This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "Psychology Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology Research Guide   Tags: counseling, psychology  

Last Updated: Aug 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.humboldt.edu/psychologyguide Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases - Highly Recommended

  • PsycINFO
    Psychology and related disciplines are covered with international scope. Nearly all records contain non-evaluative summaries, and all records are indexed using the APA Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. Use these subject heading for the best results.
  • PsycARTICLES  Icon
    Contains full text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The collection is much smaller than PsychINFO, but having all full text can be really useful.
  • Family & Society Studies Worldwide
    Index to journals, books, conference papers and government reports from a wide range of social science disciplines from 1970 to the present.
  • Medline (FirstSearch)
    Comprehensive index to medical research, including nursing and public health.
  • Counseling & Therapy in Video - Volume 1  Icon
    Online collection of videos from Alexander Street.

Databases - Also Recommended

  • Child Development & Adolescent Studies
    Premier index for growth and development of children through age 21. All formats, 1927 to present.
  • Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
    Provides access to information on measurement instruments in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior. The database does NOT include the full text of the test instruments, but can help you discover what tests alread exist and what ones have been validated. You can locate ordering information for these tests.
  • ERIC (EBSCO)
    ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) is the primary database for education literature. It includes both journal articles (EJ numbers) and other reports(ED numbers) from 1966 to the present. Early ED numbers may be available on microfiche, more recent ED numbers are primarily online. The database is available from different vendors with article linking as well as from the freely available website.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Comprehensive database of scholarly literature from the field of sociology, social and behavioral sciences, with some coverage of criminology and criminal justice studies. The database provides access to abstracts, citations, and some full-text coverage of journal articles, serial publications, books, book reviews, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
  • Social Services Abstracts
    Major index for social work, from 1980 to the present.
  • PILOTS (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress)
    Index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. Documents include: publications from obscure as well as well-known journals, books, book chapters, pamphlets, technical reports, and materials in all languages. Produced by the National Center for PTSD.

Other Databases to Consider

  • BIOSIS Previews  
      
    Comprehensive index to field, laboratory, clinical, experimental & theoretical studies in all fields of biology. There are two parts: Biological Abstracts which indexes primary research literature in journals & serials, of which some are indexed cover-to-cover; & Biological Abstracts: Reports, Reviews & Meetings which indexes meeting papers, review articles, & technical reports.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete  Icon
    Indexes both scholarly and popular magazines on communications and mass media. Includes full text for some journals.
  • Dissertations and Theses: the Humanities and Social Sciences Collection  Icon
    Provides access to a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the Humanities and Social Sciences from around the world. Most U.S. dissertations and theses are available full text.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
 

Organize your search

 

Finding Full Text

Some articles will be available in fulltext, attached to the record in the database.  If the fulltext isn't there, use the "Find It @ HSU" button to see if the article is in another database that we have. 

If the fulltext is not available, we may have the article in a print journal.  The "Find It" button will show this, also.  If we do not have the article in any format, you may request it on interlibrary loan and will receive an electronic copy in about one week. 

 

Using Citations

Citation searching is a strategy for collecting relevant sources on your topic.

Say you have found an important, scholarly article on your topic. Before he wrote the article, the author went through a research process that was likely very similar to the one you are going through right now. He found a number of good articles on his topic, and then he created a References list. That References list is like a trail of breadcrumbs that you can follow back to more important, scholarly articles on your topic.

Always look at the References list at the end of each article you find, to see if any of the listed sources might be useful!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip