This is the "Home" page of the "Theses & Dissertations" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Theses & Dissertations   Tags: theses  

This guide explains how to find and acquire 1) HSU masters theses; and 2) theses and dissertations produced at other universities that are available from other libraries or fulltext on the Internet.
Last Updated: May 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.humboldt.edu/theses Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

This guide explains how to find and acquire 1) HSU masters theses; and 2) theses and dissertations produced at other universities that are available from other libraries or fulltext on the Internet.

 

HSU Masters Theses

The 3900+ masters theses completed at Humboldt State University are housed in the HSU Library and listed in the HSU Library Catalog where they are indexed by author, title, subject and department. In the catalog, theses may be browsed by department using the subject search: humboldt state university theses.

One copy is generally located in the regular bookstacks. Most theses completed since Fall 2005 are available online with links to the fulltext in the library catalog or directly through Humboldt Digital Scholar (HDS).  In HDS you can browse or search HSU masters theses by a variety of fields including author, title, thesis advisor, keyword or program.  Beginning with spring 2013 theses (and projects) are only available online.  For more detailed information about HSU masters theses and projects, as well as senior theses and projects, see HSU Theses and Projects.

 

Theses and Dissertations from Other Universities

You can use the following resources to identify and, in some cases, view the fulltext of theses and dissertations completed at other universities.

  • Dissertations and Theses: the Humanities and Social Sciences Collection (HSU users only) Includes more than one million U.S. dissertations and theses in the humanities and social sciences, most of which are available fulltext.
  • Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) Indexes and links to over 800,000 fulltext theses and dissertations.
  • Oaister Indexes fulltext resources contained in "open access" collections worldwide, including over 450,000 fulltext theses and dissertations. After conducting a search the results screen will give an option to display only theses and dissertations.
  • OpenThesis Repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents. Not every item in the database is available in fulltext format.
  • PQDT Open (ProQuest) Find and access the fulltext of open access dissertations and theses.
  • WorldCat Dissertations and Theses (HSU users only) Includes over 8 million theses and dissertations cataloged by libraries in a worldwide library network. This is the most comprehenive of the databases that attempt to identify and index theses and dissertations. Links to over 250,000 fulltext theses and dissertations available on the Internet.
  • Individual universities: Library catalogs at universities commonly list theses and dissertations completed at their institution. In addition the Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR) lists "open access" fulltext repositories at universities, including over 150 repositories devoted just to theses and dissertations. ROAR will also search the content of these repositories.

In addition the following resources can be used to identify and link to the fulltext of theses and dissertations in specific countries or geographic areas.

  • Australasian Digital Theses Program (Council of Australian University Librarians)
  • DART-Europe E-Theses Portal (Ligue des Bibliothèques Européennes de Recherche) Indexes and provides fulltext access to over 125,000 European theses and dissertations.
  • EthOS--Electronic Theses Online Service (British Library) Search 250,000 UK theses, some of which are available fulltext for immediate downloading and others which must first be digitized for a fee.
  • Theses Canada Portal (National Library of Canada) Indexes over 300,000 Canadian theses and dissertations and provides access to 50,000 of them in fulltext format.
 

Acquiring Theses and Dissertations

If a thesis or dissertation is not available fulltext on the Internet the following choices are available to HSU students, faculty and staff.

  • Interlibrary Loan Service (HSU Library) HSU students, faculty and staff can request theses and dissertations from other institutions through this service. There is a separate request form for theses and dissertations.
  • Dissertation Express Sells most U.S. dissertations with a delivery time of 4 -5 working days for paper or immediate download for fulltext.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip