Environmental Science & Management Research Guide

The Statutory, Case and Administrative Law: Federal and California research guide lists general resources for federal and California statutory, case and administrative law including U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) and U.S. Congress. The following specific compilations focus on environmental or natural resources law:

International

• Electronic System for International Environmental Law (American Society of International Law) Links to primary documents in international environmental law.
• Environmental Treaties and Resource Indicators (ENTRI) (CIESIN, SEDAC, NASA) - Find text and status information on over 170 environmental treaties, along with other related information easily.
• Marine Mammal Commission Compendium of Selected Treaties,International Agreements, and Other Relevant Documents on Marine Resources, Wildlife and the Environment and Update One. (Marine Mammal Commission)
• Multilaterals Project (Tufts University. Fletcher School of Law & Diplomacy) Includes the fulltext of international multilateral conventions and other instruments (1992-2009)

United States

• Compilation of Selected Acts Concerning National Parks, Public Lands, and Related Matters (U.S. House of Representatives. Committee on Natural Resources) 2004
• US EPA: Summaries of Environmental Laws and EOs (US Environmental Protection Agency) Contains a summary and the fulltext of approximately 30 environmental laws administered by the US Environmental Protection Agency.
• Natural Resources Statutes (Government Institutes) 1991 (ref KF 5505 A3 1991) Contains the complete text of 25 natural resources statutes.

California

• CalEPA (California Environmental Protection Agency)
• California Air Pollution Laws (California Air Resources Board) annual (Cal Doc L 400 A4c)
• California Environmental Laws: Annotated (Dwyer and Bergsund) annual (ref KFC 610 A45 C354) Includes cross references to California regulations, major state and federal cases, and federal statutes and regulations.

Other States

• State Statutes on the Internet: Natural Resources - General (Cornell Law School. Legal Information Institute)

Databases can be used to find popular, scholarly, and professional legal literature published in journals, reviews, magazines, conference proceedings, government documents, and other types of publications. 

In addition to the following sources see Current Legislation and Policy for general sources that also track environmental/natural resource legislation and policy and Environmental Science Current Awareness/News for related news coverage.

United States
The websites of environmental organizations often track legislation and policy developments in their area of interest. 

• "Annual Review of Environmental and Natural Resource Law" In Ecology Law Quarterly The second issue of each year examines the year's most important and exciting developments in the field.
• Congressional Research Service Reports (Library of Congress. Congressional Research Service) Contains over 2200 Issue Briefs and Reports prepared for the US Congress on natural resources, environmental quality, and other general topics, including proposed legislation. Regularly recurring reports on current legislative issues cover environmental protection; natural resources; and fisheries, aquaculture and marine mammals. For additional CRS reports see Congressional Research Service Reports (University of North Texas Library).
• Energy and Environment Daily (HSU users only) Daily publication that tracks environmental and energy issues in the U.S. Congress
• "Environment and Energy" IN Congress and the Nation (Congressional Quarterly) Published every four years (Ref JK 1041 C6) Summary of major environmental and energy legislation organized by four year Presidential term.
• Energy and Environment Legislation Tracking Database (National Conference of State Legislatures) Tracks energy and environmental legislation that has been introduced in the fifty states and the District of Columbia. The database is updated and summarized bi-monthly.
• Environmental Law Reporter (Environmental Law Institute) (HSU users only) Major legal service available on Westlaw at HSU that reports on federal legislation, rule making and court decisions. Includes text of court cases and environmental laws as well as news and analysis. Published in seven parts--News and Analysis, Administative Materials, Briefs and Pleadings, Pending Litigation, Litigation, Environmental Statutes and Treaties, and Law Review Bibliography--that may be searched individually or together as one file. Click the information icon for a more detailed description of each part once connected.
• National Environmental Scorecard (League of Conservation Voters) Contains the voting records of members of Congress on key environmental legislation as determined by a consensus of 19 environmental groups; includes scorecards from 1971 to the present.
• Unified Agenda of Federal Regulatory and Deregulatory Actions (Reginfo.gov) Lists regulatory actions by agency that are being developed or have recently been completed. Browse by agency or broad subject; or search by keyword.

California 
California environmental organizations often track legislation in their area of interest. See California Environment Information Sources--Directories to identify organizations of interest.

• Legislation (Planning and Conservation League) Tracks current bills related to the environment and public health.
• California Environmental Scorecard (California League of Conservation Voters) Includes the "Annual Guide to Environmental Legislation and Votes" from 1988 to the present.

The WEX legal dictionary and encyclopdia provides two brief overviews on Natural Resources Law and Environmental Law as a starting point.

• ABC-CLIO Companion to the Environmental Movement (Grossman) 1994 (ref GE 197 G76 1994) Guide to the conservation movement and enviromentalism in the United States from early naturalists to the present. Entries also include major environmental legislation and court decisions.
• Encyclopedia of Environmental Management (Jorgensen) 2013. Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
   
• Natural Resources Glossary (Government Institutes) 1991 (ref KF 5505 A65 N37) Definitions are keyed to federal statutes and regulations

International

• ASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law: International Environmental Law (American Society of International Law)
• ECOLEX: a Gateway to Environmental Law (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, World Conservation Union and United Nations Environment Programme) Areas covered include treaties, national legislation, court decisions and literature references from journals and monographs. Search form allows one to search by broad subject, keyword, or geographic area.

United States

• Environmental Law (FindLaw)
• Legal Information Sources on the Internet (U.S. Department of the Interior Law Library)

California -  California Environmental Law (CalEPA)

In addition to the specific guides above many of the General Legal Internet Guides include sections on environmental and natural resources law.