Learn more about how the Cal Poly Humboldt Library can help
support your research and learning needs.

Stay updated at Campus Ready.

Skip to Main Content

Zoology Research Guide

Guides

Guide to Reference and Information Sources in the Zoological Sciences (Schmidt) 2003 (ref QL 45.2 S35 2003) Each taxonomically-oriented chapter includes sections on indexes and bibliographies; core journals; dictionaries and encyclopedias; checklists, taxonomics works and field guides; handbooks; key works by systematics and geography. Includes both print and Internet resources.

Directories

IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
(World Conservation Union) Provides taxonomic, conservation status and distribution information on taxa that are facing a high risk of global extinction.

Internet Subject Directories/Gateways/Portals

Entomology Index of Internet Resources: A Directory and Search Engine of Insect-Related Resources on the Internet
(VanDyk, Iowa State University)

See also General Biology

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Bibliography of General Works in Mammalogy
(Wahlert) Introductory bibliography to monographic literature found in the Department of Mammology at the American Museum of Natural History on general mammalogy, zoogeography, and specific orders.

Mammals of the World. Vol. III. A Classified Bibliography (Walker) 1964 (ref QL 703 W22 vol 3) Older bibliography that contains approximately 70,000 references spanning the years 1830 to 1960. The bibliography is arranged into three groupings--taxonomic, geographic, and general.

PrimateLit
(Wisconsin Primate Research Center and Washington National Primate Research Center) Indexes scientific literature on nonhuman primates from 1940 to present.

Taxonomy

International Code of Zoological Nomenclature
(International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature) 1999
Nomenclator Zoologicus
(Neave) 1939- (print copy available in Ref QL 354 N4) Catalog of the bibliographic origins of the names of every genus (340,000 names) and subgenus in the published literature since the tenth edition of Linnaeus’ System Natureae in 1758 up to 1994