This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "World Languages & Cultures Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

World Languages & Cultures Research Guide  

Last Updated: Feb 11, 2014 URL: http://libguides.humboldt.edu/wlac Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases - Highly Recommended

Lexis/Nexis and MLA Bibliography will include information in languages other than English.

  • Academic Search Premier  Icon
    Access to more than 13,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all academic disciplines from 1975 to the present.
  • OmniFile Full Text Mega  Icon
    Provides a wide range of research resources, including subject coverage in the applied sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences, and technology.
  • JSTOR  Icon
    Connects libraries, researchers, teachers, and students around the world with vital scholarly content in more than 50 disciplines. Includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published.
  • MLA Bibliography
    Comprehensive database providing access to scholarly literature on modern literatures, languages, linguistics, and folklore.
  • Bibliography of Asian Studies  
      
    Contains references to western-language books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference proceedings related to Asian and South Studies.
  • ClasePeriodica
    Index to scholarly journals, books, conference proceedings, and reports published in Latin America.
  • Handbook of Latin American Studies  
      
    Index to scholarly literature on Latin America from the social sciences and humanities.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Provides access to scholarly literature focusing on history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to present.
  • LexisNexis Academic  Icon
    Provides access to more than 15,000 of the most credible business, legal, and news sources.

Databases - Also Recommended

  • ArticleFirst
    Lists the table of contents of journals in many subject areas from 1990 to the present. Search by title keyword or author in all journals. Search for articles in a specific journal by author, title or keyword or browse individual issues.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch  Icon
    Full text collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals from the ethnic, minority, and native press. Coverage Dates: Varies; earliest begin in 1992 - present.
  • Dissertations and Theses: the Humanities and Social Sciences Collection  Icon
    Provides access to a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the Humanities and Social Sciences from around the world. Most U.S. dissertations and theses are available full text.
  • Gale Literary Databases  
      
      Icon
    Gale Literary Databases offers searchable online versions of fulltext criticism in three literary reference publications: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
    Peer review: No
  • Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism Online  
      
      Icon
    Provides Full text access to literary essays on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historic periods.
  • Oxford Journals  Icon
    Full text access to scholarly and authoritative journals published by the Oxford University Press, covering the arts, humanities, social sciences, medicine, and technology.
  • Project MUSE  Icon
    Searchable collection of full text scholarly journals in the field of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
  • Scribner Writers Series  Icon
    Database of bio-critical essays on the lives and works of notable authors from around the world. Entries include concise essays, citations, and biographical information that places the author's work in personal and historical context.
 

Finding Full Text Articles

If you don't see the full text article, click on the "Find It @ HSU" icon:

"Find It" will look for your article in another HSU database, or direct you to the print journal on the 2nd floor of the library.

If we do not have the article in any format, you may request it via Interlibrary Loan (ILL) with no additional fee. Electronic articles can often arrive within 1-5 days.

Google Scholar

From off campus, customize Google Scholar Library Links under Settings to include Humboldt State University Library - FindIt@HSU.



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip