This is the "Home:
Welcome" page of the "Legal Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Legal Research Guide   Tags: law  

Last Updated: Aug 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.humboldt.edu/LegalResearch Print Guide RSS Updates

Home: Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Katia G. Karadjova
Contact Info
Library Office L3
(707) 826-5617

Office Hours
Research Help Desk:
Monday: 4 pm - 7 pm,
Thursday: 10 am - 11:30 am
L3: by appointment
Send Email
 

Please share your thoughts

Please let us know what you think of this Research Guide. 

Thanks for taking the time to comment.  

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Getting Started

Ask a librarian to help you find credible sources for your research assignment!

You can contact me directly for a consultation.

~ Katia

If you want to refresh you research skills, check out Begin Your Research tutorial. 

Legal Research Databases

  • LexisNexis Academic  Icon
    Fulltext database containing over 12,000 news, business, legal, and other sources including newspapers, magazines, radio and television transcripts, newswires, newsletters, opinion polls, and legal materials. In addition the legal section includes fulltext of law reviews, legal reference works, and laws, court cases and regulations.
  • ProQuest Congressional Publications  Icon
    Full text database to publications and public policy issues related to the U.S. Congress. Included in the searchable database are member information, bills, hearing transcripts, committee prints and other Congressional documents, the Congressional Record, public laws, the U.S. Code and Congressional news sources. Links to specific parts of ProQuest Congressional are found in the Statutory, Case and Administrative Law: Federal and California research guide.
  • Free Full-Text Online Law Review/Journal Search
    Searches the free full-text of over 400 online law reviews and law journals, as well as document repositories hosting academic papers and related publications such as Congressional Research Service reports.
  • Google Scholar
    Fulltext database containing the legal opinions of federal and state supreme, appellate and district courts. Also indexes law review journals. "Cited By" links lists subsequent opinions and other legal resources that have cited an opinion or law review article.
  • Academic Search Premier  Icon
    Indexes major scholarly journals and popular magazines in all academic disciplines. Includes more than 150 legal journals and magazines
  • OmniFile Full Text Mega  Icon
    Indexes major popular magazines and scholarly journals covering general topics, business, humanities, general science, education, and the social sciences. Includes over 350 legal journals and magazines.
  • CQ Weekly  
      
      Icon
    Weekly fulltext report of legislation and other activities in the U.S. Congress, including the status of bills, votes and amendments, and floor and committee activity. Coverage 1983 to the present.
  • NCJRS  Icon  Icon
    Comprehensive database providing access to scholarly literature (abstracts) in the field of law enforcement, criminal justice, and criminology.

Current Awareness

Local Law Libraries

 

Searching Legal Information on LexisNexis Academic

Listed below are resources that provide guidance in searching for legal information in LexisNexis Academic.

  • Areas of Law (LexisNexis) Provides guidance in searching specific legal areas, e.g., education law, consumer law, entertainment law.
  • Boolean Searching (LexisNexis) Lists options for connecting keywords and wildcard symbols for keyword truncation.
  • Common Legal Document Sections (LexisNexis) See Constructing a Segment Search for how to limit your search to a specific section of a document.
  • Legal Citation Formats (LexisNexis) Gives examples of the precise format that must be entered if you want to search using a legal citation.
  • Lexis Nexis Academic Legal Research Guide (University of Arizona Law Library) Gives a step-by-step approach for searching the different types of legal resources available in LexisNexis Academic.
  • Shepard's Citations (LexisNexis) Gives the procedure for how to determine the "status" of a case and to view all citations to the case.
 

Content Attribution

Some of the content of this guide was created in another format by Robert Sathrum, HSU Librarian, retired 06/2013. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip