Research Guides: Social Work Research Guide: Data & Statistics

This Page is a Work in Progress

This page is a work in progress and is not a comprehensive list of resources. If you have a resource you would like included, or find a broken link or incorrect information, please email amd212@humboldt.edu.

Statistics

Library Databases (log-in required)

Data Planet is the largest single repository of harmonized and structured statistical data available to libraries. Data Planet simplifies data analysis for everyone and allows researchers to access statistics relevant to their areas of study and interest.

Humboldt County

Humboldt County Data Profile - from the U.S. Census Bureau
Humboldt County Quick Facts Demographic information for Humboldt County.

California

California Department of Social Services Data Portal data intended to inform the public about social services programs and policies serving California residents.

U.S. Federal Statistical Agencies

Bureau of Economic Analysis
Bureau of Justice Statistics find statistics on corrections, courts, victims, types of crime, law enforcement and more. Also includes information on human trafficking.
Bureau of Labor Statistics the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
U.S. Census Bureau
Economic Research Service
Energy Information Administration
National Agricultural Statistics Service
National Center for Education Statistics
National Center for Health Statistics
Internal Revenue Service: Statistics (Statistics of Taxes and Income)

Other United States Statistics Sites

Data.Census.Gov primary portal to U.S. Census data (formerly American Factfinder)
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to thousands of social science datasets for research and instruction. Take a look at the ICPSR thematic data collections page for collections organized around specific topics.
Statistical Abstract of the United States Available through 2011. After 2011 the Abstract will no longer be published, although the data will still be available through the Census and other government organizations.
Measure of America (online) this interactive resource lets you compare the Human Development Index in different parts of the United States.
Data.gov The home of the U.S. government's open data, launched in 2009 and is managed and hosted by the U.S. General Services Administration
Data and Statistics About the United States Federal statistics from a variety of sources such as the Census, the American Community Survey, Labor Statistics, and more.
PEW Research Center A wealth of statistics from surveys ranging on topics from poverty, education, technology, race and culture, LGBTQ community, and more.
Statistical Sites on the Web A list of statistical sites online from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Sunlight Foundation U.S. government open data and policy analysis. National, nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that uses the tools of civic tech, open data, policy analysis, and journalism to make our government and politics more accountable and transparent to all.

International

UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) is the official and trusted source of internationally-comparable data on education, science, culture and communication.
Social and Welfare Statistics Social and welfare statistics from the international Organisation for Economic Development and Cooperation.
European Union: Eurostat
Food and Agricultural Organization
International Energy Agency
International Labour Organization
International Labour Organization: ILOSTAT Database
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development
United Nations International Computing Centre
United Nations Statistical Division
UN Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) Statistical Division
UN Industrial Development Organization Statistics
World Health Organization Statistical Information System
National Statistical Offices websites (maintained by the United Nations)

Administration for Children Families - Statistics & Research government agency that compiles statistics and funds research with other agencies. Provides state and national data. Includes statistics on adoption and foster care; child abuse and neglect; and child welfare.
ChildStats: Forum on Child and Family Statistics The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 22 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. The Forum's annual report, America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, provides the Nation with a summary of national indicators of child well-being and monitors changes in these indicators over time.
California Child Welfare Indicators Project Choose the "Measures" option to find statistical information.
Child Welfare Information Gateway - Statistics "Find reports, databases, and other sources of statistics and demographic data on children and families in the United States, child abuse and neglect, child welfare services, children and youth in foster care, and domestic and international adoption." (U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services)
Kids Count Data Center Statistics, reports and analysis on issues relating to children and families in the U.S. (Annie E. Casey Foundation)

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics "Data from more than 100 published and unpublished sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States." (University at Albany, Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center)
Bureau of Justice Statistics find statistics on corrections, courts, victims, types of crime, law enforcement and more. Also includes information on human trafficking.

The National Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence Survey (NISVS) an ongoing survey from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention that collects the most current and comprehensive national- and state-level data on intimate partner violence, sexual violence and stalking victimization in the United States. CDC developed NISVS to collect data on these important public health problems and enhance violence prevention efforts.

Digest of Education Statistics is a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. The Digest includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
National Center for Education Statistics

Administration on Aging: Statistics This information is a wide variety of statistical information about the growing population of people 65+.

National Center for Health Statistics Federal health statistics from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
NCHS Data Briefs statistical publications that provide information about current public health topics. Each report takes a complex data subject and summarizes it in text and graphics that provide readers with easily comprehensible information in a compact publication (PDF) and webpage.

United States Interagency Council on Homelessness Find statistics, reports, and programs for homeless people from federal, state, local, and non-profit agencies.

Trafficking in Persons Report The Trafficking in Persons (TIP) Report is the U.S. Government’s principal diplomatic tool to engage foreign governments on human trafficking.

American Immigration Council Regional fact sheets and reports on immigration topics in the U.S.
Immigration Data and Statistics Department of Homeland Security reports and data sets on immigration.

National Institute of Mental Health Understanding the scope and treatment of mental health problems in the US is central to NIMH's mission. Easily navigable resources highlight a collection of NIMH's best data on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders.
SAMHSA: Data, Outcomes and Quality A collection of data, surveys, and other publications organized by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).

National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics The National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics (NCVAS) supports planning, analysis, and decision-making activities through the collection, validation, analysis, and dissemination of key statistics on Veteran population and VA programs.

Public Opinion Research

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (Cornell University) collects, preserves, and disseminates public opinion data
Gallup works to identify and monitor behavioral economic indicators worldwide.
Pew Research Center conducts public opinion polling, demographic studies, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
Marist College Institute for Public Opinion (MIPO) is a survey research center covering a wide range of topics including politics, money, family, spirituality, sports, entertainment, and more.
National Opinion Research Center (NORC) The University of Chicago's NORC conducts social science research projects in the area of public interest. The projects span local, regional, national, and international levels.
General Social Survey The GSS is the 2nd most frequently analyzed information source in the social sciences.
RealClearPolitics (RCP) is an independent, non-partisan media company that covers all aspects of the U.S. political process including policy, elections and government.
Public Policy Polling was formed in 2001 to measure and track public opinion.