This is the "Reference Sources" page of the "Film Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Film Research Guide  

Last Updated: Feb 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.humboldt.edu/film Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Reference Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

Ask a librarian to help you find credible sources for your research assignment!

You can contact me directly for a consultation.

--Tony

If you want to learn about peer-reviewed journals and evaluating sources, check out Research Roadmap
 

Video Source Book

Starting summer 2012, The Video Source Book is no longer in the reference section, but shelved on the third floor with books about film.

Cover Art
The Video Source Book
Call Number: PN 1992.95 .V52
ISBN: 0787689734
Publication Date: 2003

 

Reference Sources

In the Reference collection, you will find specialized encyclopedias and handbooks, dictionaries of film terms, biographical dictionaries for actors, directors, and other people important to film production, indexes of film reviews, catalogs of films, and directories for the film industry, among other things. If you are looking for specific information, please ask a librarian.

 

Subject Encyclopedias

Subject encyclopedias are especially useful reference sources. Written on general topics such as international film, or specialized ones, such as film noir, particular ethnic groups in film, women filmmakers, or the films of individual countries, they have summary articles, often written by scholars or other experts, that give you an overview of a topic. You can browse these to help you decide if you are interested in doing more research on the topic. If you have already decided on a topic, these sources may give you a framework or context for your specific investigation. The articles will also give you names of people and places important for the topic, key dates, and other information you can use in further research. Many articles in subject encyclopedias include a bibliography or list of recommended books and articles on the topic. Using these recommendations is a good way to begin more in-depth research.

To find subject encyclopedias, use the HSU Library Catalog, not QuickSearch:

  • Choose the Advanced Search tab.
  • Type the term(s) for the subject you are looking for in the first Search: box, for example art, women artists, symbols, etc. Use as few words as possible.
  • Change any of these to all of these or as a phrase, if needed.
  • Change the first within: menu to subject.
  • Type encyclopedias dictionaries in the second Search: box. (Many encyclopedias are called dictionaries. It just means that their articles are in alphabetical, or "dictionary," order.)
  • Change the second within: menu to subject.
  • Click the Search button.

For more help with using the Reference collection, please ask a librarian.

 

Print Reference Sources

Here are a few recommended reference sources available at the HSU Library. Use the call numbers to find the print sources in the Reference collection on the first floor of the library.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Film Terms: The Aesthetic Companion to Film Analysis
Call Number: ref TR 847 B43 1994
ISBN: 0805793348

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film
Call Number: ref PN 1995.9 .D6 E53 2006
ISBN: 0415976375
Publication Date: 2006
3 volumes

Cover Art
Film Review Index - Patricia K. Hanson; Stephen L. Hanson
Call Number: ref PN 1995 F 467
ISBN: 0897741536
Publication Date: 1986

Cover Art
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers - Tom Pendergast (Editor); Sara Pendergast (Editor)
Call Number: ref PN 1997.8 I58 2000 v.1-4
ISBN: 1558623019
Publication Date: 2000

Cover Art
Key Concepts in Cinema Studies
Call Number: ref PN 1993.45 H36 1996
ISBN: 0415107199

Cover Art
The New Historical Dictionary of the American Film Industry
Call Number: ref PN 1993.5 U6 S539 1998
ISBN: 1578860156

Online Reference Databases

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  
      
    Combined search for 120 fulltext reference works from Gale Research. Useful for biographical and encyclopedia information.
  • Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism Online  
      
    Fulltext database of 2nd edition containing 240 literary essays on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historic periods.
    Peer review: Essays by scholars

On the Web

Here are some recommended sites that gather links:

  • Infomine: Visual & Performing Arts
    Search or browse this collection of scholarly internet resources from UC Riverside
  • iPL2
    Search for keywords or browse in categories such as Arts & Humanities, Entertainment & Leisure, or Reference, then drill down through the list of subcategories that appears on the left of each screen. You will find links to sources recommended by public and academic librarians.
  • Voice of the Shuttle: Media Studies
    Select your subject of interest from the list on the left, then navigate with the "on this page" links on the next page. This site is maintained by an English professor at UC Santa Barbara.

Research Help

Profile Image
Tony López
Contact Info
Arts & Humanities Librarian
(707) 826-5600
Lib 15
Send Email
 

Please share your thoughts

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip