This is the "Census Information" page of the "Census Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Census Research Guide   Tags: census, census schedules, indian census  

How to find census information at the HSU Library Documents Collection as well as more broadly on the internet. Includes information about census schedules as well as Indian census information
Last Updated: Oct 2, 2013 URL: http://libguides.humboldt.edu/census Print Guide RSS Updates

Census Information Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

Census information is one of the most important government information sources. Even though HSU became a federal depository library in 1962, the Library's census collection covers materials since the last century. This guide attempts to list the important titles in that collection and on the Internet.

 

Internet Sources

CENSUS ON THE INTERNET

  • American FactFinder Population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the decennial census of population and housing, the economic census, and the American Community Survey (ACS).
  • CensusScope (University of Michigan Social Science Data Analysis Network) Presents 1990 and 2000 U.S. Census demographic information in chart, map and ranking list format. Data is available at national, state, county and metropolitan levels.
  • Fedstats Provides links to statistics generated by over 100 federal agencies.
  • U.S. Census Bureau The main page with lots of links. Also includes the U.S. and World population clocks.
  • United States Historical Census Browser Will retrieve and format data describing the people and the economy of the U.S. gathered by every federal census from 1790 to 1960. Data is available down to the county level.
  • Census of Agriculture Includes subject and geographic data for the agriculture census conducted every 5 years. Online data is available from 1992 to the present.
 

Documents Collection, 3rd floor HSU Library

  • Census of Agriculture (Docs C3.31/4) (1925-)
  • Census of Business
    • 1940 (Docs C3.940-30 L97)
    • 1948- (Docs C3.202/5)
  • Census of Commercial Fisheries (Docs C3.234) (1960s)
  • Census of Construction Industries (Docs C3.245/4) (1960s-)
    • Preliminary Report (Docs C3.245/6) (1960s-)
    • Special Report (Docs C3.245/5) (1960s-)
  • Census of Financial, Insurance, and Real Estate Industries (Docs C3.291) (1990)
  • Census of Governments (Docs C3.145) (1950s-)
    • Advance Releases CGA (Docs C3.145/2) (1950s-)
  • Census of Housing
    • 1940 (Docs C3.940-30, 32, 33, 34)
    • 1950 (Docs C3.950-8/3)
    • 1960 (Docs C3.224/9)
    • 1970 (Docs C3.224/3)
    • 1980 (Docs C3.224/3)
    • 1990 (Docs C3.224/3)
  • Census of Local Jails (Docs J29.21) (1980s-)
  • Census of Manufactures (Docs C3.24) (1914-)
  • Census of Mineral Industries (Docs C3.216) (1950s-)
  • Census of Population - The Library has census of population data since 1850. These volumes are housed in the Government Documents area on the third floor. The call numbers are:
    • 1850 (Docs I8.5)
    • 1860 (Docs I9.5)
    • 1870 (Docs I11.2)
    • 1880 (Docs I12.5)
    • 1890 (Docs I13.5)
    • 1910 (Docs C3.16)
    • 1920 (Docs C3.28/5)
    • 1930 (Docs C3.37/5)
    • 1940 (Docs C3.940/5)
    • 1950 (Docs C3.950.5)
    • 1960 (Docs C3.223/9)
    • 1970 (Docs C3.223/9)
    • 1980 (Docs C3.223/8)
    • 1990 (Docs C3.223/7)
    • 2000 California Summary Tape File 3 (ref HA 201.122 C46 C2 2002--cd-rom)
  • Census of Retail Trade
    • 1970 (Docs C3.202/5-1)
    • 1990 (Docs C3.255)
  • Census of Selected Service Industries (Docs C3.202/5-3) (1972)
  • Census of Service Industries (Docs C3.202/5 and Docs C3.257) (1948-)
  • Census of State Adult Correctional Facilities (Docs J29.16)
  • Census of Transportation (Docs C3.233) (1963-)
  • Census of Civil Aircraft (Docs TD4.18) (1964-)
  • Census of Whole Sale Trade (Docs C3.202/5-2 and Docs C3.256) (1948-)
  • Census Tract Papers (Docs C3.227/2) (1965-)
  • Reports (1980 California Census Tract) (Docs C3.223/11) (1960-)
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip