1 million dissertations and theses in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Most U.S. dissertations and theses are available fulltext, as well. Coverage 1637 to present.
Peer Reviewed Yes - ERIC (EBSCO) Index to education literature, including articles from 775 journals, plus research reports and curricular materials. Most of the non-journal literature is available via an online link (1996 forward) on microfiche in the HSU Library. The database indexes publications 1966 to the present.
Peer review: EJ items generally peer reviewed; ED items generally not; can limit to peer reviewed - Gale Virtual Reference Library Combined search for 120 fulltext reference works from Gale Research. Useful for biographical and encyclopedia information.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies Index to scholarly literature on Latin America covering the social sciences and humanities from 1935 to the present.
Peer review: Scholarly materials are included, but cannot limit to these - OmniFile Full Text MegaIndexes over 270 popular magazines in all disciplines and over 2,500 scholarly journals in business, the humanities, general science, education, and the social sciences from 1982 to the present. Includes fulltext to over 1,300 of them from 1994 to the present. Also includes some indexing and fulltext coverage in technology and engineering, art, biology, natural resources, law, and library science.
- Project MUSE167 fulltext scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies. Some journals are backfile only, but most cover both current and archival issues.
Peer review: Yes - WorldCatIndex of 200 million books, government documents, technical reports, media, maps, sound recordings, and other monographic materials found in 50,000 libraries worldwide. See also WorldCat
Peer review: Some
License Agreement: User Rights
Research Help |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Art, Dance, Film, History, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Theatre, World Languages & Cultures |
Google Scholar
Don't forget to set Library Links to Humboldt State University under Google Scholar Settings! That will connect you to FindIt@HSU.

Loading...
