Research Guides: Computer Science Research Guide: Online Sources & Technical Reports

Online Reference Resources

Reference books and websites can help you understand terms and get an overview of a topic.

Wikipedia
A good source for topic overview in this field.

ProQuest Ebook Central (ebrary)
[ProQuest] Proquest Ebook Central (ebrary) provides multi-user access to ebook titles from academic, trade, and professional publishers.

Free Online Dictionary of Computing

O'Reilly Learning
(Previously known as: Safari Tech Books Online) Database of over 21,000 digital books and videos on topics ranging from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos and much more.

To gain access, please enter your Cal Poly Humboldt email address and click Sign In with Single Sign On.

Other Library Catalogs

National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines—both formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings.
Most resources in the library adhere to principles of Open Educational Resource (OER) access.
The EUROPEAN LIBRARY
Designed to meet the needs of the research community worldwide, this online portal offers quick and easy access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
Users can cross-search and reuse over 28,627,026 digital items and 175,511,348 bibliographic records.
To facilitate further research, links are also provided to other websites in the Europeana group.
World Digital Library (WDL)
The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.
Books, manuscripts, maps, and other primary materials on the site are not translated but presented in their original languages. More than 100 languages are represented on the WDL, including many lesser known and endangered languages.

WorldCat
Identify and locate resources in library collections worldwide. Connect to materials at Cal Poly Humboldt and other libraries from WorldCat records and article citations.

Technical Reports

Computing is a field that is advanced partly by the dissemination of technical reports or "grey literature". Some of the large repositories of these reports include:

Women & Careers in STEM

Only 1 in 4 individuals working in computer and mathematical workforce are female. Additionally, only 1 in 6 people working in architecture and engineering occupations are women. As the numbers prove, there is still underrepresentation of women in the science, technology, engineering, and math workforce.

In an effort to make information focused on STEM education and careers more accessible to women, BestColleges.com have curated a Women and Careers in STEM series for those considering the field. Included are degree overviews, job boards, and perspectives from female professionals already in the industry.