Research Guides: Newspapers Research Guide: Local News Online

Local Newspaper Websites

The links below take you to the websites of newspapers in and around Northwestern California. Your level of access to the newspaper's content will vary as paywalls may exist on some websites. The HSU Library offers access to many newspapers through the Journal/Newspaper Finder. If you are unable to access content on a newspaper website, enter the title of the publication into the Journal/Newspaper Finder to see if access is available.

Anderson Valley Advertiser
Advocate Bruce Anderson has returned to “America’s Last Newspaper” – weekly from Ukiah.
Counter Punch Online
"America's Best Political Newsletter" comes from Petrolia. A chronological archive is available with articles dating to 1983.
Del Norte Triplicate
Published Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday from Crescent City.
El Leñador
Bilingual monthly newspaper at Humboldt State University. Representando la comunidad de Humboldt.
Ferndale Enterprise
This weekly has been publishing since 1878. Also covers Bear and Mattole River Valleys.
Fort Bragg Advocate-News
This Thursday weekly has been published in Fort Bragg, California since 1889.
Lost Coast Outpost
An online news and information source about happenings in Humboldt County. Owned by Lost Coast Media.
The Lumberjack
Humboldt State University's student newspaper. Articles from current semester available online. Since 1930.
Mad River Union
The Mad River Union is published weekly on Wednesdays by Kevin L. Hoover (former editor of Arcata Eye) and Jack Durham (former editor of McKinleyville Press) out of Arcata.
Mendocino Beacon
This weekly began in 1877. HSU users can search Mendocino Beacon from September 20, 2001 to date in NewsBank.
North Coast Journal of Politics, People & Art
The North Coast Journal is a weekly general-interest magazine serving Humboldt County since 1990; Full text archive available from 1995 to date.
Redding Record Searchlight
Daily from Redding. A partial archive is available online.
Redheaded Blackbelt
"News, nature and community throughout the Emerald Triangle." News blog authored by Kym Kemp.
Senior News
A monthly newspaper published by the Humboldt Senior Resource Center in Eureka.
Siskiyou Daily News
From Yreka. Searchable archive, full text articles available for a fee.
Times-Standard
See boxes on the right side of this guide.
Two Rivers Tribune
Weekly serving Trinity and Klamath River communities in Humboldt, Trinity, and Siskiyou Counties. Can search website for full articles dating back to 2009.
Ukiah Daily Journal
First issue published in 1977, published Tuesday -Saturday. Select days have been archived starting in 1998.

Times-Standard

HSU users may also search a more accessible version of the Times-Standard from September 15, 2001 to date. This retrospective index covers 1989-2005.

For a subscription price Newspapers.com has full-text of these papers: Humboldt Standard (1952-1957), Humboldt Times (1958-1964), Eureka Humboldt Standard (1958-67), and Times Standard (1967-1977).

HSU Student Newspaper Online Archives

The HSU Library will soon have the historical editions of both The Lumberjack and El Leñador available online for researchers. Click on the links below to visit the current online holdings for each collection in Digital Commons: