Research Guides: Psychology Research Guide: Web Resources

Campus Resources

Cal Poly Humboldt Department of Psychology
This is your department website where you can find information about your program, faculty and staff, and the Cal Poly Humboldt Community Counseling Clinic.

Assessment

American Psychological Association FAQ: Finding Information About Psychological Tests
This is a resource for how to find published and unpublished psychological tests and measures as well as standards and guidelines for use of these tests.
Psychological Tests and Measures Research Guide
A more extensive research guide on Psychological Tests and Measures.

Associations

American Psychological Association
"Our mission is to advance the creation, communication and application of psychological knowledge to benefit society and improve people's lives."
Western Psychological Association
"The Western Psychological Association was founded in 1921 for the purpose of stimulating the exchange of scientific and professional ideas and, in so doing to enhance interest in the processes of research and scholarship in the behavioral sciences. Membership in the Western Psychological Association is open to both students and professionals who wish to support these goals and who would like to be a part of the network that we have created to further them."
Association for Psychological Science
"The Association’s mission is to promote, protect, and advance the interests of scientifically oriented psychology in research, application, teaching, and the improvement of human welfare."
North Coast Association of Mental Health Professionals
The North Coast Association of Mental Health Professionals focuses on mental health providers for Humboldt and Del Norte counties and seeks to "examine and respond to how managed care impacts the working relationship between clients and therapists."
Association for Women in Psychology
"AWP is a diverse feminist community of psychologists and allied professionals invested in
the integration of personal, professional, and political power in the service of social justice."
Society of Indian Psychologists
"The mission of the Society of Indian Psychologists is to provide an organization for Native American indigenous people to advocate for the mental well-being of Native peoples by increasing the knowledge and awareness of issues impacting Native mental health."
Society of Experimental Social Psychology (SESP)
"SESP is a member of the Federation of Associations in Behavioral and Brain Sciences, a 'coalition of scientific societies that share an interest in advancing the sciences of mind, brain, and behavior.'"
Society for Personality and Social Psychology
"The Society has three general missions: Produce and Disseminate Knowledge to the Profession and the Public for the Public Good through Personality and Social Psychological Science; Promote the Careers of Students and Professionals in the Areas of Personality and Social Psychology; and Recognize and Promote Achievement in Personality and Social Psychology."
A More Comprehensive List of Professional Psychology Associations
Associations are organized for you by National Associations & Organizations, Ethnic & Minority Organizations, Honor Societies, Student & Postgraduate Organizations, International, and State & Regional Associations

Databases

Counseling and Therapy in Video
Includes videos and transcriptions of therapists working with clients using a variety of therapeutic approaches. This resource can be useful for a "first-hand" look into the application of theory and method in counseling.

Government Resources

National Center for Health Statistics
Includes statistics on metal health collected by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
National Institute of Mental Health
This resource includes mental health and education information as well as information about their research priorities and outreach.

Group Therapy & Facilitation

News

PsycPORT: Psychology Newswire
The American Psychological Association's news feed.

Sex, Gender & Reproduction

Kinsey Institute
Includes information about research, collections, news, and outreach activities at the Kinsey Institute.
Other Research Centers
A list developed by The Kinsey Institute of "other research centers and special collections related to the study of sexuality".

Social and Cross-Cultural Psychology

Social Psychology Network
This site includes directories of professionals, mentors and research projects in Psychology as well as other resources for psychological research and teaching. Created by Scott Plous - Wesleyan University
Cultural Psychology Links by Subtopic
From the Social Psychology Network
International Association for Cross-Cultural Psychology
"The aims of the Association are to facilitate communication among persons interested in a diverse range of issues involving the intersection of culture and psychology. IACCP is affiliated with the International Union of Psychological Science (IUPsyS)."
The Jigsaw Classroom
"The Jigsaw Classroom is a cooperative learning technique that reduces racial conflict among school children, promotes better learning, improves student motivation, and increases enjoyment of the learning experience."

Statistics

Web Interface for Statistics Education (WISE)
Demos and Tutorials for statistical tests.
Research Randomizer
A computer based "random number generator".
Sample Size Calculator

Therapy

Evaluating Website Content

One of the biggest problems that students have with using websites in their academic work is that they are not sure that the content that they find is accurate. Here are some basic ways to evaluate a website.

What does the domain name tell you?

Who wrote the page? Is there a page author listed? If there is no author, is there a company name? Is there contact information listed? If there is no one listed that takes responsibility for the page you may want take that into consideration.

Here are some links to reliable sites that will help you with your evaluation:

Cornell Web Evaluation Website

UC Berkeley Web Evaluation Tips