Skip to main content

Critical Race, Gender and Sexuality Studies (CRGS) Research Guide

Search the Reference Collection

HSU Reference Collection
Search here to find reference sources at HSU.

Try these search terms:

  • Gender
  • Race
  • Ethnicity
  • Feminism
  • African Americans
  • Hispanic Americans
  • Women

Browse the Reference Collection

Because CRGS is interdisciplinary, books and journals may be found in many different parts of the library.

Use this guide to browse books and journals. Critical gender and women's studies are located in the HQ call number areas. Other topics of interest are located as follows:

H                                        SOCIAL SCIENCES (GENERAL)
E 184-185 Latinos, Asian Americans, African Americans in U.S. history
GN 301-367 Cultural anthropology, ethnography
HT 1501-1595 Race as a social group and race relations in general
HQ 1101-2030 Women. Feminisim
HV 6001-9960 Criminology & Criminal Justice Studies
KF 4741-4783 Civil and political rights and liberties
KF 9000 Race and Federal issues, First Amendment, etc.

Reference Books on Critical Gender Studies

These are some examples of reference resources on various topics related to CRGS. For additional help, please visit the Research Help Desk or Contact a Librarian:

Online Reference Resources

Reference Books on Critical Race Studies

Other Interesting Reference Books

  • Wicca A to Z (Ref BF 1588 .D85 1998)
  • Feminist Companion to Mythology (Ref BL 325 .F4 F45 1992)
  • Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion (ref BL 458 .E53 1999)
  • Notable Twentieth-Century Latin American Women (Ref CT 3290 .N68 2001)
  • Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary (Ref E98 .W8 B38 2001)
  • Encyclopedia of Women and Gender (Ref HQ 1115 .E53 2001b)
  • Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women (Ref HQ 1115 .R69 2000)
  • Women's Studies Encyclopedia (Ref HQ 1115 .W645 1999)
  • The World's Women, 2000: Trends and Statistics (Ref HQ 1154 .W95 2000)
  • Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers (Ref HQ 1236 .R29 2001)
  • Routledge Historical Atlas of Women in America (Ref HQ 1410 .P68 2000)
  • Sourcebook on Violence Against Women (Ref HV 6250.4 .W65 S68 2001)
  • Contemporary Women Artists (Ref N 8354 .C66 1999)
  • Women Artists of Color (Ref N8354 .W656 1999)
  • The Quotable Woman: The First 5000 Years (Ref PN 6081.5 .Q65 2001)
  • American Women Writers (Ref PS 147 .A42 2000)
  • International Encyclopedia of Women Scientists (Ref Q 141 .O27 2002)