Psychology Research Guide

PsycINFO is a database that is offered through several different database vendors. Cal Poly Humboldt provides access to this database through EBSCOhost. The database provides abstracts and citations to the research literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. PsycINFO provides the indexing for more than 2500 journals, 99% of which are peer-reviewed. Included are citations and abstracts (summaries) of peer-reviewed journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports. PsycARTICLES, also offered by APA and available through EBSCOhost, is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and others. This database provides coverage and content for 100+ journals (1894 to the present).  If you search PsycINFO, you will get access to the full text of articles in both databases. 

Although the Cal Poly Humboldt Library provides linked full text to PsycINFO citations, not all article and book citations in PsychINFO are full-text. Please use the "Find it at HSU" link for finding out if our library links to the full-text elsewhere. If you cannot locate the full text of an item, our library offers a free interlibrary loan service. 

Short answer: Use PsycINFO 

You can find everything in PsycARTICLES by using PsycINFO - and much more. PsycARTICLES is much smaller than PsycINFO. It only covers about 118 journals compared to PsycINFO's 2,500+. APA PsycINFO also indexes books, book chapters, and dissertations. Both are created by the American Psychological Association.