If you want to learn about peer-reviewed journals and evaluating sources, check out Research Roadmap.
Tips for Finding Illustrations in Books
The HSU Library Catalog includes the phrase "pictorial works" in the subject headings for books that consist mostly of illustrations. Use this phrase as part of a keyword search for books with illustrations of a particular subject, for example:
flowers "pictorial works"
You might also use the abbreviations illus or ill along with your subject in a keyword search. Both are used to stand for "illustrations" in library catalogs. For example:
ARTstor works best in Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Safari. Firefox may require the lastest update and emptying the cache.
Register for an account in the top-right corner of ARTstor for access to features such as creating image groups and downloading images in PowerPoint format for scholarly presentations.
ARTstor is a database of more than a million licensed and copyright-compliant digital images across disciplines including art, music, anthropology, literature, science, history, Asian studies, Latin American studies, and more.
CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online) is a graphical database of works of art from around the world contributed and described by leading museums. All content is rights-cleared for educational use. CAMIO includes art images—photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles and architecture—plus audio, video and mixed media. Images are in JPEG format. Peer review: N/A
This service offers searchable full page image access to the New York Times, 1851-2006. For the text of articles 2007 to the present, consult LexisNexis Academic or ProQuest Newspapers. The HSU Library receives a print subscription to the New York Times.
This gateway allows individual or combined searching of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. It is also possible to search for images only. The About Page has more information. Peer review: Yes
A digitial images database including "Ancient Art, Egyptian, Greek and Roman, Non-Western, Early Christian, Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Nineteenth Century, Impressionism, American Art, Art of the Americas and Contemporary Art and Architecture."
The Video Encyclopedia of the 20th Century contains 2338 digitized film and video clips covering the social, cultural, and political history of the 20th Century from 1893 to 1989. The index and clips are available to HSU students, staff and faculty only. The original video material is located on 42 laser discs available on permanent reserve at the HSU Library Circulation Desk.