Learn more about how the HSU Library can help
support your research and learning needs as the campus transitions to online instruction.

Stay updated at HSU Campus Ready.

Skip to main content

Film Research Guide

Streaming Videos

Video Reorganization Project

The HSU Library is pleased to announce the launching of video reclassification project that began on July 1, 2014.  We are in the process of converting the entire Video Collection from the accession number system to the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System (like the books in the main collection).  You’ll find that our feature films will be in alphabetical order, and browsing our collection is much easier either in stacks or online.  We would like to express our appreciation for your patience during this exciting project.

Videos & DVDs

The videotape and DVD collection includes approximately 4000 VHS and 3000 DVD titles.

Students may check out up to 3 titles for 1 week. There is a $1/ day overdue fine per title.

You can watch films at the Media Resources Area (2nd Floor of Library). Persons using the Media Resources Area or conference rooms with viewing equipment may be asked to show a currently valid HSU ID card. The first priority for use of the equipment is for materials placed on Reserve. 

Call numbers for videos and DVDs begin with VIDEO (eg. Video1045).  Find video call numbers with Basic Search in the HSU Library Catalog.  Tips for searching are below.  If you need more help with finding videos, please ask a librarian.

To search for videos by title:

  • Click on Advanced Search on the library home page.
  • Select Books & Media (HSU) at the top of the search window
  • Type in the title. Click search.

To Search for foreign language feature films in video format:

  • Click on Advanced Search on the library home page.
  • Select Books & Media (HSU) at the top of the search window
  • In the Language drop-down box, select a language you would like to find materials in. 
  • Type in the title. Click search.

To see an entry for a video/DVD when you have the call number:

  • Type in the call number you have in Library Catalog box on the HSU Library homepage. 

 

Prelinger Archives

View thousands of films from the Prelinger Archives!  Prelinger Archives was founded in 1983 and over the next twenty years, it grew into a collection of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films. 

Visit https://archive.org/details/prelinger to view more archival gems like Dating: Do's and Don'ts  (1949).  These films are in the public domain so feel free to share, edit, and make them your own.