Interlibrary Loan
You may come across articles that aren't available in full text. Look for the "Find It @ HSU" icon to borrow fom other libraries with our interlibrary loan service.
Comments (0)
Databases - Highly Recommended
- Academic Search EliteIndexes 3,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all academic disciplines from 1984 to the present. Includes fulltext from 1,200 journals.
Peer Reviewed: Some; can limit to peer reviewed
Coverage Dates: 1982 - present - OmniFile Full Text MegaIndexes over 270 popular magazines in all disciplines and over 2,500 scholarly journals in business, the humanities, general science, education, and the social sciences from 1982 to the present. Includes fulltext to over 1,300 of them from 1994 to the present. Also includes some indexing and fulltext coverage in technology and engineering, art, biology, natural resources, law, and library science.
- National JournalOnline version of nonpartisan weekly print journal on politics, policy and government, providing daily news and analysis of key political and policy developments. Archives are searchable from 1977 on, and campus users can sign up for email alerts providing an advance look at the content of weekly issues.
- CQ Electronic Library Offers combined search of CQ Researcher and CQ Weekly
- LexisNexis AcademicFulltext database containing over 12,000 news, business, legal, and other sources including newspapers, magazines, radio and television transcripts, newswires, newsletters, opinion polls, and legal materials. For additional description see LexisNexis Academic. To search for a particular title, use the HSU Library Journal and Newspaper Finder.
- ProQuest Congressional PublicationsFull text database to publications and public policy issues related to the U.S. Congress. Included in the searchable database are member information, bills, hearing transcripts, committee prints and other Congressional documents, the Congressional Record, public laws, the U.S. Code and Congressional news sources.
Databases - Also Recommended
- ProQuest Statistical Insight Comprehensive index to statistical tables found within publications produced by U.S. government agencies and a more selective index to statistical tables from intergovernmental organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. Selectively includes table images, excel spreadsheets and publication fulltext.
Peer review: Some - Communication & Mass Media CompleteIndexes 400 scholarly and popular magazines on communications and mass media. Includes fulltext for nearly 200 journals. CMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals and selected coverage for over 100 more.
Peer Reviewed: Partial, can limit to peer reviewed
Coverage Dates: unknown - unknown - Sociological Abstracts CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added since 1973 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
- America: History and LifeIndex to scholarly research from 1964 to the present on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present appearing in 2,000 journals, book chapters, dissertations, and media.
Peer review: Scholarly sources, not all are peer reviewed - Historical AbstractsComplete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). This database of over 2,000 journals is packed with annotated references to information on topics from the Renaissance to Tiananmen Square.
Peer review: Yes - Historical New York TimesThis service offers searchable full page image access to the New York Times, 1851-2006. For the text of articles 2007 to the present, consult LexisNexis Academic or ProQuest Newspapers. The HSU Library receives a print subscription to the New York Times.
- California Newspapers This online version covering 1984 to the present contains complete fulltext content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Peer review: No
Other useful databases
- Field PollThe Field Poll provides data on public opinion in California from independent, non-partisan, media-sponsored public opinion news service.
- Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research (ICPSR)Founded in 1962 ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields
- Roper Center for Public Opinion ResearchThe center provides data on polls of public opinion from US and international sources.
- Dissertations and Theses: the Humanities and Social Sciences CollectionThis database identifies more than 1 million dissertations and theses in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Most U.S. dissertations and theses are available fulltext, as well. Coverage 1637 to present.
Peer Reviewed Yes - Sustainability Science Abstracts Indexes and abstracts articles from over 400 journals, as well as papers, reports, books, conference proceedings, and reviews on the sustainability of natural resources. This is a subfile of Environmental Science and Pollution Management. Coverage is from 2003 to the present. Updated monthly.
Peer review: Can limit to peer reviewed - Water Resources Abstracts Index to scientific and engineering literature on the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water from 1967 to the present. See also Water Resources Abstracts
Peer review: Partial. Can limit to peer-reviewed journals. - GeobaseIndex to literature on geology, ecology, geography including geographical information systems, international development and oceanography published in 5,000 journals and other publications from 1980 to the present. See also Geobase.
Peer Reviewed Mostly
Jeremy C. Shellhase |
Contact Info I will be on sabbatical leave during the Spring 2013 Term. During this time, please contact the Acting Collection Development Librarian, Wayne Perryman, ( wayne.perryman@humboldt.edu or (707) 826-5598 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
