Learn more about how the Cal Poly Humboldt Library can help
support your research and learning needs.

Stay updated at Campus Ready.

Skip to Main Content

Children's Collection

Guide for the Children's Collection at the Cal Poly Humboldt Library

About the Collection



The Children's Literature Collection at Cal Poly Humboldt contains fiction and nonfiction children's and young adult literature. This collection is located on the 2nd floor of the University Library next to the video and CD collection.

The purpose of the Children's Collection is to support the educational needs of Cal Poly Humboldt students, especially those studying children's literature. In addition, the collection is meant to be used by students and their families, as well as community members. It is not intended to be comprehensive, but includes representations of various types of children’s literature, including fiction and non-fiction, young adult titles, and graphic novels. Collection development priorities include content created by and representative of marginalized and underrepresented groups as well as Newbery, Caldecott, and other award winners.

Materials will not be excluded from the collection solely because the content or its creator may be considered offensive or controversial. 

All titles are available in the Library’s online catalog. Books in this collection are organized differently than the library's other collections. Nonfiction works are organized using the Dewey Decimal System, and Fiction works are shelved in alphabetical order by author last name. Picture books have the call number "E", and Fiction is labeled with the call number "X".

Searching the Collection

Finding Children's Collection Materials in the Library

The OneSearch tool below will limit your search to the Children's Collection. 



Find books in the Children's Collection

 

You can also search all of our holdings and limit to items held in our Children's Collection. 

  1. From the Cal Poly Humboldt Library home page, select the OneSearch Advanced Search button.
  2. At the top of the form, ensure that “Search for” selection is Search the Library
  3. Enter the search terms for the item or keywords for the type of material you are searching for. 
  4. Run the search using your keywords to create your results list
  5. On the results page, look for Location on the left side of the page and select Children's Literature Collection. 

 

Under Construction

The Children's Collection area of the library (2nd floor) is currently being remodeled. Come visit in Fall 2023 to see all of the new changes we are making! If you have any questions, please contact the College of Professional Studies Librarian, Amanda Dinscore, at amd212@humboldt.edu. 

#weneeddiversebooks

We Need Diverse Books is a non-profit grassroots organization of children’s book lovers that advocates essential changes in the publishing industry to produce and promote literature that reflects and honors the lives of all young people. Check out the We Need Diverse Books website for more information. 

Native American Children's Literature - An Annotated Bibliography

Former Cal Poly Humboldt Native American Studies Librarian and children's literature specialist, Joan Berman, created this annotated bibliography on the subject of Native American children's literature.