This is the "About Newspapers" page of the "Newspapers Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Newspapers Research Guide  

An overview of newspaper collections found in Humboldt State University Library. Included are local papers and finding newspaper articles in the library.
Last Updated: Jul 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.humboldt.edu/NewspaperCollections Print Guide RSS Updates

About Newspapers Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

Newspaper articles from major United States and international papers are widely available in electronic form. Many of these include backfiles dating to the 1970s or 1980s. HSU users can access searchable collections of electronic fulltext newspaper articles at Articles & Databases: News & Current Events.

To find older newspaper articles, printed indexes to individual papers are available. Only a few of the newspapers available at the HSU Library publish their own indexes. These not only locate articles within that single paper, but also pinpoint the date of an event so that you can search other newspapers and periodicals.

Major retrospective newspaper indexes at the HSU Library are located on the first floor at the beginning of the Reference Collection (ref AI 21). The Library no longer subscribes to any of these indexes, but they are still essential for access to older newspapers. 

See the "Indexes" tab above for more information about indexes.

Reference websites

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers includes national newspaper pages from 1880-1922 as well as directory information about U.S. newspapers from 1690 to the present.

California Newspaper Project Catalog - Includes a union catalog of California newspapers and where they are located. See also the California Digital Newspaper Collection to search online issues of the San Francisco Call and the Daily Alta California. 

ipl2: Internet Public Library 2 - Newspapers - A portal to major newspaper websites. See also Newseum with today's front pages for 865 newspapers worldwide.

News Sources - A guide to current and historical news sources created by the Communications Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries.

Preserving Newspapers. The Library of Congress - Describes how preservation has been done and how to do it, from proper storage to microfilming to digitization.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip